We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome whilst checking in. We were shown to our room - The Rose suite and the receptionist was very informative. The rose suite was decorated with a warm and homely feel with some great statement furniture. Seating in the windows offering delightful views over the gardens a wonderful addition. Tea making facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missperfectsarah2016
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, thank you very much for your review and it is wonderful to hear that your stay met with your expectations. We have made, and have planned, a few nice touches to the Rose suite to make it feel more special. We look for ward to welcoming you back in the future.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This was meant to be a relaxing few days paying out for a much more luxurious hotel than I usually go to, much needed after a very busy time. I would say this hotel although set in lovely gardens (which we could not enjoy owing to the autumn Cornish weather, not the hotel owners' fault!) did not live up to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heatherc0llings
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and thank you for your kind comments. Our hotel is very warm and cosy. We have an advanced eco-friendly heating system which happened to trip out due to a very minor technical issue. It was a cold day but at the same time we had a wedding...

South of England
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The Rose in Vale is in a lovely tranquil setting. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a superior room that was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. We only eat breakfast, but, it was very good, with a choice of hot breakfasts, and a nice choice of continental breakfast as well. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingbod
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a delight having you stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you in the future.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stayed recently for four nights in twin room. Beds very comfortable. Room very, very clean. Lovely large fluffy towels and bathrobes. No problem linking to free wifi. Whole atmosphere of hotel calm and peaceful. Good choice on breakfast and dinner menu. Loved the homemade bread/rolls served with meal and enjoyed the different flavours each night. Ideal hotel for touring this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owlsash
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Each afternoon we make all kinds of exciting breads incorporating white chocolate, chilli, seaweed, fruits and so on which provides a lovely start to dinner and we are pleased you enjoyed it.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We booked this hotel as a last minute dot com as the place that we were staying elsewhere was disappointing and based on its 4 AA stars coupled with 2 AA Rosettes (out of the frying pan into the fire). The room was priced at £185.00 (with a 10% discount for direct booking) and we were put in room 15...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony G
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, I was surprised at your review so thank you for discussing this with me in more detail during our follow up telephone call. My understanding is that you came to stay with us because you disliked your accommodation in St Ives, you were unhappy about the loaction of the car parks which were too far from your accommodation,...

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October. The hotel is expensive and 4 star. We had high hopes. The situation is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night. We booked it with the lady on reception (the owner I believe). When we went to the restaurant, they were not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dorothy C
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Our staff receive so many wonderful compliments about their highly personal, professional and attentive service. We are sorry to learn that asking for milk interrupted your breakfast and caused you a level of dissatisfaction; we will follow up with additional training and...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Mmmmm. This hotel is in a really good position for touring the area, rooms are good, really clean., in fact the whole of the hotel is really clean. Well done housekeeping . There was a lack of atmosphere here and did not feel particularly welcoming. The restaurant staff are very pleasant and keen to serve BUT they lack leadership and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan B
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding housekeeping. Our staff receive many wonderful compliments about their friendly and highly attentive service and it is very disappointing to learn that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. We were pleased to...

gloucester
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The location of this Country house hotel is excellent, lovely village with good access to local beaches at St Sgnmes and Perranporth and, central for travelling further afield. Sitting in its own grounds with woodland walks it's an ideal restful place to visit. It has 4 stars BUT it is falling short of that standard and, at best, in my...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank gloucesterboy58
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Writing with such authority one may be lured into thinking you have 'knowledge' and that you at least know your beans? We can tell you that these were indeed Heinz but don't take our word for it. A all foods are lot traceable so by all means call them directly quoting code 09-2017 BV 5 6266 05:55 as per the...

San Francisco
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful house, lovely gardens, and to top it all friendly welcoming staff. Very homely and very relaxing atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely recommend and visit again as often in area visiting daughter at uni

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sonia E
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived to a lovely welcome and around the hotel before going to our room, room nicely turned out, bar and restaurant of very good quality, enjoyed the vast amount of cocktails on offer, food was of excellent quality. Would definitely use again, especially as adults only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent M

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
10.1 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
789 reviews
12.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
25.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Beacon Country House Hotel
33.5 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
767 reviews
37.9 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Price Range: $208 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are over looking the garden in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 161janel, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some bedrooms have quite low ceilings, which is not a problem unless you are 6 foot tall then the shower over the bath is a little tricky!”
 of 5 bubbles 716anitap, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a small room, as these are tiny and not worth the money!”
 of 5 bubbles scandy11, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Number 4 was a bit dark and musky smelling. Tired looking ensuite. Not 4 stars.”
 of 5 bubbles gloucesterboy58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 16 & 17 - small & above kitchen which is noisy early morning!”
 of 5 bubbles Phtouchwood, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5