We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Expedia.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$68*
US$85*
US$68*
US$85*
US$68*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,016 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 948: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Positives: -Staff were friendly, so no complaints there. -Location was good (we were there to visit Leeds Castle for the fireworks.) -Room was clean -Good size room. with large modern TV -Plenty of parking Negatives: -No refrigerator in room (always annoying if you actually like to have your drinks cold) -Lumpy, hard, uncomfortable pillows -Quality of room service food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie S Thank you for your review & your comments which have all been noted. With regard the pillows, we aim to provide two firm & two softer pillows to suit varying guests needs & these are changed regularly, I am sorry these were not to your liking. We do provide refrigerators in the Superior rooms & I would...

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a 10-15 min walk from Hollingbourne station. When I arrived there were 3 members of staff behind the reception desk assisting guests. As I approached the desk 2 quickly disappeared leaving just 1 who was assisting a lady pay for a function. I waited 15mins to be checked in. One of the staff members came out to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serena A
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Serena A Thank you for your review & your comments which have all been carefully noted & shared with the team. I am pleased the check-in procedure itself was quick & that your room was clean, comfortable & that you enjoyed the Brasserie food. I apologise for the delays & the first impressions given. Reception is the hub of...

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I had booked The Hollingbourne Suite for 60 guests for a reception following my father's funeral service at Charing Crematorium. On arrival the two women behind the reception desk were enjoying a nice chat & not in the slightest bit interested in myself, my husband and my mother. We interrupted their conversation to ask for directions to the Suite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate B Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this important occasion. We appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor & improve our service & standards. I was very disappointed with the impression that was given by our normally attentive & committed team. I have quizzed the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff all round good customer service. Clean rooms abd comfortable beds. Hotel spa could do with a face lift but facilities were clean. Not of fan of the fact that the hotel is so close of the Motorway. Overall not a bad stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGEvents
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SGEvents Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased you found the team friendly & the hotel clean & we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Dominic

Kent
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here recently for a function so the hotel was quite full. The layout of the hotel is nice & spacious, our room was clean & we had a nice view overlooking the garden.The spa & pool area are ok & the staff are all very friendly. However the most disappointing part of the stay was the breakfast...what an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moowun
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moowun Thank you for your review & your positive comments about the team & your room. The breakfast does typically work very well, although we did experience an unusual peak, possibly as a result of the clocks going back that weekend. Sincere apologies for any delays on this ocassion & we will look again at the layout. Thank you...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here for my birthday weekend 28/29 October /2016. Reception not great on arrival no real welcome. Handed our room key on arrival and without telling us verbally what number our room number was, proceeded to give us directions to our room. I asked the receptionist if I could book a table for our included meal in the evening. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariahil2n
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mariahil2n Thank you for your review & comments, which are appreciated. I am sorry there were some areas of concern. On check-in we try not to announce the room number aloud for several reasons & I am sorry your table reservation was not taken on the spot, but during peak times, we need to manage timings and currently use...

Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely polite staff who where happy to help us when it came to well needed refreshments it wasn't too much trouble at all. We was there for a meeting so didnt see any of the other facilities. A lovely room for a function though. Loved the great danes outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda12450
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda12450 Thank you very much for your feedback, especially regarding the team. We do host many meetings & events and have one of the largest event rooms in Kent along with many other facilities, which I hope you will experience on your next visit. Yours sincerely, Dominic

Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I went here as part of a group of 6 women for a spa day (we purchased the deal as a spa deal). It is basically a hotel with a swimming pool. We arrived and checked in, reception told us we could get towels from the pool area and dressing gowns from the spa area. We dropped our bags in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1978KS
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Booked a one night stay for two adults. Included dinner and breakfast together with use of the hotel's health and fitness facilities. The food was excellent and the facilities including Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi and Steam Room, not to mention swimming pool were more than adequate. The only let down and it wasn't really the hotel's fault were guests in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John I am delighted you enjoyed the Brasserie food & the Feel Good health club & appreciate your other comments, which have been shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Dominic

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Ok so we booked a spa day through a voucher company. There were 6 of us girls celebrating 4 birthdays. Just looking for a relaxing time and thought it was good value for money £80 for over night stay use of spa and breakfast for two. When we arrived it was obvious the hotel is dated and is need of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frampmf
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear frampmf, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We have carefully noted all your comments and disappointed that we haven’t met your expectations. Please be assured that your comments regarding service and food quality in our brassiere have been passed to our food & beverage manager and our head chef for review. Both pool and Jacuzzi temperatures should remain constant...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
24.7 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.3 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.8 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
164 reviews
12.0 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
27.6 km away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Price Range: $112 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Gillingham, United Kingdom
6 months ago
London
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake View rooms loo out onto the grounds and the lake, others may not have such a good outlook.”
WendyLou03, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a side room the peacock will keep you awake”
ninabramfitt, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Just stay away”
planet4james, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Possible the quite right rooms would be overlooking the grounds at the rear.”
llanmedos, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for Priviledge room if you can, or any room on the side in the summer due to the heat”
433davek, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$68
TravelocityUS$68
HotelQuicklyUS$85
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates