We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AC Hotel by Marriott Penang

Save
Share
213 Jalan Bukit Gambir, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11950 Malaysia
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Enjoy 1-for-1 Room Stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
AC Hotels
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (311)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (151)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Updated 21/10/20

About

#5 of 13 hotels in Bayan Lepas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This 423-room hotel is located in the vicinity of Bukit Jambul and is approximately 10 minutes from Penang International Airport and 5 minutes to the First Penang Bridge exit point. Business districts located close to the hotel are Bayan Lepas Free Industrial Zone, Seberang Perai and the newly refurbished Subterranean Penang International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SPICE) just seven minutes away by road. The Penang Golf Club and Bukit Jambul Complex are within close proximity, while Georgetown, a UNESCO World Heritage Site is easily accessible. The hotel also provides complimentary shuttle services to Queensbay area as well as the Bayan Lepas Free Industrial Zone.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
Hotel links
Special Offer:Enjoy 1-for-1 Room Stay

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
473Reviews9Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 198
  • 86
  • 36
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ZZ wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Upon checking in we were asked to hand over our identification cards. We were taken aback when the reception staff made photocopies of our identification cards. Asking us for our id for verification purposes was a normal practice but making copies of our id is not. We called mariott kl to verify this action and were told that they only asked for id for verification purposes and not to make copies of it unless they thought that we might be a security threat. We then called the police department and they verified the same. When we asked the reception why they made copies of our id the person attending to us was irritated and when we insisted that he should at least write for ac hotel use on our id photocopies he got even more irritated to the point where he tore the paper and just inked 1 line across our id copies. The other guests who were checking in at that time all asked the same question but were given the same irritated treatment. The reception took time to explain to us that we should not lose our breakfast tokens but didnt bother to give us a valid reason why they made copies of our id. When we arrived at our room the reception called and informed us that if we wanted our room to be cleaned we had to call their general 0 number. Mind you, we were staying at the hotel wing not the service apartment. A hotel that does not clean your room daily without being asked to??? Guests are given 1 number to call for assistance yet when you do call several times, they do not even bother to answer. What are we paying for then? In this day and age where privacy concerns are detrimental, how would you feel if you were are asked for your id and copies are made of it? We had stayed here when it was Vistana Hotel and never have they made copies of our id. What was worse was that upon checking in nobody at the reception bothered to ask to see our Mysejahtera status. Instead making copies of our id was most important. Nobody made sure that guests adhere to the covid SOP and the lift floors were wet each of the 4 days we stayed there. We notified the reception when we went out for lunch and asked them to mop the floor of the lifts but it was still wet when we returned from dinner. Perhaps only if somebody falls and breaks their necks would the hotel pay attention. This will be the last time we stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamad Salman, Other at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Zarazaini, Thank you for choosing to stay at the AC Hotel Penang and providing your feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent such unpleasant experiences from occurring in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Hotel Manager
Read more
Visvan wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
I booked a 3 bedroom suite for my family but overall did not have a good experience. There was no elevator from the carpark to the lobby. Had to carry my luggage using the stairs to the lobby. I just cant understand why the management never considered having an elevator access to the carpark. Real inconvenience for those who have to carry heavy luggage on the staircase. Please take note that this hotel does not have in room dining. we were given the 23 floor for our 3 bedroom suite which was rather clean except for the floor which was not vacuumed properly. Unfortunately for us we had to endure the noisy rooftop aircond compressor throughout our stay. despite shutting the balcony sliding door and closing all the windows, the noise was quite loud.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamad Salman, Other at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Dear Visavanthan74, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay and this is essential for us to improve on our quality of services and product continuously. I deeply apologize for the inconvenient experiences that you have encountered during your visit. Please rest assured that your comments are seriously taken into consideration and appropriate action will be taken. I appreciate that you have taken my call earlier and once again please accept my sincere apologies. The team and I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Hotel Manager
Read more
R2facts wrote a review May 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona39 contributions1 helpful vote
This review is long over due (original trip was 2018) and a full review is on the Media Website. 99.98% of my wife's family call Penang Malaysia home, and being this was my first trip to this illustrious island, they wanted to treat me to the gem of the orient. the breakfast was absolutely amazing and I looked forward to it every morning. we had a 3 room suite with a office/den area with plenty of space for 4 people. we stayed for just under 10 days and I cant wait to come back to this wonderful Hotel that is now part of the Marriott Family.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Shafiq H wrote a review Apr 2021
174 contributions114 helpful votes
+1
Wonderful hotel in Bayan Lepas, close to Bukit Jambul complex. Good size rooms and suites. Very courteous and helpful staff. Nice pool and Gym. Due to Covid lockdown, restaurant was closed, but one can still get food in the lounge
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Amanda Au wrote a review Dec 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia13 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed here for 2 nights for a total rates at RM346.50. Yes, I understood that when checked in, normally the hotel will charge credit card for certain amt to hold as deposit, and for my case, they charged me at RM500 on 26.12.2020. During checked out on 28.12.2020, the staff (ming yi) told me that they will deduct the room rates (RM346.50) from the hold amt of RM500 and the balance RM153.50 will be refunded within 14 days. If that the case, I will loose the opportunity cost of the balance amt. I was puzzled with such system/SOP/process that I told her that normally other hotels will void the deposit credit card slip and charge again the exact amt at RM346.50. Quite disappointed with your process and the staff attitude in handling the situation. Please kindly review your process and benchmark with the industry. Tq.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamad Salman, Other at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear Amanda A, First and forest, thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. On behalf of the team I would like to apologise for the frustration we have caused you upon your departure. Thank you for taking my call earlier to clear the confusion caused by the team. I have personally met with the team to ensure the right information are shared with the guest; Rest assured our highest priority is to provide excellent service to our guest. We do look forward to welcoming you back and wishing a very Happy Near Year. Best regards, Mohamad Salman Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AC Hotel Penang Bukit Jambul
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBayan Lepas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
423
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about AC Hotel by Marriott Penang
Which popular attractions are close to AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Nearby attractions include SPICE Aquatic Club (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kampachi, Hotel Equatorial Penang, Spade's Burger i-Avenue, and The View.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does AC Hotel by Marriott Penang have airport transportation?
Yes, AC Hotel by Marriott Penang offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does AC Hotel by Marriott Penang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to AC Hotel by Marriott Penang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Penang War Museum (6.1 km) and Penang Hill Corporation (1.3 km).