We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murrell's Grand View House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Murrell\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Murrell's Grand View House
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and my husband stayed two nights recently. We received a very warm welcome with lots of local information given on arrival. This was in total contrast to the hotel accommodation we had been staying in on our travels. This is a family run business and the property itself is full of tradition and interesting background. Breakfast was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marybehancherith
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights in December and loved every minute of the experience. The room was very comfortable, the sunsets gorgeous and Rob's hospitality was without equal (as were his breakfasts and coffee). I would much rather stay here than in Te Anau despite the extra 20 minute drive. Excellent base to explore the sounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi - thanks so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay - we are very lucky with our beautiful surroundings and we are glad you enjoyed the house and your visit to Fiordland. Glad you liked the coffee too!

USA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long and tiring drive, we were pleasantly surprised with Rob's warm and prompt greeting at the front door. He showed us around the premises (which have been in his family for 3 generations), and answered all our questions. Our comfort seemed to be his primary concern. After our "tour" he offered us a glass of wine, or tea,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eikogirl
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your kind review. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. We are actually the 5th generation of Murrells to run the house which makes Grand View House unique in New Zealand. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the history and hospitality that we offer to our guests....

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

GENERAL We'd booked 2 nights in a lake view room, having given up on securing a room in nearby Te Anau. It was serendipity as we wouldn't have enjoyed Te Anau as much as we did Manapouri. And having booked the room, Philippa couldn't have been more helpful, arranging two trips and a restaurant booking for our arrival. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bandr2016
GrandViewHouse, General Manager at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Thanks for your amazing review - we work hard to ensure that our guests have a lovely time and we very much enjoy meeting people from around the world. Sorry it was raining when you arrived - we had some rather unseasonal weather this summer!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

History of the house is incredible, Rob a great host, nice breakfast, we did however find the $350 gives you those things and not much more. Further up in Te Anau you would get a lot more for your money including a view of a lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanagon84
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you didn't feel that you received value for money and we would be happy to address this if you are ever back our way.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We had a one night at Murrell's on our way to Wanaka and enjoyed the stay. A friendly reception, large well appointed bedroom with a great breakfast the next morning. It is great to see a place still in the same family that explored the region 5 generations ago. Highly recommend the stay and would love to come back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for the review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our history and love sharing our slice of paradise with guests. Perhaps we will see you again one day. Philippa

Champlemy, France
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Murrell's, provides an exceptionally comfortable stay in one of the most dynamically imposing and beautiful regions of the world. We have been lucky to have witnessed the beauty of the Seychelles, the grandeur of Machu Picchu, the wonderments of the Amazon, the rich culture of Japan as well as many other travel experiences. However, the fjordland national park (larger than...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Graham58210
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Graham Your review is lovely - thank you so much. We certainly enjoyed hosting you here in Manapouri and we really do love to share this special place with our guests. Fiordland is definitely a unique place in the world and we feel very lucky to live here. We hope we might see you again one day when you...

madrid
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing stay, Robert is an amazing person, making everything he can to make you feel as you would be at home or even better with such a nice breakfast. Apart from this, the views are just unbelievable and the house is really an historic building in the area. We highly recommend staying here for visiting: Doubtful and Milford Sounds. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dani1981madrid
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We try our best to ensure that our guests have a great stay. It was a pleasure to host you and perhaps we will see you again one day. Robert

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, lovely guest house with all the old world charm, wonderful views over the lake to the mountains, very warm hosts, excellent cooked breakfast, am writing this review while sitting in front of the open fire drinking tea, who wouldn't love it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samg1960
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This is a memorable place to stay with very friendly and professional hosts. The breakfasts were good and kept us going all day! The rooms have a fantastic view, hence the name, and it's perfectly suited for those doing the Doubtful Sound tour. Only an easy five minute walk to the boat. It is really a taste of New Zealand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kieron V

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
17.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
18.4 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
18.7 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
1.0 km away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
18.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Murrells Grand View House, Manapouri, offers hosted bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, relaxed environment which commands stunning views of the lakes and mountains beyond. The house has been owned and operated as a guest house by the Murrell family since 1889. Robert and Philippa are the 4th generation of Murrells to welcome guests to the house and they enjoy sharing this unique historic house with travellers from all over the world. Welcome refreshments are included in the tariff as is a substantial breakfast served at a time to suit guests' itineraries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrell's Grand View House

Address: 7 Murrell Avenue, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range: $242 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrell's Grand View House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Murrell's Grand View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Murrell's Grand View House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room to the back of the premises which overlooked the Lake. Amazing view to wake up to”
 of 5 bubbles marybehancherith, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake and mountain views are to die for.”
 of 5 bubbles Graham58210, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms adjacent the verandah offer the picture-perfect views”
 of 5 bubbles gregsC8754DU, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the room at the end of the hallway.”
 of 5 bubbles 307SuE, 22 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Any room in this Grand View house will be just fine!”
 of 5 bubbles marjoleinv161, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5