We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great base from which to explore the SW coast of NZ. Manapouri is a lovely spot and much quieter than nearby Te Anau. The room had a great view over the lake and was warm and comfortable. The camp kitchen was a surprise that meant I could cook for myself cheaply, the bar next door was convenient to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindazed57
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

"Try to remember that this is a superior room" my partner said. I had to try hard! A series of significant life events meant that our bookings were done later than intended when Te Anau was sold out. Try to stay in Te Anau and certainly eat there! The view from the motel is fabulous and we could sit on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine M
Invercargill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On December 28th the Manapouri Hotel runs the annual Campers vs Locals cricket game. This is always a fun event For a donation the hotel supplies beer and a great bbq. There is a huge waterslide for the kids and a lolly scramble at half time in the cricket match. This is a fun afternoon and should you be in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliemary
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on the 23rd December in a studio unit. The room was small and dated, but for the cheap price and a last minute booking it was reasonable. Small TV, no cooking facilities in the room apart from a jug, but we were close to the shared kitchen. If you are looking for a break from the camper or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Practical accommodation. Great views. We did not sleep well. It was very cold at night. If the weather is nice, it will be lovely to spend time outside on the balcony, but it was very windy during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConTrains
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Mislead by photos these rooms are compact, you wouldn't want to spend much time in them other than sleeping. Didn't fancy the diner/ cafe kids running about where people are trying to eat or the restaurant, drove down the road and found a lovely little Mexican restaurant in an old church building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michele P
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and alerting us to the shortcomming of the dimensions of our rooms not living up to your expectations. Its a shame that you didnt join in at the diner/cafe for the local Christmas party hence the amount of families attending for the day. That is just they way we celebrate community...

Constanta, Romania
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Second time at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn. Location is excellent, just across the lake, i think all the rooms have lake-view. Standard studios have old furniture, but they are clean, in good condition, the price for the room is just right. In the complex there are a restaurant and a pub where locals gather, very nice atmosphere! The lady at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hermesss555
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We had a night stay at Inn and were satisfied. Rooms are rather simple and bit outdated but staff is more than friendly and gives you very fast feeling of being wellcome. Dinner at inn is advisable : it is more or less only restaurant but worthwhile. Just stay to local dishes and wine and you will be satisfied. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erjavec
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. Kind regards Inger

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My wife and I stayed in room 101. Great view of lake Manapouri. The room was adequate for two but catered for 4, this would have made for a very cramped stay. Although a heater provided my wife found the rooms chilly. Also due to the rooms location people going to and fro from the pub and reception made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The motel is situated next to a thoroughfare to Te Anau, with the windows of the rooms giving to the lake - the only positive factor of the place. The room was quite drafty, curtains fluttering in the wind. The shower was in a bathtub and the water hot if you waited long enough. The wifi did not work at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirja T
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. It is unfortuante that you were unsatisfied. We had exceptionally wild windy weather during your stay. The Throughfare that you mention is the scenic drive between Manapouri and Te Anau. The Hotel overlooks the lake and is set back from the road side by 40 meters. Yes Wifi is...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
17.0 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
17.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
17.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
387 reviews
17.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
457 reviews
17.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“more or less all the same”
 of 5 bubbles erjavec, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles V6135LTmichaela, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front rooms near the road maybe newer”
 of 5 bubbles screennamechalky, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a porch across from the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Undaunted_Courage, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Front units are apparently recently refurbished, really nice”
 of 5 bubbles debnz, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay