We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Crown Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$136*
US$101*
Great Deal
US$106*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 626: English reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

The Crown is a pleasant hotel with friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere. The room I stayed in was very pleasant though some might say in need of some updating. Being at the front of the hotel, there was some traffic noise which may bother some - but there are plenty of other rooms away from the road. I ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trumpeterscott
Tracey C, General Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trumpeterscott Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you found the Hotel to be comfortable with friendly staff. It is great that you ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant finding them both good, tasty and well presented. When you return I can recommend our afternoon tea with cake and scones made here at the...

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I stay here once or twice a year for business. They are very friendly and the hotel, although rambling, is quite confortable. I found the restaurant to be fine, with likely one of the finest breakfasts in the UK - North Sea Kippers! (smoked herring for the yanks) There are a couple of country walks along by the river Ure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Tracey C, General Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris R Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. The Hotel certainly has it's own character and we are proud of it too. Great that you enjoyed your breakfast, we do try to source as much food as we can, as local as possible. When you return give us a call to place your reservation 01423...

Sheffield
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This may be an attractive hotel but the food lets it down big time. We had starters of carrot and split pea soup which the hubs said was ok and mum and I had a melon, Palmer ham wrapped bread stick and olives which was ok but the melon was tasteless and the salad garnish was poor with a pot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8sandy1999
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear8sandy1999 I am shocked to read your review, I am sorry there was no aspect of your meal that you found to be good especially as it was all three meals over two courses. I would have really liked the opportunity to have spoken with you about this, while you were here. We source a lot of our food locally,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Lots of character, plus modern amenities such as a health spa. The bedroom was comfortable, quiet and well-lit (which doesn't always happen). There were several areas where one could just sit and relax. The food was fine, and good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbd47
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbd47 Thank you for your review after staying with us recently. The Hotel does have lots of character and indeed history too. We do our best to ensure you enjoy a comfortable stay while here and reading your review that is what you enjoyed. When you return please call for the best rate on 01423 322328 Hope to see...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I stayed in this hotel twice in May 2016 when completing different cycle rides. It is wonderful and very cycle friendly with secure bike storage. The staff are welcoming, efficient and the spa is divine after a long cycle with a jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna. I stayed in a the same executive twin room both visits. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennyCyclist
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JennyCyclist Firstly, congratulations on completing your cycle challenge! Thank you for your review. We could not ask for better comments with a score of 5 too! We will always do our best to give you the best stay possible with us. After your challenge I am pleased that you had a good nights sleep, you would have certainly needed...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Easy to get to Hotel from M1 or A1, then easy to reach places like Fountains Abbey, York, Sherwood Forest and Rievaulx Abbey. Not to mention many more historical sites. Had 4 good nights sleep, bed and room were very good. Food at breakfast and evening was very good and had good choice. Parking was secure with automatic gates in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howe638
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howe638 Thank you for placing your review after staying with us, we very much appreciate it and the 5 score too! Great that you slept well, we have just invested in some new beds to give you a good, comfortable nights sleep. We have the benefit of our food being purchased as local as possible and also being cooked...

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel from 20/05/16 till 22/05/16, female on reception knew I was there for work, placed in the worst room possible room 30, first night consisted of lying in bed listening to people talking whilst coming up the stairs- very little sleep, 2nd night then consisted of listening to a drunken football club singing and just being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary S Thank you for your review, could I firstly apologise that you did not sleep well when staying with us. It is difficult to resolve any disturbance you encountered, especially when we do not know about it. I assure you had we known, we would have moved your bedroom. I am pleased to read that you found the...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

As a location for pleasure and sight-seeing, Boroughbridge is a disappointment, offering very little in the way of amenities within the town and few culinary choices. Slightly faded hotel in need of some updating decor-wise but comfortable and friendly enough. Our room was spacious and although situated above the front door, at the top of the stairs, it wasn't noisy,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas D
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas D Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found your room to be quiet and spacious and the Hotel itself comfortable. Could I say that I am shocked to read your comments about our Town, I have always find it really nice with lots of individuality and shops with so much character. We even have...

witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a birthday treat for my husband, booked through travelzoo. It was a lovely hotel, very pleasant and professional staff, the room was small but had everything that you need, the evening meal and breakfast was superb and good quality ingredients, we also ate in the bar at lunchtime and that was very good too. The bonus is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Tracey C, Manager at Best Western Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie B Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. We do take a pride in the hotel and the service which we give. The produce we use is locally sourced which the Kitchen team cook from fresh. Your comments will be passed on and we are thrilled when reading that the food...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
22.0 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
739 reviews
9.2 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
452 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
9.2 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
8.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Price Range: $133 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We ate in the main bar area and it was fine. We had it to ourselves but there was a restaurant too.”
MartinE499, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be of a good standard.”
NigelWykes, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quieter rooms at the back of the hotel”
650donald, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask when booking.”
richardjgreen33, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet”
MickyH, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$101* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$106
Booking.comUS$104
HotelQuicklyUS$136
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates