We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Slate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Slate
The Slate
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Slate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,551: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We started our honeymoon at Indigo Pearl and it was a great way to kick it off. We booked with AMEX travel desk and they made mention that it was our honeymoon on our reservation thought when we arrived there were no special touches. We mentioned it to the concierges once and they asked to see our marriage license... obviously... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEW1211
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

There is no doubt that that hotel is set in beautiful grounds and that the food is of a very high standard. It was a shame that we had problems with the rooms we had. The first was the room we booked and as the brochure states a free upgrade is available if you are on honeymoon, I asked this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KeenBeanScotland
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear KeenBeanScotland, Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your room, rest assured this is not our standard and promise to deliver a flawless experience on your next visit. P.S. We do require wedding certificate at time of checkin to benefit from our honeymoon package to avoid any misuse as benefits are comprehensive Kind... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I hope this is constructive as this is only my opinion. The hotel is good but not great as we expected for a couple, for families I think it is excellent as they cater for these (probaly best family hotel I have seen). When I booked Thailand I was looking for a 5 star Hotel with a bit of itimacy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ben010177
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear Ben010177, Thank you for your feedback. We do have a mix of guests from couples to families staying with us, thus we have facilities to cater for both, such as adults-only pools and family pools. We do understand if you are specifically looking for couples only resort. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

To give you an idea of how much we loved this resort, let me tell you that I actually created a TripAdvisor account just to write the review. Everything here is spot-on. The beach is right next door. There is a small town right next to the resort itself, where you have food shops, touristy souvenir shops..

Helpful?
2 Thank abkumar
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear Abkumar, Thank you for your review, much appreciated that you created an account to compliment our resort. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I was a little underwhelmed when we drove into the hotel grounds but that all changed when we entered our suite, absolutely breathtaking room. Not to mention the 3 x pools, the 1 minute work to the beach and the amazing spa! Food & beverage is cheap compared to a resort like this anywhere else. The staff were very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kmara
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear Kmara, Thank you for your feedback, glad to note you had a wonderful stay with us. We do hope to see you again perhaps for your anniversary. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was our second Christmas at the Indigo Pearl. My review last time was glowing but unfortunately it did not live up to last time. Firstly I emailed the hotel directly about having a room in the same block as we had last time and was assured it would not be a problem, also the travel company we booked through... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mandi K
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear KempyBedford, Thank you for your review, very dissapointing to note your experience. This is certainly not our standard in everything that you have mentioned. We will immediately look at the respective departments concerned and ensure your tragic experience is not repeated. In terms of our private pool villa construction, unfortunately this was delayed due to flooding in Bangkok which... More 

Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is an amazing place, far from the bustle of Patong. We stayed here for one week in a Poool Pavillion room. It was truely amazing, rooms was great, staff were friendly, but our internet access was terrible, we complained about it every day and finally it was fixed on the 6th day. It's a shame such a thing was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback, we will certainly ensure our internet coverage is up to speed throughout the resort. We do hope to see you again, Kind Regards Indigo Pearl team. More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We really enjoyed our four nights at the Indigo Pearl. We appreciated the comfort of the rooms, and particularly the huge, and probably most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. We loved the lush grounds. We thought the breakfast was outstanding. It contained everything you could imagine and then some. My hubby has a French background and commented that the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2roam
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear luvs2roam, Thank you for your review and glad to note you had a great stay with us. Indeed Nai Yang is unspoilt and is quite visible when our guests take day trips to Patong area. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Rooms are absolutely superb. The room also had a private pool outside and a terrace. The property itself is really impressive: every detail is very cool and very stylish - the lights, the plants, the walkways, the layout, the materials used. They really did an amazing investment in the property and they should be proud of it. The beach is... More 

Helpful?
Thank eqrsrch
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear Eqrsrch, Thank you for your feedback, certainly appreciated as it gives us an opportunity to review our service in light with guest expectations. All points noted and certainly will be reviewed. Just would like to mention that our pools are open 24 hours, after 7pm the resort staff are not available for service at the pool (ceratinly will work... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Arrived on 12/31/11, to a welcome staff and beautiful room overlooking one of the pools. Had an overpriced NYE dinner and sat and watched a spectacular fireworks display on the beach. At 1230, strolled back to the room for a good nights rest. Wait..our keys dont work!. Walked to front desk for a new set. Second time..didnt work. Ran back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch B
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review

Dear Mitch B, Thank you for your feedback, your experience with room keys is noted. Sadly noted as this has certainly never happened before and for sure investigated. We do hope to see you again to provide a better experience. Kind Regards Indigo Pearl team. P.S. the compulsory dinner charge on New Year's eve is standard in Phuket in all... More 

3,930 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3725)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (564)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (680)
Viewed
Bathroom (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (664)
Viewed
Dining (309)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (106)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (1173)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Pearl Bed Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Pool Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Private Pool Villa (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
7.6 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
17.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
752 reviews
33.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
8.8 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
22.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 308 in Patong
4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: | Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Price Range: $241 - $1,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Slate staff and other travellers.
95 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (95)

Questions? Get answers from The Slate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good. Book anything.”
 of 5 bubbles 588iank, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room by the pool or near Lobby is better.”
 of 5 bubbles KanJaruangkoon, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont bother getting a pool room, its always super cold and the pool is freezing! the pool doesnt see sun so the mozzies are also bad!”
 of 5 bubbles 903clairet, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure you can go wrong with any rooms at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles missnewbys, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor corner suites are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles KathrynDavis, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay