We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mussel Boys

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mussel Boys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After 9 weeks, 7000 km and an unknown number of hotel rooms/apartments we ended our road trip at The Mussel Boys on the Tasman Peninsula. Here we found our favorite "home away from home". We booked it for two nights, were lucky to get a third and would still have wanted to stay longer. The four cabins are beautifully renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnaDeNoruega
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just 10km from Port Arthur, this was perfectly located overlooking a bay. In the morning we watched rabbits and birds on the lawn from our cabin. There is also a little restaurant on site serving wood fired pizza, steak and seafood. The cabins were very clean and beautifully presented with wood floors and wood touches in the bathroom. Most comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BowBow4
Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Tasman Peninsula. Kind regards Kim

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

2 night stay at this unexpected little gem. 20 odd minutes to the Blow Hole, Tasman Arch the Remarkable Caves to name a few. These studios are spacious, clean and comfy with all the amenities that you will need. Spa bath in each as well. Perfect for that short term or long term getaway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lef12321
Management response:

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Having taken over the business in March and made a few changes over winter they are greatly appreciated. I hope you have the opportunity to spend some more time on the Peninsula again soon Kind regards Kim

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have spent three weeks travelling around Tassie and decided to stay closer to Port Arthur this time we are in Tassie as it's quite a drive back to Hobart. Was happy to find this accomodation at quite a good price online, unfortunately I doubled booked myself and ended up having to cut our stay back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephC7
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arranged for our overseas visitors to stay at this lovely accommodation. Pleasant views from quiet and clean roomy cabins. There are cooking facilities if you wish to self cater. The cabins are conveniently located on the peninsular with easy access by car back to Eagle Hawk Neck or onwards to Port Arthur and Nubeena. Allow a few days on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youngmerinda
Management response:

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, greatly appreciated. I hope you get the opportunity to visit the Tasman Peninsula again soon. Kind regards Kim

Forster, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were thrilled when we opened the door to cabin 4 at The Mussel Boys accomodation at Tarana. We had chosen the cabins as they were close to Port Arthur and not overly expensive. The quality of the fittings in the cabin are very good with an excellent kitchenette, pod coffee machine, laundry facilities, king size bed and spa as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
Management response:

Thanks for your comments, greatly appreciated. We are working on the Monday/Tuesday night dining option and hope to find an extra chef soon to enable the fat quoll licensed restaurant thats on site to extend its trading hours. Hope we see you again when your next on the Tasman Peninsula. Kind regards Kim

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

So glad we stumbled upon this place whilst searching the interwebs - it was absolutely perfect for what we needed. Kim was wonderfully friendly and has thought out everything in these spacious but cosy spa studios. Beautifully decorated, decks with outdoor furniture, cooking facilities, a large comfy bed, big fluffy towels and of course, the wonderful big spa. Kim provides...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha G
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

A great place to stay overnight if you're traveling down the Peninsula. The cabins are well situated, close to nearby day bush walks, local natural attractions and Port Arthur making it very easy to get around. The cabin itself was spotless inside, spa was fantastic, hot water for our cabin was provided by gas so no running out if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ricardo D
Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments. Pleased to advise that the wood fired pizza is now running Thurs -Sunday evenings Kind regards Kim

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

A cosy, contemporary self contained unit with a big TV, a fully decked out kitchenette that even has a dishwasher and espresso machine! A beautiful bathroom with laundry facilities. A king size bed and then, the pièce de résistance... The jacuzzi right next to the bed. The missus and I were in heaven for our stay, drinking champagne and eating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PM0024
Management response:

WOW, Thank you for such a kind review. Im please to advise after a busy few weeks fired up the big wood fired oven for a trial in June that was a great success. The restaurant space is still a work in progress and we hope to have finished soon for pizza, wine & beers and be fully operational by...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Let me just start by saying we stayed here as our last destination as we toured the East Coast... And this was easily the best we found. The cleanliness and beautifully appointed cabins were something of a surprise and a welcome site for travelled eyes. Kim the Owner and Host, who has recently taken over, shows the 20 years 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CookiefromHadfield
Management response:

Thanks for your kind review, Im please to advise that the woodfired pizza oven had a trial run in June that was a great success.We plan to have the restaurant fully operational by spring and will reopen with a wood fired pizza, oysters and mussel style eatery. My aplologies for the delayed response, we have just updated our trip advisor...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranna
7.1 km away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
335 reviews
9.4 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
523 reviews
10.3 km away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
1.8 km away
Masons Cottages
Masons Cottages
#1 of 4 in Taranna
60 reviews
1.1 km away
Taranna Cottages
Taranna Cottages
#3 of 4 in Taranna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern self-contained spacious open plan studio apartments conveniently located in Taranna, central to all the attractions of the Tasman Peninsula . The units all have king size beds, with tranquil views of Little Norfolk Bay. All individually furnished accommodations feature LCD TVs with DVD players, and you can enjoy private spa tubs, washers/dryers, and furnished balconies.At The Mussel Boys, you'll be 0.6 km from Tasmanian Devil Unzoo and Federation Chocolate Factory. A short drive from Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur Historic Site is within 10km. The perfect location to stay a few nights and enjoy exploring the Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mussel Boys

Address: 5927 Arthur Highway, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Price Range: $186 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mussel Boys 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Mussel Boys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mussel Boys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the first cabin and it was great”
  • Cosy cabin, comfy bed
 of 5 bubbles L5756WGrachels, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No tip required... there are 5 units, and they are all detached from each other but in a line along the main highway. However, there is no discernable street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Oscar_Retriever, 28 Dec 2011 | Read review
“stay in port arthur”
 of 5 bubbles joeyjoeo, 28 Oct 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay