We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Racha

Orbitz.comUS$197*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$317*
US$197*
Great Deal
US$203*
US$203*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Racha
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,089 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 726: English reviews
Start your review of The Racha
 Click to rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The island is stunning. One of the most beautiful beaches in the area and also a fantastic place to snorkel from the beach. No boat trips required! The brilliance of the snorkelling does mean that day trippers arrive every day between 10-4 from Phuket and I was very concerned about this when I booked our holiday HOWEVER the security of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear Julia R: Warm greetings and thank you for taking the time to share your detail feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am glad you and family enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that we have taken note of the area you pointed out and assure you that this is not the norm but...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are in the Racha now for the third time and didn't regret it. This time we had a junior pool suite/villa directly on the beach. We had a Jura coffee maschine, bose soundlink and a collection of movies on a hard disk. The whole hotel and Resort is managed well and is maintained properly. Most of the guest as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wagnerjoerg1965
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear wagnerjoerg1965: Warm greetings and thank you very much for your kind review. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Devan Bhaskaran. General Manager.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to The Racha in Apr 2016, and stayed for 2 nights. Appreciated the thoughtfulness of the resort from the pick-up at Phuket International Airport, to the transport on the last day of departure; each detail was meticulously well-planned. We were picked up from Phuket International Airport with a comfortable SUV, and were immediately welcomed with cold towels and ice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank geraldchan
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear geraldchan: Warm greetings and thank you very much your kind and detailed review. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. Should your travel schedule take you back to The Racha in the near future, please let me know. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Devan Bhaskaran. General Manager.

Warlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is simply stunning!! The beach is the nearest we have been to beaches in the Maldives. Sand like white flour, and crystal clear sea. It is sooo sad that 350 umbrella's are put up every morning, until 5pm in the evening!! If only there were HALF that amount, it would give us a view, and,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne L
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear Anne L: Warm greetings and thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I am sorry to hear that the beach was a disappointment. We have made efforts to control this, but it is a public beach, and we cannot prevent day...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from our 4 night stay at the Racha. I must say, the clear blue water, white sand beach and the beautiful resort among lush foliage really looks as good if not better than the gorgeous photos we had been admiring online. Airport and boat transfers went smoothly. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and given a brief...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lautan48
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear lautan48: Firstly, we wish to thank you for choosing The Racha for your recent holiday and for your detailed review. I am glad that you had a great time with us and that you found the staff and service to be exemplary. Also that you enjoyed the facilities in the Villa along with the food in the resort. Delighted...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are family of three and spent a week in The Racha after four busy days in Bangkok. It was everything we were hoping for: beautiful, luxurious, tranquil place. From the moment we arrived to Phuket airport, we were greeted by the Racha driver who took us to the Chalong Pier in a super comfortable van. The ride took about...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mirjana M
Bristol, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in February for 2 nights. My partner found out how much it cost just before we went there so was a bit grumpy. As soon as we got there he asked why we weren't staying there longer! The villas and grounds are immaculate and all the staff are very smiley. Despite it being a 5star resort it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UKMorwenna
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear UKMorwenna: We are always grateful for the time our guests take to share their reviews on TripAdvisor and receiving feedback from our guests is essential to improve our service and meet guest's expectations. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the villa design, the resort grounds, the hydroponic farm, the pool and the activities. Your comment regarding the...

Copenhagen
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We really enjoyed our time at The Racha. This is one of the best resorts I have ever stayed at: the estate is absolutely stunning and perfectly maintained, the staff is amazing and breakfast is probably the best I've ever had in a hotel. The spa is delightful, the gym is state-of-the-art, the 3 restaurants offer great food and quality,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarazu
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear sarazu: Thank you for telling us about your experience at The Racha. It was nice to know that we made your stay truly wonderful in all possible way. I am also pleased to know my associates looked after you. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The natural view and environment of this resort is gorgeous! The price is high, at least for us, but the beach, the trees, flowers, butterflies, birds, cats (yes, there are lots of well-fed fatty cutie cats)... do justice to what we paid. YET!!! the service in this resort falls short sadly! They seriously need major training on how to smile,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank minminfm
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear minminfm: I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Phuket and am glad that you enjoyed the beach, garden and surrounding and the smiling watersports staff. Nevertheless, it is with great concern to read your review pertaining to your villa and snorkeling experience and would like to sincerely apologise for...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night in Grand Deluxe Pool Villa. Direct view from bed to sea and very private own pool. Had absolutely fantastic Dinner at the Fire Grill restaurant terrace. Peaceful place for lovers ❤

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sirkkus_1
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review

Dear sirkkus_1: Warm greetings and thank you very much for your kind review here. Your kind comment is much valued from the villa to dining experience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We all do look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Thailand. Warm regards, Devan Bhaskaran. General Manager

1,940 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1569)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (188)
Viewed
Room/Suite (182)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (279)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (748)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Lighthouse (2)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Spa Pool Suites (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Grand Pool Suites (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (33)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Racha Yai
61.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
42.4 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
847 reviews
42.4 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 km away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,775 reviews
32.4 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,183 reviews
62.7 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Racha

Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Price Range: $319 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Racha staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Racha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend getting a room as close as possible to the central area (pool, restaurants, spa, and beach)”
sarazu, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“villa 346 is nice.”
minminfm, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior Pool Suite”
DrBeach77, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are amazing”
maryskye2017, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pool suites are excellent but you have further to walk to the beach ,bar and restaurants but a golf buggy can always collect you.”
timwD7564FQ, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$197* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$203
PricelineUS$203
TripAdvisorUS$197
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates