We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ragged Cot Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ragged Cot Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Start your review of The Ragged Cot Inn
 Click to rate
Uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely "inn with rooms" . We found all the staff to be welcoming and charming. We had dinner in the restaurant and whilst starters and puddings were just fine both our main courses were fantastic. Breakfast was excellent cooked to order with high end produce. Rooms nicely decorated with lovely toiletries. Would have quite liked cafitiere and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamariu4
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived around 1:00 p.m. on Friday afternoon to be met at the reception/bar area by an extremely friendly and welcoming lady who advised that as one of our two rooms was still being cleaned we (4) could all go in to one of our rooms that was ready to freshen up before going on to our friends wedding. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rovingbrits
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The original building of the Ragged Cot looks like a classic Cotswold home and the extensions are all sensitively done. We had a nice large room (number 2 on ground floor) with modern bathroom, nicely decorated, tea and coffee in room etc. Very comfy bed. Staff were very accommodating to us re early check in as we were in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TinaTpot
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here several times before and take the slow food service and not especially welcoming staff as the norm for a convenient location and pretty good, if somewhat pricey food. Accommodation, specifically the plumbing, was appalling - no hot water for morning shower, black effluent emerging from the shower waste into the shower tray and a virtually completely blocked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sussex3225
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A classic mix of pub and Inn. No real welcome as we came in. But sweetly shown to our lovely room by one of the staff. A well refurbished, ok sized room and great ensuite with walk in shower. The bed was comfy but the pillows were really not. The main issue with the room was the thin walls and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Jacob
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 6 for Mother's Day. Rang to check the time it was booked on the morning of Mother's Day and they did not have my booking. Manager did not care and was really unhelpful. Poor customer service. They were fully booked so did not care that our Mothers Day was ruined. They have lost my custom. They...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah P
stuarthanson, General Manager at The Ragged Cot Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, while it is correct that we did not have a booking for you recorded in our diary when you called on Sunday morning, we took your number and called you back within half an hour offering you two alternative times, both of which were only 30 minutes either side of the original booking you claim to have made....

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Ragged Cot before and, as expected, our room was comfortable and warm. Breakfast was good and making your own toast at least ensures that you get it when you want it. Coffee less good - decaffeinated came in a cup rather than a cafetière as the regular coffee did. Sunday lunch was mixed - good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzyCR
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed here for a couple of nights for my fiancée's birthday and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. Great food, beer and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and tidy, had everything you needed. The breakfast was amazing! and enough coffee to keep me going for a week! The hotel is in a great location as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siml87
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights midweek for a leisure break. On arrival we received a very warm welcome and were shown to our room. The room and hotel generally is very nicely styled and a lot of thought has been put into the rooms. The breakfasts we had were excellent - lovely fresh ingredients which were nicely cooked. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobvCarr
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Been coming for a few years on and off as we have links in the area, recent years have seen a huge improvement in decor, food, and staff. Nice quirky touches, good food. It had become harder to use it just for drinks/bar food (it IS a pub..or it was!) as it grew a good rep' for food so tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CreamTea77

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
3.6 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
9.6 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
641 reviews
2.2 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
5.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Price Range: $111 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ragged Cot Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ragged Cot Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing main road suffer a little from traffic noise so ask for rear facing. Room #2 has a lovely walk-in shower.”
Rovingbrits, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1st floor rooms probably quieter than the ground floor..”
RobvCarr, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in a separate block with the corridor facing the road, so relatively undisturbed.”
  • Spotless bedroom, comfy bed and duvet, spot on
UKDiver2007, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think the rooms downstairs are super kings.”
Coolkoala, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fairly quiet upstairs...lovely views of cows and fields, could hear white noise from expel air, with window open..”
Lochie581, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5