We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hatton Court Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,225: English reviews
Start your review of Hatton Court Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

From start to finish it was a lovely place to hold a wedding. Alice (the wedding coordinator) was a great support during all the preparations for our big day. We went for the ultimate package which includes a lot of essential things needed, you also get an added bonus of a meal and accommodation on your 1st anniversary! The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

3 course lunch for £15! This is cheaper than some pretentious pubs I've been to, but the food and service much better. I took my daughter today and will be back with others soon. Top marks for setting, tranquility, service, value and food!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed as a family of 3 in April. Hatton court staff are all friendly, reception area and bar cosy and the location is very pretty. Easy to find on sat nav which takes you through a nice scenic route. For the price I thought the rooms were a bit tired and needed a bit of a refurb. Food wasn't that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familiafeliz2011_11
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely country hotel set in a elevated rural setting overlooking some beautiful Gloucestershire countryside. We stayed in the annexe to the main hotel and had room 52 on the 3rd floor over looking the garden and car park, the room appeared to have been recently refurbished and was well presented with a large on suite, mini bar, hairdryer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian S, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found the refurbished room well presented with all the necessary amenities. I am delighted that found the staff friendly and professional, your comments are well received by the hardworking team. In regards to the...

March, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is in a quiet location about 1 mile from Gloucester. staff very nice but trhee times we ordered something and they did not arrive went into the bar after 10 minuets had to and find someone to serve us. dinner was nice fair choice on the menu waited 15 minuets before someone took order asked for water never got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0b2
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C0b2, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and apologise that the standard of service seems to have been below the usual standard. Its good to read that the staff were nice but it appears from your comments that a review in training needs to take place...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival thought what a lovely building and perfect wedding venue (getting married in 2018) I was invited to a baby shower at this venue we were having afternoon tea, table was lovely but the staff let the whole afternoon down, breakfast tea was not good so 5 of us asked for it to be changed only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal9375
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having enjoyed afternoon tea at Hatton Court many times in the past we booked for my daughters baby shower. The tea was a disaster. The Earl Grey blatantly wasn't. The English Breakfast was green in colour, smelled smoky and came out of the pot a distinctive yellow colour. Not the English Breakfast I have ever bought or served. We complained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnM1963
Walsall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this hotel for a wedding weekend and found the staff in general very good. However the room we stayed in was poor, wallpaper pealing, huge damp patch by the bathroom door. In the bathroom there was a crack in the sink and the shower head had no support so when showering you had to hold the head up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SilvesterWalsall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Superior Room with whirlpool bath. Our booked package included champagne in our room, dinner and breakfast for both days. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was in a good location for our type and length of break. Within a 40min drive lots of nice villages and places to visit can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian G, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and for the recommendation. I am pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay; the comments relating to service and food have been passed to the hardworking team who are appreciative of your feedback. As with many hotels we offer the option of twin beds for...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met an old friend for tea on a beautiful afternoon - and wasn't disappointed! Beautiful venue in the Cotswolds. The staff were so helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough for us, from Chelsea on reception who was happy to take us to wherever we wanted to sit, Vratislav our very tall waiter (!) who was very friendly without being overbearing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HorseMoleGilf

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Room, Main House (27)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room, East Wing (22)
Viewed
Superior Room, East Wing (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2.0 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
767 reviews
8.9 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
789 reviews
1.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,075 reviews
5.3 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
343 reviews
20.9 km away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $118 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best avoided!”
DawnM1963, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“East wing is very quiet,rooms excellent quality and beds very comfortable.”
pedr0123, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check for leaks & mould before you settle.”
Nateesha23, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Insist on a refurbished room”
kennethsR6664MU, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was seperate from the hotel very quite considering there was a wedding in the main hotel.”
364WendyS, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5