We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Farmers Boy Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Farmers Boy Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Farmers Boy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 739: English reviews
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The stay was just let down by a few things which just needs a little better management. Firstly our stay was for two nights, but following the breakfast on the Saturday I give it a miss on the Sunday! This was due to every single item on the plate being badly over done! Second problem is whilst I was sat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terry c
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for your review. You are 100% correct. We train our staff regularly and this was a let down on our behave. We do welcome our new manager Mark Roberts on the 4th of April and we look forward to seeing you again soon at The Award winning Farmers Boy Inn. Sincerely Phil Kiernan MD

Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Dinner and breakfast was served on cold plates so did not stay hot, crusts were served for breakfast,which were to thick.we had a problem with the bathroom, the door would not stay shut,and the system would not fill up so we had to use the kettle to fill it up even after reporting the problem to them it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monkfrederick
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mr Monk and thank You for your review. Disappointed you didn't mention the phone call I made to You personally Mr Monk to apologise regarding your toilet. As we discussed in length I take 100% responsibility when things go right in my business and I also take 100% responsibility when they dont go so right. Unfortunately on this occasion...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We stayed for one night at the Farmers Boy Inn before going to Cheltenham. The bed was very comfortable, food was very good, both evening meal and a good choice for breakfast. Room was warm and clean although perhaps a little small but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazpom
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your excellent review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay over the Cheltenham Races. I look forward to seeing you guys again very soon at the Award Winning Farmers Boy Inn. Thank You Phil Kiernan MD

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The warmest of welcomes capped a wonderful stay with good food and a comfortable room. We stayed at the Farmers Boy because we had booked a brewery tour in Mitcheldean and it looked the best and nicest place to stay. We were worried how we were to get from the pub/Inn to the brewery and back. But we need not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence L
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Laurence, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again! Many Thanks Phil Kiernan

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived after running a half marathon and we all were starving. It took 30 mins just to get our drinks and they never did bring glasses for the water. It took a further 30 mins to get half our pre main nibbles (the others came with the main) main took another 20 mins so a total of 1hr 20mins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Julia, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I can confirm on Sunday we were short staffed with 2 very late staff cancellations which did affect the teams speed of service, for this I can only apologise. In regards to your pie you may have...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Each year we stop at the farmersboy for the gold cup , i have to say each year the service is excellent , the food is good, for example we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one morning and another morning we had a full English, all the ingredients are locally sourced where possible .we had a perfectly cooked rib...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caswell86
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm pleased you both enjoyed another great stay with us, you are most definitely one of the family now! Looking forward to Cheltenham Festival 2018! Many Thanks Phil Kiernan

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We stayed 3 nights in the Farmers Boy Inn for Cheltenham Festival races and have to say we had an excellent stay. The room was spotless and very cosy and the staff could not do enough for us. The crowning glory of the Farmers Boy is the food. From breakfast to dinner the meals were of a very high standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankD1963
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Frank, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to see you both again! Looking forward to Cheltenham Festival 2018 now! Many Thanks Phil Kiernan

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We travelled two and a half hours as we live in Grayshott. It was a b&b gift for my 70th. With it being pie week The Farmers Boy was the perfect choice. ANYTHING BUT. We booked the restaurant for 7.30 and ordered at 7.45. 2 pies one being pie of the day. Without going into detail it was a disaster...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your experience with us, with regards to your evening meal as I'm sure you can understand accidents do happen and are sometimes unavoidable, I believe if the situation had been handled better on the first instance you didn't receive your pies with a...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This looked like a reasonable place for meal after we visited for a drink and to check the menu. However, we were a little disappointed with our meal. There were 7 of us.The food which was average was served on cold plates. This is not the way to serve hot food. The vegetables were lukewarm and had to be reheated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _mbatie
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us, there are definitely no excuses for food not to be served on Hot Plates or Vegetables to be sent out Lukewarm, since reading your review I have called a team meeting to discuss the scenario and ensure this...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Lovely welcome - Phil and staff were very attentive without being overbearing. Very reasonably priced rooms considering the incredible location. Food in the pub was very tasty indeed though pricing is probably towards the top end of what I'd expect to pay. Pub itself was very nice, lots of choice. The rooms - well, we were told ours was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
PhilKiernan, Owner at The Farmers Boy Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I've had one of the team check the heating times too so it'll be more comfortable in the night. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Phil Kiernan

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhope
10.4 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
674 reviews
16.5 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
9.8 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
517 reviews
8.8 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
360 reviews
23.1 km away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we love food. Not just for what it is, but for the experience that accompanies it. Homely surroundings, great company and conversation,attentive waiters, who become friends and of course fine wines from around the world. After a evening of gastro food delights, gourmet pies and laughter infront of the open fire retire to our courtyard of boutique individually designed rooms and drift off, to wake up to the sounds, sights and smells of the idyllic gloucestershire countryside. Followed of course by a hearty breakfast and maybe a stroll up the majestic May Hill ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Farmers Boy Inn

Address: Ross Road | Longhope, Forest of Dean, Longhope GL17 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Longhope
Price Range: $107 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Boy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Farmers Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Boy Hotel Longhope
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Farmers Boy Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Farmers Boy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms are a bit like Butlins in the seventies.not very big and a bit noisy”
monkfrederick, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay overnight, we only had meal here”
_mbatie, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in a quiet little courtyard, with outside furniture ! Very private!”
carolwain1, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i am biased i like room 5 but all rooms are great, warm and clean”
carolj981, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“give them a try”
neat61, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5