We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ndlovu Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hlane Royal National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Ndlovu Camp
 Click to rate
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A real bush experience but with some home comforts. If you are looking for hot rocks and massage then I suggest you go elsewhere. This is a Rest Camp in developing country that gets you close to nature, safely. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. There's no electricity so the hurricane lamps (and the paraffin fridge) add to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23DaveG
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

With no electricity in my rondavel, Ndlovu Camp was authentic. But there was no escape from the heat - no air conditioner of course, not even a fan because there was no power. As I drove up, the temp was 34 degrees. Inside the rondavel it was at least 10 degrees hotter and the heat stayed all night. I got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmK6021UT
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry the heat was so unbearable! No electricity does mean no fans or aircon. Luckily it was not a crazy hot day - Hlane can reach well over 40 degrees!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The accommodation at Ndlovu camp is very good - we stayed in No 1 Wisteria, one of a group of rondevals set amongst trees. There is no power, lighting is by paraffin lamps and candles so don't forget a torch and go with camera batteries fully charged. The whole camp is very peaceful. Food at the camp restaurant is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppyslane
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

A wonderful review, thank you!

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This place is poorly managed. The assistant manager Rudi should not be exposed to the public. The foolishness started at arrival. They clearly need money because they are constantly chipping away. The manager wanted to charge the taxi driver an entrance fee. The staff said he didn't have to pay, then once bullied by Rudi, he had to pay R30....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntieAnne22
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are saddened by your experience. Your comments are not the norm for Hlane at all! We have a Taxi Policy due to our historic experiences. The food is a matter of concern, especially when this is an area that has improved enormously under our current managers. Your check-in experience sounds like an unfortunate misunderstanding...

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome camp with nice staff The waterhole next to the camp allows sunrise and view on hippos, kudus and more wildlife We took a walking tour with well done explanations. Seeing lions and leopards is highly likely on their game drives The cleaning facilities were very good considering that at night there is no electricity. The bar offers everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

We love your review, thank you! Just a note for future readers ... lions are seen often, leopards seldom ;O)

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The good: The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is fully functional. The bad: little weaver birds start chirping at dawn, even before the sun rises The odd: there is no electricity so light comes from candles and oil lamps - and this is wonderfully relaxing and a perfect chance to go un-digital and read / catch up on sleep /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMTL
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

What a fabulous review - thank you! We look forward to your return!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Despite having been to hundreds of big game lodges across SA, this one sticks out... not because of great game (it was limited, despite 6 rhinos!), but because it was so friendly and straightforward. The rondavels ('rooms') have everything you want... a bed, bathroom and basic kitchen with braai (BBQ) space outside. There is a central restaurant that will sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProjectOverland
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your super review! Glad we could make your special honeymoon even more so.

Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Enjoyed the camping here and good location overlooking the water hole! The park is ok for self driving and saw a fair amount of wildlife, unfortunately the lions are in a different area only accessed by the park guided drives. Good camp and free firewood that is provided, definitely would recommend as a stop through Swaziland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luke5_007
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review an recommendation! The lions are in a large separate high security area for management reasons, their familiarity with humans and the potential conflict should they escape into rural areas. Our parks in Swaziland are small (Swaziland itself is smaller than Kruger National Park!) and generally surrounded by rural settlements with livestock - a recipe...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Saw hippos and rhinos here. Very special: two days no electricity. The staff organized a lot of oil lamps, at your way to your home and watch in your home. Did a nice MTB trip and a visit to local people. The food in the restaurant is good and the view to the lake amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review, lovely that you enjoyed Hlane!

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed here one night, as Swaziland was just a short stop over for us. Oooh how we wished we could have stayed longer! You enter the Hlane Royal National Park and Ndlovu Camp is right there...there is an amazing waterhole with hippos, crocs, birds, warthogs,...you can just sit there and watch the sun go down with a Savannah Dry!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina T
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Ndlovu Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic recommendations! Lovely to hear you enjoyed Hlane's special atmosphere

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hlane Royal National Park
0.0 km away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
0.0 km away
Shewula Mountain Camp
Shewula Mountain Camp
#2 of 4 in Hlane Royal National Park
31 reviews
6.9 km away
Simunye Country Club
Simunye Country Club
#1 of 1 in Simunye
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ndlovu Camp

Address: Hlane Royal National Park, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Lubombo District > Hlane Royal National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ndlovu Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ndlovu Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can camp, backpack or rondawel.”
 of 5 bubbles 23DaveG, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not arrive late”
 of 5 bubbles ianmK6021UT, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Skip the overnight stay. Go for the day--8:30am or ther 1:30pm game drive, then leave.”
 of 5 bubbles AuntieAnne22, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs if you don't like the sound birds at dawn.”
 of 5 bubbles JimmyMTL, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Big Hut!”
 of 5 bubbles 434tinat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5