We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We used the Strand Hotel as a base to tour Inishowen. First impressions last they say, well our arrival was all matter of fact, no pleasantries, we were just processed and moved on, no orientation given. Upon reaching our room, the door needed a good shove to open (it remained obstinate throughout our stay). We had a great view....of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPBSW
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments about your arrival have been noted. We are disappointed that we were not afforded the opportunity to fix that door while you were with us. Some of our rooms have better views than others. If we had known that this was an issue for you we would have tried our best to allocate...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This was a last minute trip to Donegal. We had never stayed in Ballyliffen or The Strand before. The area is beautiful with a beach 5 minutes away. The people are lovely and could not do enough for us. We definitely preferred this area of Donegal and would come back again. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Inishowen is a very special part of Donegal and The Strand Hotel in perfectly located for exploring The Wild Atlantic Way. Pollan Beach is on our doorstep and we are lucky to have such wonderful views from the Hotel all of which can be enjoyed while having breakfast. Thanks...

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed here to attend a party in the village. The staff were lovely. The bedroom was clean and modern. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was excellent . The view from the restaurant windows was absolutely spectacular and breakfast was of that fast disappearing kind ie. cooked to order and not cooling. For once my poached eggs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EileenBM
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that review. We have just posted that view on our Facebook page this morning. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Belfast
Reviewed 30 June 2015

My wife and I stayed here on a short break. On arrival we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel which we didnt like. We asked for a change and were immediately accomodated with a nice bright room at the front. It was clean and tidy. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelfastmickeyB
StrandBallyliffin, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We do our very best to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay at The Strand Hotel and when given the opportunity we can resolve any issues that guests may have while here. Thank you.

Reviewed 28 June 2015

I totally understand that Father's Day is a very busy day in the hospitality business but that should be no excuse for what greeted me in this hotel. The carvery lunch looked no better than a school/work canteen with long queues of people. Poor seating arrangement and rude staff made me walk out with a promise of never to return....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skenn
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit on Fathers Day. Obviously we are disappointed to hear such negative remarks which are contrary to the majority of our reviews on Trip Advisor. We were exceptionally busy on Fathers Day and we are not happy that we were unable to maintain our usual standards. We started the...

Reviewed 26 June 2015

Love this hotel. Go here on a weekly basis for food and its my favorite hotel to stay in too. Its in a beautiful area and the beach next to it is amazing. The rooms are lovely and clean and the staff are gems too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frequentexplorer86
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying with us. We are ideally located for the beach and to explore the rest of Inishowen and The Wild Atlantic Way. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 24 June 2015

This hotel was great value. The staff could not have been more helpful. The location was superb for visiting surrounding sights. The room was large and spotless. The food was superb. We had the set dinner on night one and had difficulty getting up from the table, we were so well fed. We had bar food on night two and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shamo1503
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We do our very best to ensure that guests have a relaxing stay while here. We offer great value both for accommodation and food and are ideally located for guests to explore Inishowen and The Wild Atlantic Way. We also do our best to source our ingredients locally so...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 June 2015

All staff well trained very friendly and willing to help. Bar food was good and great value. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, fresh towels daily and lovely hot powerful shower. Breakfast consisted of fresh juice, fruit, cereals & cooked breakfast. All in all a lovely place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerriFisher
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

I'm not going to go too hard on this place simply because I understand how difficult it must be to maintain a hotel of this size in rural Ireland. The first thing I noticed was the lack of welcome. The first thing I receptionist said to me when I asked to check in was no "hello, how may I help...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stenkenbaum
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. You are correct in highlighting the difficulty in keeping a large rural hotel open during the recent downturn in the economy and The Strand Hotel was one of very few local hotels to stay open 363 days of the year. In saying that...

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

I was here for a friend's wedding held at the Ballyliffin Lodge which was just across the road. The hotel rate at the Strand was very affordable 110 euros for 2 nights and even includes breakfast. Room was large and had everything I needed... maybe a pair of slippers would be an extra perk. The reception folks were really helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thepastrysurgeon
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Strand Hotel. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed the couple of days with us. We offer great value and do our utmost to ensure that we look after the needs of all of our guests. The incident at the door thankfully was a...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
335 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
782 reviews
21.9 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,734 reviews
8.5 km away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: $124 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find out where the family rooms are and get as far away as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Biawatch, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with views of Pollan beach”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdF5858VT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay as hotel was full when we tried to book. Good sign.”
 of 5 bubbles 827frankd, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the car park and above the main entrance, as these get a bit noisy late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles marting971, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at back with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jant873, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay