We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4-10-16, Sakae, Naka, Nagoya 460-0008 Aichi Prefecture
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$78
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (233)
Room & Suite (137)
Dining (76)

About

#9 of 25 hotels in Sakae
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Nagoya, APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its proximity to great restaurants and attractions, APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae makes it easy to enjoy the best of Nagoya.

Rooms at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk, newspaper, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Nunoike Catholic Church (0.7 mi) and Cultural Path Futaba Museum (0.9 mi) make APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae a great place to stay when visiting Nagoya.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the wine bars, including Antica Roma, La Chiave, and The Meat Angus Sakae, all of which are a short distance from APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Osu Shopping Street (0.9 mi), Nagoya City Science Museum (0.7 mi), and Nagoya TV Tower (0.4 mi), which are some popular Nagoya attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae is sure to make your visit to Nagoya one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Taxi service
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Open-air bath
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
347Reviews6Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 163
  • 99
  • 24
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sylliana wrote a review Jul 2020
Belgium170 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights to visit Nagoya. - location: good acces from Nagoya station with the subway (Higashiyama line). Close to the well known spaceship-Aqua. - Room: our room was small, but this is normal with APA budget hotels. - service: The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We were here just at the start of Typhoon Hagibis and there was not a lot of staff but they did inform everyone at the hotel when there would be staff and what to do during the typhoon. We left early to Kyoto to avoid Hagibis, so we are sad to say we didn't get to experience the hotel as we wanted. Overall good budget hotel with a good location in the center of Nagoya.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AH名古屋栄 宿泊, オーナー at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 8 Sep 2020
Thank you for your staying with us, APA HOTEL〈NAGOYA-SAKAE〉. We are pleased to receive your compliment. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy Nagoya so much because of the typhoon. When you come to Japan again, please enjoy Nagoya's famous sights and Nagoya specialties(Misonikomi, Misokatsu, kishimen and so on). If you have any problems during your stay, please feel free to contact the front desk. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Nagoya. Thank you. Receptionist Ando
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GORDON O wrote a review Nov 2018
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom84 contributions67 helpful votes
A nice welcome, and a very clean room. Staying for four days mixing business with pleasure. Room was not made up after first day, returned to find bed had not been made, only towels changed, no top up of coffee. Requested temperature in room to be lowered and unable to adjust in room. first occasion staff changed, but still too hot, when asked again, they said that its a common temperature throughout hotel, and please open window....................... Ideally located for Nagoya Castle
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
30carat wrote a review Apr 2018
Australia280 contributions227 helpful votes
An advertised attraction is a common bath on the 15th floor. Rather than spending time with naked men in the bath I would have preferred to have a room that accommodates two suitcases and which leave more than a square metre of living space for the occupants. Architects of these hotels must also design seating for economy flights - small is beautiful. If the same architects were to actually stay in these hotels they may realize how much human comfort is sacrificed for the sake of economy. The beds were very soft and unsuitable for those requiring back support. The irony was the 6500Y massage option which would be needed after a night sleep in these beds. The pillows ranged from the sublime - 3 cm thick - to the ridiculous mischievously described 'fluffy' pillows which resembled soccer balls made of plasticine. A tiny table in the corner had a kettle without a nearby power point. The bathroom was vey new and clean but it could only fit half a bath. The main attraction is the comparatively low tariff as long as you do not mind the claustrophia of staying in what is no bigger than a ships's cabin.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, フロント担当 at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 23 Apr 2018
Thank you for staying our hotel this time As you said,We have a pablic bath on the 15th floor.It opens AM6:00~AM10:00 and PM5:00~AM2:00 everyday. Could you relax ? If you like it,please enjoy next time too, If you have a chance to come to Nagoya,please come to our hotel again Clark Kishida
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RPRJ wrote a review Mar 2018
Sutherland Shire, Australia119 contributions48 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group. We went out looking for dinner and found the area around the hotel a bit sleazy & a little too close to the night life. I felt a little uncomfortable and would not have liked to be on my own. The rooms are very small, but they were clean and comfortable. Staff English was not good, breakfast was included and was good value.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, Frontdesk at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 30 Mar 2018
Thank you for your staying our hotel. Our hotel is located at downtown area, so I wish you enjoyed Sakae area. Our hotel room is constructed conpact. We appreciate your understanding. We are looking forwards to seeing you again. Thank you very much, sir. Clark Yoshikawa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garbs1209 wrote a review Dec 2017
Philippines10 contributions15 helpful votes
The only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to sakae and the sites. They have poor service in this hotel if you're not caucasian. The person in the reception was not warm and welcoming when I was the one in front of her. However, when my friend took my place, the receptionist suddenly was very accommodating. We decided to cancel our booking (good thing they didn't charge us) and we found a better hotel to stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stevelamb7777 wrote a review Nov 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand60 contributions40 helpful votes
the APA hotel chain has always provided clean good value accommodation when I am in Japan .The staff and hotel were fine , the room was small but comfortable and clean , the spa was good and the breakfast was ok . The noise from the nightclub area it is in the middle of however, went on till 5am was very annoying , the area was a little sleazy by Japanese standards .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: get a room away from the street , very noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, フロント 吉川 at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 16 Nov 2017
Thank you for your staying and comment to our hotel. If you come to Nagoya again, please stay our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Area21a wrote a review Sep 2017
Canberra, Australia50 contributions21 helpful votes
This is a comfortable hotel with all the amenities one might expect from well-known chain of hotels. It is located close to Sakai subway station, restaurants and shops. Service was very good although not all reception staff understood English. Breakast was not included in the tariff but was good value with wide range of food, Japanese and Western. My one criticism was the size of the bedroom. It was the smallest I have encountered during several visits to Japan. My wife and I stayed five nights and found that one needs good humour and a sense of the ridiculous to handle it. I guess that is what travelling is all about.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Unsuitable for over weight guests.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your staying and comment to our hotel. If you come to Nagoya again, please stay our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yoann L wrote a review May 2017
Boston, Massachusetts15 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are small but normal for Japan standard. The big plus is the Onsen on the roof, it's so good after a busy day to just relax in it. There is a part inside and one outside. It's in the middle of a animated neighborhood, lot of good places for food.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 2 Jun 2017
Thank you for your staying and comment to our hotel. If you come to Nagoya again, please stay our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joyce H wrote a review Sep 2016
Toronto, Canada19 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked a semi-double room for 1 night, 2 adults. We drove to the hotel, arrived on Friday night around 11pm, and realized this hotel is located in the heart of the night club area. The hotel parking was full, and got directed to the park down the street. The personnel at the hotel parking was very nice, he ran and show us where to park. It was a 5 mins walk from the hotel cost around $10 CAD per night. We managed to drag our luggage s and walk through the crowds on the street. Didn't feel safe cuz you can tell people standing on the street were looking for business, guys and women. The hotel lobby reminds me of the 80's. The room was very small, I am a bit disappointed as I did pay a bit more for the double room. Carpet was dirty, and I can smell the cigarettes even I asked for the non-smoking room. The location of the hotel was great. 10 mins walking distance to Mastuzake, and other famous department shop. 5 mins walk will take you the famous Nagoya coffee chain store. Be careful if you head out early in the morning especially after the weekend. That was the dirtiest street i have seen in Japan. My overall experience with this hotel is disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: pick a newer hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, reception at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 1 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit to “APA hotel Nagoya Sakae”. First of all, we apologize that you felt disappointed your stay especially that room’s carpet was dirty and you smelt cigarettes in non- smoking room. We should have checked the room beforehand. We will cooperate with house-keeping company tightly. Our hotel is located at the center of the city, so there are a lot of hot spots around our hotel and also you can go to Sakae subway station and shopping area easily. We are pleased that you praised our hotel parking staff. Every staff will improve service together. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. <APA HOTEL NAGOYA SAKAE> Clerk Umezu
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoraLochiel wrote a review Jul 2016
Stirling, United Kingdom63 contributions33 helpful votes
This was my first experience staying at an APA hotel. We booked into it (and several other APAs during this trip) because it has an onsen. The first thing I noticed was that the bed was really soft, in the 'bad' way. The mattress was clearly old and therefore not very comfortable. (At a later APA, I also had a soft mattress but that one was firm, clearly new but with a topper. There's a difference.) This hotel really needs to upgrade its beds. Apart from that everything was fine: room a decent size, free wifi and LAN, air conditioning etc. They have a scheme whereby they don't change your sheets every day for environmental reasons, but give you a free bottle of water instead. I liked that. The onsen was okay, but the outdoor part of that is very small, just two small tubs. Did the business, though. I won't stay there again because of the bad mattresses (my friends had the same issue) but generally it's a decent place, and well connected by subway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask if they have beds with new mattresses.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from アパホテル名古屋栄, front staff at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Responded 30 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit to “APA hotel Nagoya Sakae”. First of all, we apologize that you felt uncomfortable in your stay, especially with the bed. We use “Cloud fit bed” which makes you feel sleep on cloud. If you feel uncomfortable, we will support as much as possible. We carry out “Eco-Friendly Housekeeping”. That is we do not usually change your duvet covers, sheets and pillowcases. However, if you corporate with this eco-action, we will provide a bottle of mineral water per day. If you want to change the linen, please contact the front desk. The bed linen will be replaced with new linen every fourth day of your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. <APA HOTEL NAGOYA SAKAE> Clerk Umezu
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanChubuTokaiAichi PrefectureNagoyaNakaSakae
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APA HOTEL NAGOYA SAKAE: See 28 Reviews, Price Comparison and 377 Photos (Japan) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae
Which popular attractions are close to APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Nearby attractions include Oasis 21 (0.4 km), Aichi Arts Theater (0.4 km), and Lachic (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hitsumabushi Nagoya Bincho Lachic Location, Ramuchii, and Yabaton Mitsukoshi Lachic.
Is APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sakae.
Are any cleaning services offered at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to APA Hotel Nagoya Sakae?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nagoya Castle Hommarugoten (2.2 km), Nagoya Castle (2.2 km), and Cultural Path Futaba Museum (1.5 km).