We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Laxnes

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,016 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 959: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fab little hotel. Great location out of the city. Full of character with a warm and friendly atmosphere. On a direct bus route into the city. All Staff great friendly and helpful. Shaun manager was great with advice booking excursions. Arranged a fantastic day out in super jeep with Ari. One of our party is a wheelchair user and Shaun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay there at hotel Laxnes. Very warm and good rooms and slept very good, no noise nor disturbances. I was able to see northern lights just outside my window and looking over the mountain Esja. We could watch the football game from the big screen tv from the bar and the staff were very kind and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ha150613
Midlands England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved staying at the Laxnes. Our rooms were upgraded and looked over the mountains which was brilliant. The hotel is very warm and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast of cheese, ham and eggs followed by 'make your own waffles' which were delicious. The bus (stop just outside) ran frequently into Reykjavik. We loved our 3 days in Iceland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whels
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Absolutely loved this hotel, it was exactly what we were looking for - clean room with ensuite & 4 beds as we had our 3 & 5 year olds with us. Breakfast was excellent, especially the waffles - a big hit with our children & us!! The hot tub was an extra special bonus although it got too hot one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank finnifeet
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This hotel is very easy to find from the airport. The rooms were very basic, however ours did have tea and coffee (but no milk). The beds were reasonably comfy but the pillows a bit squashy. It's a bit tired and in need of some TLC. I noticed some of the sheets had holes in them, and in our bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sde23sde
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and can not fault this hotel. The staff here are so helpful and will always have time to help you. In the evenings we stayed in the bar and had a few drinks and played chess with out son. Even the bar staff played him which he enjoyed. We was lucky enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJB2009
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Hotel way out of Reykjavik, £40 to get into City Centre !! Told by travel agent that there was several restaurants in vicinity, there was 1 a Sports Bar but you might include KFC, Dominos, a burger bar & a kebab shop as more !! Hotel is something like the 70's Crossroads Motel it is NOT a hotel !! Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowy067
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

Thanks for your second review and hope its the last one as your comments are very damaging . Gbp40 by taxi yes but only Isk440 by public bus whoch run every 30 minutes into Reykjavik .The hot water also smells of sulphur which does smell at times.I would also appreciate an email directly to us at our Hotel so we...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very disappointed on arrival, for what we paid felt really disappointed. Rooms are VERY VERY basic, was like going back in time to the early 80's, furniture poor. One of the rooms smelt of sewage, had daily bleaching of drains. Rooms were very clean though. No food served lunch times or evening, you are ok if you like fast food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sotongirl2017
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

It would have been good to hear that you were unhappy when you arrived so we could have changed room or even moved you to another hotel while you were still here. Most clients are staying at our Hotel for the Mountain view and the chance to see the Northern Lights and use of the hot tub and walking trails...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2017

What made our stay most enjoyable was Shaun's professional yet candid personal advice that he afforded to us as if he was our personal tour guide. In addition, as hotel manager he was most accommodating in many ways. Shaun's dual capacity roles were demonstrated in the following situations: 1) all emails to Shaun were promptly responded to with informative details,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sylviajohn2017
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Quirky Hotel on the outskirts of Reykjavik but with a bus stop into town right outside which takes 20 minutes. Great little find and was very comfortable for our last 2 nights in Iceland. Our rooms were massive and very warm, comfy beds and lovely showers. Good enough selection for breakfast to set you up for the day, especially love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chompies2013

785 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (539)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Large Double Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,428 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: $214 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a family room though we were a couple, it was plenty big enough, only basic furniture but comfortable beds.”
 of 5 bubbles paxosh, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for veiws of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles amsterdamers, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles sarah021, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother !”
 of 5 bubbles snowy067, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have great views of the Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles Chompies2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5