We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp

Agoda.comUS$373*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$415*
US$373*
Great Deal
US$415*
US$410*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We have stayed in tents at other game parks before. The tents here are not the same as the photos on the brochure. There was no information that the tent had no 240 volt power or air conditioning. when we arrived we had no hot water. The shower water tricked out of the tap and then stopped then restarted. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Wow! There is so much negativity in your Review that it’s difficult to know where to begin! I would however like to start with a sincere apology to you & your friends, in the next tent, for the frustration & inconvenience you suffered with the water situation you unfortunately encountered. It is of great concern to us that you think...

Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at river camp with the guide Chris and I can't complain about anything. They do that little extra and have a genuine passion for the animals and what they do! Wonderful tents that is more like a hotel room, very comfortable. We saw all the big five except for the leopard. Only thing was that the lions are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings Julia - we're happy to hear that you enjoyed sharing the magic of Sibuya with Chris & hope you made memories to treasure forever! As 'Sibuya' means, 'We will return!' ...we look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes for a 2015 filled with happiness & adventure.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We booked 3 out of the 4 tents for the river camp for three nights and we had a wonderful experience. We did 5 game drives and one walk and saw everything was wanted to. We had Chris (the head ranger) as our guide and he was amazing. He answered all of our questions (which got pretty tedious at times)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bex211
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings bex211 to you & your family! We really love Reviews such as yours... your comments are just rewards for our efforts to make your 'Sibuya Experience' a notable memory & adventure to treasure always! Chris is a memorable host as he's fun, intelligent & knowledgeable about many things & in particular, about Nature...loving to share his passion for boundless...

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Sibuya is an incredible location and beautifully organised. Our excellent ranger, Dylan made sure our every need was catered for. We stayed at Forest Camp for four nights over Christmas. A very special and happy time was had by all the family. We can't recommend Sibuya enough.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HenryJ001
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings HenryJ001 to you & your family! Thank you for the great review! Dylan will be over the moon as it's his first one since he started with us at Sibuya as an intern Ranger during December. It's great news to hear that you enjoyed him & had a happy time making memories to share for a life-time. I'll pass...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We went for a day trip @R600 pp, and were also keen on checking the camp out for future stays. The guides were friendly, the location was great, and the tents look excellent. Loved the walk ways. Quite a bit of care has been put into making this camp. The only problem was that we found the food to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MatthewBuckland
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Hi Matthew - thank you for the positives in your review- we always value input from our guests as we're passionate about giving everyone the best possible Sibuya experience in our quest for excellence. As a result I feel that I should point out a couple of things to you & also for the benefit of those who will read...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

After almost a month of travelling we were really looking forward to our Safari adventure at Sibuya. We can both say that our 3 nights there not only met our expectations, but far far surpassed them. The hospitality was magnificent, Debbie and her team in the River Camp were welcoming, helpful and friendly, and we wanted for nothing. Our Ranger,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings to you Mr & Mrs Patrick S! As we're passionate about what we do, we're delighted that your expectations of the trip to Sibuya were fulfilled & surpassed...we love to hear such praises...thank you! I'll pass on your great review to Daniel, Debby & the rest of the River Camp team & to Rosanne & her ladies in Catering...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Last year we stayed for 2 nights in forest camp. Such a unique setting on the river! During the day enjoyed canoeing on the river and fishing by the jetty. Game drives morning and night were so special. This year during our stay in Kenton we just did a day trip to Sibuya. This is well worth doing if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison479
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings Alison479 to you & the family! We're delighted that you had such a lovely Day Trip to Sibuya & are honoured to have welcomed you back again! Thank you for your continued support...it's much appreciated! It's music to our ears when our guests enjoy the diversity of activities on offer here, as they then have a well-rounded adventure...so much...

London uk
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Right the place is amazing, and scanning through other reviews you will quickly realise why. I loved my stay for many of the same reasons. To not just repeat all the positives I will point some stuff out that i didn't know before we booked: realistically at Sibuya you won’t see leopards, you will not see hyenas, or even wild...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SplitSplat
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Greetings SplitSplat Great that you loved your stay with us at Sibuya! I will pass on your review to the Team - they'll be delighted as they love hearing that their efforts are appreciated....thank you! Just a little additional info to share with you... River & Forest Camps aren't identical...River is much smaller with only 8 beds while Forest has18....&...

Grahamstown
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Our company opted for the day package as our end of year function. Charlene was great at handling our big group's arrangements during the booking. Once we arrived Chris and Andrew were fantastic guides, making sure to point out all the birds and other interests. We had a wonderful game drive followed by a delicious lunch. The vegetarians were well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Hello again TaraM! Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review...we appreciate the support & our wonderful team love to hear that their efforts are appreciated...so many thanks to you again! We hope to welcome you & your group back to our wonderful piece of paradise! Please pass on our best wishes to them all.

Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 December 2014

As local South Africans, we were suitably impressed with our stay at Sibuya. We have been to many game parks in the country and were skeptical after having been spoilt by our visits up country. We were pleasantly surprised by the game, the beautiful terrain and the overall experience of staying at Sibuya. The staff were friendly and efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenniksch
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp, responded to this review

Hello again Jenniksch! Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor too...we really appreciate your support! We're delighted that we exceeded your expectations & that you appreciated the wonderful diverse ambience of bush & Estuary...we feel that it's a winning combination! I will pass on your kind words to the Forest Camp team,Thank you!. Please convey our best wishes to your guests...we...

267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
2:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (178)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
14.3 km away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
216 reviews
31.2 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
21.1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Kariega Game Reserve
Kariega Game Reserve
#1 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
1,454 reviews
0.0 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve-Forest Camp
#4 of 9 in Kenton-on-Sea
34 reviews
12.8 km away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a half-hour boat transfer to River/Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced professionals. An abundance of wildlife from elephants to otters, Big Five, cheetah breeding program and prolific bird life await you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp

Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $603 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All Tents have views over the river.”
GerryHertfordshire, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some lodge rooms are further to walk to than others. If not able to walk far, ask for room nearer the main lodge, but will drive you.”
suee75, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 at the River Lodge was superb”
IrishDonamici, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are identical, some closer to the main lodge, no TV or WIFI”
vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rather to choose cooler months to visit.”
Ellehi, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$373* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$415
Expedia.comUS$410
TravelocityUS$415
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates