We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grande Denali Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grande Denali Lodge
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grande Denali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 682: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Simply viewing the hotel from town was a treat - high up on the mountain! The switchback road leading to the hotel is crazy (be sure to take pics of those silly signs!) and our check in process was super smooth. Jeremy at the front desk explained the shuttles and how to get around-nice! Don't bother getting a room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChileDog15
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ChiliDog15, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to compliment Jeremy. He does a wonderful job. I do apologize for not having a view room for you but am pleased that the front desk went out of their way to make it up to you! You are correct, there are views all around you! I am sorry... More 

Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Our stay in this hotel was part of a land, "add-on" to an Alaskan cruise we took with Regent Cruise Lines. Since my husband and I were were touring and exploring most of the day, we didn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping at night. The rooms are very basic, but clean - nothing fancy. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Valarie E
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valarie E, thank you for staying with us - I am trying to figure out what the noise could have been. The National Park does have tours that start picking up guests as early at 5:15 and they drop off late in the evening and our complimentary shuttle does drop off and pick up people from 5am to 10:30pm... More 

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Most of the rooms don't get a view as there is a block of rooms at the front. The room was basic and not as good as thought it would be. Reception, lounges, etc are in a separate building which has a wrap around verandah with fantastic views. The "impressionist" aka concierge was so helpful in confirming trips. Hotel sent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert D, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for complimenting our staff. We do have rooms on the "canyon" side of the hotel that are not considered "view rooms" because they don't have an unobstructed view. I think you may have been in one of these rooms. Dee Dee More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We stayed here for two nights as we were booked on a tour of Denali National Park, and were very disappointed with the hotel in general. It is an old style property with magnificient views over the valley from the dining and bar area and if you were lucky enough to score a room at the front. However if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Chris S, first of all thanks for staying with us - I am sorry you didn't enjoy your room. We have two sides to the hotel - one has a view of the canyon and one has a view of Sugarloaf Mountain and the parking lot. As for the breakfast, I am a bit puzzled as we do offer... More 

Travellers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

What a place to launch your adventures from. Many tours of Denali NP, fishing, float trips... The bar was great and the breakfasts were good and expensive. The dining room turned out some great food. All of the employees seemed to enjoy their work which made them great people to deal with. They began Christmas celebrations in the last week... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bag69
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bag69, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and I am so pleased that you were able to celebrate "Christmas" with us - we do have a great staff! The tradition is that all National Parks celebrate Christmas on August 25th! You may want to make sure you plan your next trip to a National... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We were here as part of a pre-cruise land tour. As the property is situated on a spectacular bluff we expected a view from our room but unfortunately it overlooked the parking lot. Not sure why the property would be constructed in this way. Views from the dining room, however, were spectacular. Be sure to notice the hilarious signs on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BettyB3928
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear BettyB3928, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you didn't have a room with a view of the canyon. Most hotels have rooms on both sides of the hallway and since we are on the side of a mountain there was really no other way to build. I am... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I booked this hotel in January and we have been so excited to get here. We were so disappointed. $349/night to have a hotel bus/van parked right next to our window. I very nicely asked the man at the front desk if there were other rooms and I basically got a take it or leave it attitude. I was expecting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank patj0hn
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear patj0hn, I am so very sorry that you did not have a room on the view side of our hotel. Were you offered a view room when you made your reservation? If not, I would like to know if you booked directly with us or with another company. I am also sorry for how the front desk handled your... More 

Ennetbuergen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

To expensive and no access with the car to the cabins. We are not happy. We complained about the dirty filter yesterday but nothing happens. We can not recommend this lodge. For access to the cabin you have to walk on a dirty road or ask for transportation.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rudolfrandy
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rudolfrandy, I do apologize for the dirty ventilator - we have taken care of the problem. As you know, we are not near a town so getting replacement parts does take a day or so at times. We have had quite a few windy days and I suspect the dust from these windy days may have impacted our inventory... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We paid for a deluxe cabin and were 1 of 6 cabins in front of the parking lot rather than the river. On top of it a bus was parked right outside of our room. Save your $400 a night and go else where. Inside of the room was nice. No fridge and limited towels.

Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, I am a bit confused - all of our cabins have refrigerators and microwaves - they are all located away from any busses (2 are near the deck of our main lodge with a view looking towards the river) and the other (4) are located down a pathway but we are high up on a bluff and... More 

Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Spent a few nights in this beautiful lodge. Great views from the main lodge, friendly, helpful staff. Fabulous bartender and great food! Wonderful shuttle bus to town. Convenient to everything! A perfect place to enjoy your visit in this special, not to be missed place in Alaska!

Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eileen B, thank for so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff does a GREAT job - our food is wonderful and the view is spectacular! Come stay with us again! Dee Dee More 

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
1.0 km away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
970 reviews
106.1 km away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
283 reviews
0.2 km away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
335 reviews
20.0 km away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
604 reviews
0.7 km away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Offering more than comfortable accommodations, you'll have a truly Alaskan experience! Proudly Alaska native owned and operated by Old Harbor Native Corporation, our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali.We offer a savory dining experience at Alpenglow Restaurant. Serving traditional Alaskan fare in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grande Denali Lodge

Address: 238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $602 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Denali Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Grande Denali
Grand Denali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you stay here, which I am not supporting, stay in a cabin, that has hot and cold water.”
 of 5 bubbles 772allenb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to get your request.”
 of 5 bubbles ELM48NC, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a view of the valley. Otherwise an expensive view of a parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles CapeCodTravler, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest G102. Loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles Tipsgogo, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“make sure you get a room with a full view”
 of 5 bubbles davidtH4643FM, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay