We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Red Lion Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Red Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I was looking forward to this place, having heard it was a gastro pub type restaurant. Really under whelmed, food was verging on terrible, my meal was very burnt, others left theirs, no one had any compliments for the food. Wasn't worth complaining as they clearly wouldn't have cared. Not once did any staff ask if we wanted drinks, had... More 

Helpful?
Thank 564freckles564
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit the place due to business reason quite often and always enjoy my stays. The food is good, both for breakfast and dinner. The rooms are quite big but still cozy. I miss a little bit foreign tv channels and sometimes annoyed hearing my neighbours (walls..). But in total feeling here good and welcomed by the friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank TDEPL
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first visit to the Red Lion today and it won't be our last. Good selection of beers and the wine was delicious. Very attentive and helpful staff. Good food selection including a specials board. A little pricey but the food was delicious. Very attractive old pub with lots of quirky nooks and crannies. Very pleasant dining room.

Helpful?
Thank JudithAylott
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for a meal, having been a year since last visiting, seeing as we were in the area. The food was ok, but not particularly special - but at the higher price end so didn't feel was very good value for money. I had fish and chips (batter was over-done) but my partner said his steak was fine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahD2020
Preston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The Red Lion is a lovely old pub in the pretty conservation village of Hinxton. The rooms, set apart from the inn around a pleasant garden were peaceful and comfortable. The evening meal was ok-not outstanding-and the breakfast very basic. Overall I didn't think it was worth it for a one night stay-but maybe this is just my incredulous northern... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElainePreston
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Essentially, we thought the accommodation (in separate, fairly new buildings) was '4.5 stars' while the bar/restaurant was '3 stars' (indifferent ambience, only fair food quality). The rooms are well designed, with modern furniture, bathroom fittings, etc. Everything was very clean. The hotel was fairly quiet on the 2 days we were there. A nice feature was the dovecote outside our... More 

Helpful?
Thank HK_Sydney2013
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We recently stayed overnight with our two young children (aged 4 and 2). Overall, it is fine but we agree with the review below that it is overpriced for what it is. First, the rooms are ok but they are not the level you might expect for somewhere charging £150 per night. We had tried to get a family room,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
Alex C, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us with your family. I am glad you found us fine overall but sorry that you found us a little expensive for a family set up. There are a couple of clarifications that readers might find helpful: - our doubles are normally £125. Summer Saturdays are two night minimum, although this is sometimes waived for a... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We attended last night for my uncle's biker wedding reception. Lovely village pub with a great atmosphere. Food was delicious and very generous portions. Beautiful gardens with something for all ages. Would definitely book them for a function again :-)

Helpful?
Thank Shell_g6
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable but very lacking in comforts for the high price. A box of tissues should be standard? Had a cheese and tomato chutney sandwich in the bar for £6 and almost no cheese in it. The breakfast was disappointing. The bacon was so hard it must have been kept warm in oven. Coffee was terrible. Service from young... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan E
Alex C, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your visit. I am glad you found the rooms comfortable and the service polite and friendly, but sorry that you had a few issues. Not enough cheese and poor coffee both are unusual and both easily addressed if asked, but I appreciate you should not have to - apologies. We are in fact reviewing... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I have often passed this place and this time I stopped. I was not disappointed. It is not a standard pub, more like several buildings together and eating outside on the lawns is also very pleasant weather permitting. Due to the layout there are lots of areas to eat so even when it is busy it doesn't seem crowded. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger W

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinxton
1.8 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
274 reviews
2.5 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
164 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
11.6 km away
The Sheene Mill
The Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
224 reviews
1.9 km away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Multi-award winning (Freehouse, Gastro Food and Accommodation Pub of the Year finalist at The Publican Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed Freehouse in a tiny conservation village, sitting in a walled garden overlooked by a dovecote and the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Local Secrets top place to eat and drink in the south of Cambridge 2008 award, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub, Good Beer & Good Food Guides, "top 50 pub garden in the country") - oak raftered traditional dry peg construction. Eight new-build double ensuites, direct dial telephone, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub - The Black Bull. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 32 High Street, Hinxton CB10 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hinxton
Price Range: $241 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Hinxton Hotel Hinxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be OK; all are well away from roads, so they are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles HK_Sydney2013, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all detached away from main Red Lion”
 of 5 bubbles 689geoffb, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“It's first come, first served and they do vary in size a little so turn up early and ask for one of the larger ones!”
 of 5 bubbles Forgergirl, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant review only”
 of 5 bubbles Scooterboy6322, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Next to the Genome campus”
 of 5 bubbles lauramonje, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay