We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Dargan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Dargan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Dargan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,172: English reviews
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 8 April 2016

When we left Castle Dargan after our 3 day stay we were relaxed and renewed. We found the staff were very efficient, helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. We stayed in an apartment which was enormous and spotless clean it provided all the amenities. The food was excellent with quantity and quality. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm0wen
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stayed last week for one night. Receptionist was efficient and friendly, as was the lady we met the next day when checking out. She even recommended places to visit on our journey back home. Rooms were pristine and the bed was super comfy! Loved that the products were guaranteed Irish-have to support our own and they were gorgeous! Towels etc...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank auldnag a
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear auldnag a, Céad Míle Fáilte from the Yeats County and thank you sincerely for your kind words and glowing review of your recent stay with us here at Castle Dargan Resort. I am happy to read that our friendly reception team were so welcoming and helpful in their service to you. I am also glad that you noticed our...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We had a short stay here of only one night but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The mostly local staff were terrific. Nothing was too much bother. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Our room in the old house was spacious and spotless.The spa does lack a pool but otherwise it was good. The golf course has alot of potential but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Michael N, Thank you for your kind words and glowing review of your recent stay with us here at Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted to read that our hardworking staff made you feel welcome and were friendly and efficient in their service to you. In an industry as such filled with choice we truly feel that first class...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We had one night here and booked a family room. We were given a two bed annex which should have been great but on inspection was not. Once we could get into the room (dodgy door lock?) the smell of drains? was so strong we had to throw open the windows. Both rooms had double beds (not appropriate for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroline h
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear caroline h, I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues as outlined in your above review. Firstly I would like to apoligise if there were complications with the door lock - I'm sure you can understand that maintenance issues in an establishment such as ourselves will occur from time to time as such and I trust...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Got a trip to Castle dargan as a Birthday present, travelled here with my boyfriend and another couple and had an amazing 2 nights away. Castle Dargan is a lovely hotel with amazing views and a lovely golf course. We had breakfast both days and we can't complain as everything was satisfactory, the only thing I would of preferred was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Claire N, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We would like to thank you for your custom and it was our pleasure to be of service to you. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words regards your recent stay with us - We are delighted to...

Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We went to Castle Dargan Sligo and I have to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The food was excellent and great value for money. Rooms spotless and staff very pleasant. I could not fault it. I hope to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead S
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Sinead S, Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent Castle Dargan Resort experience. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be among the best you have ever visited. Your kind words are warmly received and please...

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

What a great time my wife and I had in this superb hotel. If it does have one downside, it can confuse your satnav and you get quite a scenic tour (!!) getting there. My wife and I arrived here on Easter Monday, we expected the hotel to be busy, but thankfully it was still rather quiet. We checked in,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reidy777
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Reidy777, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We would like to thank you for your custom and it was our pleasure to be of service to you. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words regards your recent stay with us - We are delighted to read...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Staff were so friendly and helpful in all departments. Special thanks to the reception ladies Edel, Chrissie and Emer for looking after me and making me feel so welcome. Food great and good choice at breakfast. Free range eggs used in food so as a vegetarian that was important to me. Breakfast used a menu to choose hot food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kmcgeeney
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Kmcgeeney, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We would like to thank you for your custom and it was our pleasure to be of service to you. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words regards your recent stay with us - We are delighted to read...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Poor standards of care were evident throughout our stay at this hotel. A lot of TLC is needed to bring this hotel up to a 4 star rating and I knew from previous reviews that it was not a castle but expected a bit more than staying in a poorly furnished apartment away from the main building. Reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank declan f
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear declan f, Thank you for review regards your recent stay with us here at Castle Dargan Resort. I am glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient and particularly found our reception team to be excellent. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences both for dinner and breakfast to...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Based on previous reviews I think we arrived in the wrong place. This was recommended and had good reviews. The hotel was busy so we couldnt get rooms so booked an apartment. The overnight was an engagement present for my niece - what a disappointment. The apartment was filthy. I wont list the problems but it was so bad we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xBoomerang
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Boomerang, I would like to take this opportunity if I may to address the issues out outlined in your above review. I do apologise that you were unhappy that there were no rooms in the hotel itself available when you were making your reservation however as you said the hotel is indeed very busy and early booking is essential...

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (305)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
8.7 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,538 reviews
6.7 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,015 reviews
12.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
299 reviews
12.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Price Range: $125 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Dargan staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Dargan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our apartment was lovely and spacious under floor heating in the bathroom fab”
 of 5 bubbles joanannes123, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid. If you want a lovely country stay find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 209reginaf, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely room overlooking golf course”
 of 5 bubbles Cavancouple2015, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view lovely quiet area!”
 of 5 bubbles NYFanDee, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for anywhere other than the ground floor just off reception”
 of 5 bubbles shaunad75, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5