We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a last minute visit from friends on Friday night and went to Kings Arms for supper . It didn't disappoint ! Friendly staff , delicious food , good vibe . It manages to find a balance in being a pub in a village and a restaurant , friendly but professional . I imagine you would be made welcome just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickie09
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two couples visited for an overnight away break. The Kings Arms is an excellent small hotel with willing and efficient staff, good food and extremely comfortable rooms. I have visited 126 public houses called "The Kings Arms" and this is the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence H
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stopped in for lunch as passing and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Good food and service. I had the roast beef ciabatta, my wife the ham & cheese toasty, food served very quickly and reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night room was clean and warm. We dined in the evening food was lovely the bread was delicious. Great wine list. Srevice seemed a little rushed maybe this was because it seemed to be a little over staffed. Nice art on the walls. We will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookhouse91
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome at reception but the lunch was disappointing. Roast was undercooked especially the potatoes which actually were hard and not roast at all. Burger had pink meat in it, freshly cut and not minced. When we queried this we were told that that was how the chef cooks it! Google says that a burger is a type of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sheila, I do apologise that you did not enjoy your lunch with us at The Kings Arms. Our burger is sold as a rump steak burger, where we do prefer to use a higher quality cut of meat than that found in minced beef, made to use the pate type burgers you have mentioned. As we use the rump...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We travelled for and hour and a half to the Kings Arms to take our son and friend out for dinner. Had relied heavily on TripAdvisor in selecting the venue. Proved spot on - a fabulous dinner and great atmosphere. Wife disappointed she hadn't been there for lunch - would have been lunching with royalty! Fabulous dining experience. Book with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We arrived at the Kings arms traveling on business and needing some refreshment. From the outside the building is impressive and commanding the central position in the village. The exterior is in superb condition and this is followed through into the bar and the restaurant areas. So much so to us it appeared to have been recently refurbished. A good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Four of us stayed here - some for two nights and some for three nights – and we enjoyed it. We chose the Kings Arms because it was one of the few places in the Wincanton area which did dinner on a Sunday evening, and we were pleased with our choice. It’s still got a pubby feel with proper beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave-and-Pats
London, UK
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Small hotel rather than classic country pub. Rooms have been modernised, and are fine rather than having any "wow" factor. Main bar has also been modernised, and has slightly missed the mark - it is neither homely country pub nor chic boutique hotel, and had little atmosphere. Very well cooked breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyager212
Epsom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Really enjoyed the food which was excellent value for the money and the young lady who served us was very friendly and attentive. Would recommend this venue for Lunch and Dinner, but make sure you book in advance as it is very popular.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanB1960

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
584 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
31.3 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
215 reviews
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
650 reviews
9.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $169 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 was fine and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 296laurenceh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
 of 5 bubbles 667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room we had (number 1) had great views but was a little noisy but not obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles chemics27, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5