We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fenua Mata'i'oa

Save
Share
Village Tiahura PK 25.5 C/Mer, Ha'apiti 98729 French Polynesia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (295)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (306)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Ha'apiti
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated at edge of a turquoise lagoon, in a garden tropical paradise, hotel Fenua Mata'i'oa is an unique place in Polynesia. Luxury and original suites, a fairy tale decor for a dream holiday .....
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
179Reviews4Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 27
  • 8
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Starrette G wrote a review May 2021
57 contributions38 helpful votes
This is not your run of the mill hotel! It is a marvelous boutique created by a woman (Eileen) with a keen artistic sense and soul. We were wowed by the greeting and the setting! The welcome leis were so fragrant and abundant. The welcome cocktail was also artfully decorated with flowers and fruit - yummy, too! We stayed in the Princess Lokelani Suite (referred to as the Prestige Suite on Expedia) which provided us with our own private beach front. This oceanfront suite is located amongst lush gardens where there is always something in bloom. In fact there is a private garden between the bedroom and bathroom! We enjoyed speaking with Eileen on a personal level, and any request was quickly accommodated. This is a very special place indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen SURLEAU-BOSSUOT, Propriétaire at Fenua Mata'i'oa
Responded 31 May 2021
Thank you very much Starrette for your kind comment. It was a great pleasure to meet you and I hope we will have the opportunity to meet again. Take care of yourself and your family.
Read more
Compass79587 wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Please be aware this facility, as in the reviews is not prepared for guests, but is prepared to take your money and for any reason (including that as a nurse I contracted Covid-19 and was unable to travel) and offer no rebooking option. I saved up and spent ~$3,000 USD (!) for a trip I have been looking forward to for over a year and I’ve been told unless I provide my flight booking details and pass for entry I’m out of luck. I have already provided copies of my test results. So they’re going to keep my money, that’s all, no option to reschedule or rebook different dates (don’t even think about asking for a refund!). They are just going to keep my $3,000 USD. The owner, Eileen, informed me “You will understand that it is suspicious to tell us that in fact you canceled due to a positive test 3 days before departure if your departure was already canceled. . .” Well, yes, my flight was canceled a few days before departure (covid) and I was in the process of rebooking it. I also completed my covid test so evidently my flight being canceled (the airline and booking co promptly and without hassle refund me the full price for my ticket, thank you air Tahiti and hopper.com) means I’m out of luck and they’ll keep my $3,000 thank you very much. So, I’ve worked as a nurse for the last year during covid, despite taking all precautions I contracted the virus. To protect others I didn’t travel and I am told I’m being told I’m acting “suspicious” bc my flight was canceled. No thanks for trying to help people during a global pandemic. No mention that they’re not even fully prepared for guests. After this experience I’d stay away! Unless you want to donate your money. I cried a little when they told me, you will understand it’s been a stressful year. Be safe everyone! 💜
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen SURLEAU-BOSSUOT, Propriétaire at Fenua Mata'i'oa
Responded 20 Jun 2021
You're lying. I only asked you for supporting documents and you refuse to produce them. You are just lying! First, you canceled your reservation because your flight was canceled but you refused to send proof of this cancellation by the airline. Then, and more than 10 days after the scheduled date of your stay, you write to us that in fact you had found another flight but that 3 days before the date of departure, you tested positive for COVID-19. I asked you for proof of flight, the receipt of your declaration on ETIS as well as proof of your positivity. It was enough to send me these documents for us to accept a cancellation for force majeure. You do not want to send us these documents just because you are unable to provide them. You canceled your reservation the day before your arrival. The reader will appreciate which of the two of us is dishonest. And then you threatened me and I find it lamentable. Your comment is for the sole purpose of revenge and harm. Really, I am outraged. And I protest against the current policy of accepting such comments which allows people dissatisfied with their own shortcomings to tarnish a hotel's reputation.
Read more
Jeffrey A wrote a review May 2021
Houston, Texas139 contributions76 helpful votes
Despite the recent reopening of French Polynesia May 1 of this year, this hotel really isn’t quite ready for tourists. The hotel is very lovely however. Rooms are nestled in nice gardens on the water and offer a place for nice rest and swimming. It is a lovely oasis with a very tranquil ambience. However, I felt like the hotel is not ready for tourists! I was the only guest and there was no lunch or dinner offered and it was difficult to find staff when I needed something too .) I had to go to the one restaurant that offered pick up services for 2 consecutive nights because it was nearby. Taxi services are exorbitantly expensive too) just to go 2kms to another restaurant (which so many are closed anyway). So no real choices to offer food!! There was a small magasin nearby (5-10 min walk from the hotel) that had some staples to make a sandwich and buy some cold drinks. That said, the hotel left me feeling very disappointed. I hardly saw any staff at the hotel and my room, although once very attractive is now somewhat musty and tired. It is in need of refreshing! Also it’s important to note that there are a lot of cats at the hotel, a sanctuary for their protection fortunately. However, if you do not like cats, be warned! They will come into your room and sit on the furniture and they can be pesky for people who are annoyed by cats. Plus there is cat hair and cat smell all over the room. I like cats but others may not. Bottom line: Wait to go to this hotel!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen SURLEAU-BOSSUOT, Propriétaire at Fenua Mata'i'oa
Responded 20 May 2021
Jeffrey, your comments bother me. Are you going to write nasty things about our hotel on all travel sites? You forget to mention that you were greeted with a flower necklace and a cocktail. If you were alone at the hotel, that's normal ... Polynesia has only just opened up .... There were always two people to serve you but you did not eat anything. We offered you breakfast but you never had your breakfast at the hotel .... So, I strongly doubt that if we had offered dinner to you, you would have made a reservation for this service. When you wanted a little snack, we prepared it for you. You were never there during the day ... the employees were there and at your disposal ... The bar was open. You didn't eat anything because everything was too expensive for you ... I spent my time taking care of you ... Before coming, you sent me more than 30 emails so that I can take care of everything ... You canceled the first night and we accepted this last minute modification without penalty, although the conditions provided on the booking site do not allow such a modification. You couldn't arrive on Sunday so you requested early check in and we accepted at a very low rate. You agreed but when it came time to pay your hotel bill you pressured me by blackmailing me ... if I didn't make a move you were going to put in bad reviews. Your argument was that the hotel was empty ... What you forget is that the hotel is full every weekend with local customers and that by accepting an early check in at a ridiculous price, we lost the Sunday night when we could have booked it . I have reduced the early check in by 50%. I really regret giving you so many gifts. You were rude ... everything was owed to you and you had no respect for our staff. You are in unacceptable bad faith. As for the hotel, it was completely renovated in 2020 as can be seen from the videos on our website. Really, I am outraged by your behavior.
Read more
Panos P wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Based in London, we booked via booking.com for July 2020 and Covid, lockdowns, shielding, cancelled flights to, from and within French Polynesia and a financial hit in the creative sector prevented us from going. We requested via booking.com an exceptional refund and they offered a voucher until the end of 2021. A year on and it’s still impossible to go. Jobs are still scarce, visiting family after a year of lockdowns is a priority and French Polynesia is an amber country for the UK which would mean quarantining on the way back and a bucket of money for tests before and after traveling. We wrote to the hotel asking once more for a refund or an extension to the voucher and they never wrote back. We asked booking.com to approach them on our behalf and their response was ‘the borders are open, they have no reason not to come, no refund, no extension of the voucher.’ That’s the kind of communication and the lever of costumer service that Fenua Mataïoa provides. Panos Papanagiotou
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen SURLEAU-BOSSUOT, Propriétaire at Fenua Mata'i'oa
Responded 14 May 2021
Sir, you need to stop making nasty comments all over the place. You wrote the same post on google before and it got deleted by the verifiers. Last year, you made a reservation through Booking. This reservation had a significant discount and the condition was "non-cancellable and non-modifiable." You were to come in July 2020, when our borders were open to the whole world. Force majeure was therefore not applicable. There were planes from your country and our borders were open. You have asked to postpone your stay and to be pleasant, we have accepted a postponement until December 31, 2021. I insist, we did it out of pure kindness and we gave you a very wide possibility of coming since the possibility of postponement over almost a year and a half. We could have refused and simply applied the conditions that you had accepted on the booking site. Today, while you were very happy at the time that we agreed to postpone your stay to the date of your choice until 12/31/2021 and at the same price conditions, you write that you will not be able to travel in 2021 and you criticize us for not accepting a new postponement. Your comment is really inappropriate.
Read more
DavidVuk wrote a review Jan 2021
Santa Monica, California67 contributions44 helpful votes
Our family of four stayed at Fenua Mata'I'oa for three nights in December 2020. We loved this place! The hotel is a small boutique property with bungalows set in lush gardens. The common areas are full of character with beautiful views of the ocean. Our room was perfect, with two connecting rooms, two bathrooms, and two private decks with table and chairs. The water in front of the hotel is crystal clear and has great snorkeling. The main place to see sharks and rays is a short kayak off-shore and there is an island with great snorkeling. We enjoyed breakfast everyday in the beautiful setting. Breakfast is bountiful, with high quality baked goods, fruit, meat and cheese, and yogurt. There is also a nice grocery within 5 minutes walk. There are also great restaurants and shopping just a short drive away. Eileen and her staff are friendly and very helpful--she arranged dinner reservations and pick-up for us. If you are looking for an alternative to the big resorts, this is the place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen SURLEAU-BOSSUOT, Propriétaire at Fenua Mata'i'oa
Responded 8 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for your kind comment. It was a pleasure to meet you. I wish you and your family a wonderful year and much happiness.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$275 - US$401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaHa'apiti
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fenua Mata'i'oa
Which popular attractions are close to Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Nearby attractions include P.originals Pearls Moorea (1.6 km), Magic Mountain (3.2 km), and Pai Moana Perles (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Lezard Jaune Cafe, A L’Heure du Sud, and Coco beach Moorea.
Does Fenua Mata'i'oa have airport transportation?
Yes, Fenua Mata'i'oa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fenua Mata'i'oa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Fenua Mata'i'oa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tiki Village Cultural Center (4.4 km).
Does Fenua Mata'i'oa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.