We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

950 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Parkway Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 947: English reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Just want to say a massive thank you to kerry and all the staff at the parkway hotel, We held our wedding there and everyone at the hotel made it a very special day. I've got so much to say but will keep it short.. food pipping hot and amazing lots of comments from family and friends how nice it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith G
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

An oasis in a sea of trading estates. Wonderful parkland setting. Well-appointed bedrooms set on two floors. Very comfortable lounge/bar areas, with a magnificent feature fireplace in main area. Our visit was overnight stay at a wedding reception/evening function. NB : check-in is slightly later than with other hotels at 3pm. However it's worth asking at Reception to see if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barry w
Reviewed 17 July 2016

As soon as we arrived, we couldn't believe that nothing had change for 31 years... It was so dated and tired, even though we read that the bedrooms had had an update, the furniture was very old, but the bathrooms were fine. It felt like an old peoples home, especially when they stopped serving in the restaurant at 9pm...The receptionists...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dan E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We held our year 11 prom at the Hotel and I cannot say enough positive things about the venue or the staff. From start to finish we were given assistance and support in booking, organising DJ and lighting, arranging decorations and table plans- the lot! We will definitely be using the Parkway Hotel and Spa again, the staff treated the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tania1981
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Tania1981 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your lovely feedback which I will ensure is passed onto the team. We were delighted to host your School Prom and hope to welcome you all back soon. Best wishes Kerry Jennings General Manager

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Iv been to 2 baby showers here in the last 2 weeks (both been fab). The last one was Saturday just gone (9th July) which i organised for my sister in law. From booking to the day everything was easy and everyone iv spoken to has been helpful. Special mention to Kelly who was polite friendly and informative with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle869
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Danielle869 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the Baby Showers you have attended here at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments which I will ensure are passed to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Kerry Jennings General Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We asked for the food and wine Menus whilst sitting in the bar area - waited about 20 minutes but we were forgotten. When we did eventually order our food was inedible - we tried..but it was really not nice - the lamb must have been on the hills for a few years - we complained and the Manager said...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrelandBobo
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello IrelandBobo Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed that this review has been put on tripadvisor despite the issue having been dealt with on the evening. Unfortunately, as we weren't made aware of an issue until after the meals had been eaten we were unable to resolve this for you. Had it been...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay there, very comfortable, clean and friendly, all the staff were happy and accommodating, particularly Kelly who we found to be very chatty and interested in our well-being.. Over all a faultless effort and will absolutely be coming back!! Even if it is just once a year. The food is great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sutts177
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent day for our Mum's birthday treat! We enjoyed the spa facilities... We spent hours in the pool and sauna! The only negative point was the fact it was absolutely boiling in the seating area and you couldn't get hold of anyone to get a drink at the bar. Other than that our experience of the spa was excellent. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaTingey
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I had a lovely 3 night stay with my sister daughter and my nieces. The staff were wonderful very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them we would highly recommend it .every thing was lovely and clean and the food very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyntont208
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A very pleasant one night's stay with plenty of amenities. A spacious hotel with lovely leisure facilities. This was a popular wedding venue with two wedding receptions going on and they also managed to cater for our group of 50+ for a barbecue! Staff were very helpful, breakfast was superb with all palettes catered for. One down side was I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregmoggs

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
7.5 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
7.4 km away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
11.0 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Price Range: $146 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
12 days ago
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a seat by the open fire in the Lounge”
 of 5 bubbles N5167WVpeters, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only go for rooms upstairs at back as ones at front face on to car park and are noisy with lights shining right into rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles josephineb592, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very accessible. Junior suite spacious, walk in shower and bath, overlooking grounds. Lovely log fires in the lounges.”
 of 5 bubbles _mariapower70, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay,so cannot comment.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH767, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Twin room is same as double size wise.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffj980, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5