We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Expedia.comUS$84*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Parkway Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,023: English reviews
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We have a family get together every year, as usual we were made to feel very welcome, the meal was delicious and the waiting staff helpful and courteous. 6 of us stayed overnight in comfortable rooms, which had all we needed. Breakfast was also lovely whether you wanted just a bowl of cereal or the whole cooked breakfast. Checkout at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely relaxing break for my daughter's birthday, staff were friendly knowledgeable and helpful at all times we felt very welcome .champagne waiting in room on arrival, Food was top quality too, wether a coffee and cake or a light coffee shop lunch to a 3 course meal at night a well stocked bar, then a fully loaded breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaki S
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Used to swim here now and again as a child so can't comment on the gym recently. Been to a few weddings and they've been great, drinks are a bit pricey but service is good and the nights have all gone well without any problems. Never stayed here tho due to living not far away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexLS2000
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I hate to write a negative review about a place I have stayed at for 30 years but I feel standards and service is slipping. Main gripes during this stay - when I arrived went for a run then took a shower and discovered half my bathroom lights and vent did not work (we won't mention the shower curtain). I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve G
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steve, I am very sorry that you felt the need to post another negative review of our hotel. You have been a valued guest of ours for many years and I am saddened that once again, you didn't mention any issues to our management team, who of course you know extremely well. I can assure you Steve, that we...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

This venue isn't located in the heart of everything, but that's what made it charming. With its bare brick walls, huge fireplaces and colourful tartan soft furnishings, I immediately felt warmly welcomed. The staff were every efficient at booking us all in without delay and running through the necessities (which some hotels forget). My room was much cosier than many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFiend222
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear FoodieFriend222 Thank you so much for posting your review. We have just completed period of refurbishment of every guest bedroom within the hotel and I am pleased that your positive comments show how well this has been received. I have passed your kind comments on to our Front of House team who enjoy welcoming all of our guests and...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My Fiance and I recently celebrated our engagement party at the Parkway Hotel in Cwmbran. The night went without a hitch (no pun intended). The whole experience for us was excellent. We stayed over in a suite which was very nice. I requested flowers and a nice bottle of wine to be left in the room for arrival fairly late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob c
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear robert c, Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your stay here with us at The Parkway Hotel. I am so very happy to hear that your engagement celebrations that were held with us were such a success. We do aim to provide an outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am happy that we...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel where you can instantly relax the minute you walk through the door then this one is for you. This hotel is lovely and the staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, polite and extremely helpful... Rooms were perfect! The bed was so comfortable and the range of hot beverages and biscuits in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky20001
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vicky20001, Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were made to feel welcome and at home in all areas of the hotel. This is something that we aim to achieve with all of our guests that choose...

wales
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here for the last two weeks due to the need to move from our home. In what are stressful times the staff here were absolutely first class particularly Jane Jones. They are all friendly and very helpful, it was almost like being home. Management your staff are a credit to you. The Hotel itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plan7
Hedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Arrived late as it was a late booking for a meeting the next day. Staff were really good with a very quick check in. Room was really good (Usk suite) and very spacious. Excellent bathroom and shower. Nice touches such as the coffee machine and plenty of bottled water. Bed was very comfortable as well. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Iain A, Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We delighted that you liked our hotel and that our reception team gave you a quick and efficient check in. Thank you for mentioning our Usk suite and the nice touches we provide in the bedrooms. Our new suites were built just a year ago and they are...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Not such a warm welcome, the place was packed and hosts meetings, all kinds of events and is mainly a stop gap for business people. The bar staff were very rude and not willing to help, I shared this when I left and there was hardly an apology. The spa and my room was dirty, but looked nice first glance,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank katie_swan
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katie_swan, I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I agree that the public areas of our hotel can be busy on times. I assure you that our team of staff work extremely hard to accommodate all types of guest along with their individual needs, normally we achieve this and I am very sorry...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
7.5 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
5.1 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
351 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
16.3 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Price Range: $142 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no lift so a ground floor room for the infirm is best. Choose a room facing the garden not the car park.”
401MartinC401, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“We live local so didn't stay”
782suei, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“the suites are fantastic”
LisaV771, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Whilst it was ok for my stay in May perhaps the rooms may get a little hot in the summer, didn't see any air con”
T5204NSricharde, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were immaculate and clean.”
113philipd, 6 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$84* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$86
Hotels.comUS$84
Hotwire.comUS$84
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates