We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Starfish Montehabana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Starfish Montehabana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I'm try not to be negative when writing reviews, however this place was a real let-down. Having travelled extensively all over the world, I was keeping an open mind about my 1st visit to Cuba and was mindful of the economic position of the Country etc. We stayed 3 nights here & were thoroughly underwhelmed. For 1 whole day we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew J
General M, Director General at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for having choosen Starfish Montehabana as your holidays destination, we are very sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations and for the inconvenients you may had during your stay. We had an inconvenient with the machine which provides the water, but we tried to do our...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

What a dreadful hotel- indifferent staff, no air conditioning, no water for 18 hours, no toilet paper, no milk left at breakfast (only 8am) I could go on.....very very dirty and disappointing-do not stay here!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcpaj
General M, Director General at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear guest, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations and for the inconveniences you may had, we had a problem with the machine that provides water to the hotel and we try our best moving our guests to the neighbour hotel and trying to...

Havana, Cuba
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The hotel is overrated. Practically a regular 3* hotel. The restaurant is located in the next hotel, so it might be inconvenient at times of breakfast or dinner. Wifi is available for 2 CUC/hour, regular price. Is located quite far from the historic center.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ParticularCuba
Lima, Peru
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Recommended!!! All services are very good. Everything neat and tidy. The staff are friendly and very professional. Food is delicious. They have a variety of very good drinks. Really lovely. Very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro José F
General Manager M, General Manager at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear Pedro Jose: We really thank you for having chosen our hotel Starfish Montehabana to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us. It is satisfying to read you have loved the service of all our friendly staff. We are looking forward to seeing...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Not the best place to stay as the air was next to non-existent and the beds were rock hard. Many in our group had a lot of bites after this hotel. I did not. However, this hotel was really showing some age. Toilet facilities were awesome (for Cuba!), the bathroom was well lit, hot water in shower was plentiful; however,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sombrita D
General Manager M, General Manager at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We want to thank you for sharing your review and for your comments in regards to our facilities and Staff!! It is always good to read about experiences our guests lived during their stay. I would like to apologize if some of the services and facilities did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured we are taking all...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I went to Havana as part of a school trip with 12 other people. Before we left, I read the TripAdvisor reviews so I had an idea of what to expect. On what was supposed to be the first night of our stay, Obama was in Havana, so we had to give up our rooms so that the Government could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff P
General Manager M, General Manager at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear Jeff: We deeply appreciate this wonderful review, which for sure, will help readers to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for their vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our service. We would like to thank you for have chosen Stafish Montehabana to spend...

Reviewed 19 March 2016

My room was not real clean, nor was the bathroom. I wasn't worried because a little dirt won't kill you. My king bed had box springs sticking out on each side. When I asked for a replacement pillow, I never got it in a week. The original pillow was cotton batting rolled up and placed inside the pillowcase. The coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annebM7464ER
General M, Director General at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear annebM7464ER, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations. We work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome, thank you for your valuable time and feedback, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves in...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed here for one night because it was the joining hotel for our group tour and so had no other choice. Not a great start! It's the sister hotel to the Miramar, but what a difference! Our apartment was of reasonable size, but it really needed modernising, redecorating and cleaning. Nothing worked properly, including the television, fridge and most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robonhols466
General M, Director General at Starfish Montehabana, responded to this review

Dear robonhols466, After reading your review, we would like to transmit you that we are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations. We work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome, thank you for your valuable time and feedback, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves in...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

On arrival at the Montehabana Aparthotel reception had no records of our reservation! Not the greatest start! We were told that the reservation team had finished for the day but we would pay a deposit of 180 CUC and stay the night and hopefully we could get it sorted by the morning. So we paid the deposit and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon S
Arizona
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Havanatur stuffed up our group's bookings and we were shunted off to Montehabana instead of the Telegrafo. Very annoyed to find ourselves far from the city and in a very ordinary, poorly maintained place. Rooms were large but floors and windows were dirty. Sewage smell in bathroom. Air conditioner not working properly. Breakfast not good. If you go late, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dotc2015

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
170 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
22 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
34 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Starfish Montehabana

Address: Calle 70 entre 5ta a y 7ma Ave, Havana 11400, Cuba (Formerly Occidental Montehabana)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: $250 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Montehabana 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Also Known As:
Occidental Montehabana Hotel Havana
Aparthotel Montehabana Havana
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starfish Montehabana staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Starfish Montehabana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room quality was hit or miss. Some in suites, some not. Just be specific with what you are looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles sombritad, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any suite with a kitchenette is good.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4654PXjeffp, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“they have rooms that has kitchen, if you love cooking you can ask for that room.”
 of 5 bubbles marosannar, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I d recommend to e-mail the hotel to know exaclty which kind of room you are looking for.. I am sure they will find the perfect solution”
 of 5 bubbles O6044RGmatteob, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
4 of 4