We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avila Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avila Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 649: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Willemstad is the colourful capital of Curacao. With friendly and laidback people all over the place. Avila is a modern seaside hotel with all amenities. Beach, Pool, Gym, indoor and outdoor restaurants and bars. Excellent breakfast on the terrace! Modern (Dutch) management. Great staff. Don't miss it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write this nice review regarding your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you soon back at the Avila Beach Hotel.

South Burlington, Vermont, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is strikingly beautiful and well designed. The service is great, too. Renzo, working the baggage and off-the-cuff concierge arrangements at the front door, was great!! The two cove-like beaches are peaceful and clean, and if you swim just out of the mouth of the little cove, you can enjoy some great snorkeling. There are some small, beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb N
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your 5 star review and for sharing your experience at the Avila Beach Hotel. It is our pleasure and aim to provide our guests a most exceptional vacation or visit at the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit at the Blues restaurant and the spectacular sunset. We have already discussed your comments regarding...

Kent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week at the Avila Beach Hotel. It fulfilled our requirements as a beach resort hotel with all that you'd need (Pool, beach, bar and restaurant) The accessible room (218) was on the first floor and despite being listed as 'Ocean View' and facing the ocean, the view of the sea was obscured by other buildings. Higher floors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EU4
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that the Avila Beach Hotel has completely fulfilled your requirements as a beach resort hotel and thank you for sharing your review. We have already addressed your feedback regarding the details in the room internally. We are very glad that you had a great experience on the beach and at both the Belle Terrace restaurant and the...

Locarno, Ticino, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good points of this hotel are the location (close to the center of Willemstad, however better don't walk the neighbourhood at night) the sea view, and a quite reasonable restaurant and jazz bar. However we found that the maintenance of this hotel was long due. Part of the firefighting installation in the building is inoperable (see pictures). The interior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas v
rvogels, General Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bas, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you like the ocean front downtown location of our property. I am sorry to hear that you felt like the maintenance of the hotel was long due. New owners took over the hotel in December 2015 and are working hard to get the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at approx 12:45pm and was told our room would not be ready until 4. We were offered a room to change our clothes. We went down to the beach area and received towels, but we were told that we needed towel cards from the front desk (were not given to us). I returned to the front desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E W
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time for writing this review regarding your stay at the hotel. We regret that the service you experienced upon arrival did not meet your expectations. Our check-in time is officially at 4 but understand that you envisioned a different approach. The protocol of the Royals requires for the staff to be prudent but this...

Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was a very modern hotel.if your under 40yrs old i wouldnt reccomend here.if you have young children yes teenagers no.anyhow there are good restarants close by easy walk. or go down to mambo beach and there are many more.also you can go into town but parking can be tough.for me just alittle to far to walk.keep in mind its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billy d
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this nice review. We are glad that you had a great experience on the island and at the hotel. We hope to see you back again at the Avila Beach Hotel.

California, US
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent the afternoon at Avila Beach Hotel. The protected beaches are great for swimming as is the pool. And the hotel towels are nice and fluffy. We had a lovely lunch out on one of the many ocean facing patios. It was delicious and the view was excellent. Lastly, the service was good. The staff was incredibly nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1111
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to place it. It is our aim to provide our valued guests the best service and experience possible when spending time at the hotel, therefore we are very happy that you had a marvelous time. We hope to welcome you back again at the Avila Beach Hotel.

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel this February and enjoyed this place lots. The reception was great, hotel rooms modern a clean with the view of the sea. All was great, clean beach, clean hotel, great pool etc. The only negative thing would be that bartenders and waiters were kinda slow and never asked if we wished any additional meal...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to place this nice review and thank you therefore. We are glad that you had an overall great stay at the hotel and enjoyed your room, the beach and the pool. We have already discussed your point of concern internally but are however happy that you had a great experience at the hotel...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avilla was nice, a bit outdated but a good location, fair price and the food at the pool cabana was outstanding.. The beaches around the Southwest side of the island are some of the best Ive been to in the world...Cove beaches, not many people, calm, clear and amazing to swim around ... Big Knip beach is one of my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim C
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your island experience. We are pleased that your overall stay on Curaçao was to your satisfaction. We appreciate that you had a nice stay at the hotel and enjoyed the Pool bar menu. We hope to see you back on the island and perhaps be able to welcome you again at the Avila Beach Hotel.

Beacon, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our first time to Curacao Feb 25 2017 5 nights in Preferred room 307 Octagon Completely satisfied with our stay. Pros: Location-walked into Otrobanda for Carnival parades-wouldn't have driven Near good restaurants-Rozendaels A+ Boulevard supermarket 8 minute car ride away-very clean, well stocked Avila Hotel Beaches are beautiful, private and secure, lacking nothing Plenty of chairs and shade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
AvilaBeachManagement, Manager at Avila Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to share this nice 4 star review and your great experience during your stay in Curaçao. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the island, the restaurants and the Avila Beach Hotel. We will discuss your points of concern with each department, but are although very glad that your overall stay was completely to your...

1,208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (813)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (194)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (297)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Beach (48)
Viewed
Other (46)
Viewed
Octagon Preferred Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.5 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
585 reviews
3.1 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.7 km away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
324 reviews
2.0 km away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Price Range: $222 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avila Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
70 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (70)

Questions? Get answers from Avila Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fully Accessible rooms are 218, 318 and 418 in the Octagon Wing.”
 of 5 bubbles EU4, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Because part of the firefighting equipment is in bad shape, better ask for ground floor, so you will always have an escape route.”
 of 5 bubbles 735basv, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 351 had a terrible leak from the AC unit in that room”
 of 5 bubbles EW47, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“their all good”
 of 5 bubbles billyd885, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get as close to Big Knip and a few of the beaches around there...”
 of 5 bubbles jimcP9297IY, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5