We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Young Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fort Young Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 680: English reviews
Start your review of Fort Young Hotel
 Click to rate
New Hampshire, Usa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all, you need to understand that Dominica is not fly-in tourist-friendly. The airport is way up at the northeast corner of the island, while the capital (and the Fort Young) are at the southwest...and there are long winding mountain roads in between. Figure 1.5 hours between them. The hotel does have airport transfer service available. We were upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poisson54
Saint-Tropez, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had today at the fort young hotel breakfast. Was really nice. Very good ambience on its terrace. Choice of breakfast was OK. The service Valencia provided was perfect. Very friendly and efficient. Thank you will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne F
Huntington Bch
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel. Clean and staff were very friendly. The Buddy Dive Dominica is a wonderful dive shop. The local staff were just wonderful, friendly and went above and beyond the call of dutu. I would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few days on a recent visit to Dominca and would have stayed longer if they had availability. The hotel has a great location in Roseau on the waterfront so you can see the cruise ships close up as they arrive. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The air con works well, too well at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K3NZ
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Access for disabled difficult due to multiple staircases as part of old Difficult trip to airport over mountain roads can take an hour or more. Food generally very good. A centre for divers Limited shopping opportunities in Roseau.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a quick stay in Dominica... not nearly long enough. But thoroughly enjoyed the Ft. Young hotel. Everyone of the staff that we interacted with were incredibly friendly and helpful. They made sure we maximized our time there. It's a quirky layout of the hotel, lots of half flights of stairs up and down. But you can't beat the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
England
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's my second stay at this hotel and I have to say I enjoyed it both times! The hotel is probably one of the best places to stay on the island. They have a great restaurant, but I wish they had indoor seating because it can get pretty hot on the island. The staff and guests are friendly and there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sher N
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Hotel to stay at whether on business or pleasure. If you need assistance with anything at all, the activities desk is more than capable of helping you. The staff at reception are also very courteous and of great assistance as well. You cannot go wrong either way. The drive from the airport to Roseau is not for the faint...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Ann H
Groebenzell, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were extremely noisy- due to noisy device all day and night in the backyard (generator/airconditioning). Rooms are basic and ok, but not for the price level. Food selection was very poor, particularly for breakfast. Staff was inattentive. Location is not nice, right at the cruiseship port- view is rather on cruise ships than on sunsets. Diving was excellent, however,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcelh204
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcel Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. Our goal at the Fort Young is to ensure that our guests expectations are exceeded and clearly in this case it was not. We always strive to correct any challenges our guests maybe encountering while on property and always encourage our guests...

Miami
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room with a sea view is best recommendation. Centrally located and accessible to tours, souvenirs and restaurants. Great service from staff , who were very friendly and professional. Kudos to Taresha for her assist in accommodating me the extra night due to cancelled flight difficulties.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellyannec2017

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
29.4 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
471 reviews
31.7 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
29.7 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
15.9 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: $205 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Young Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Young Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get an ocean-view room”
 of 5 bubbles K3NZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spring for the ocean view rooms near the water. The ones toward the back, you can hear street parties at night.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexL681, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe ocean view are larger ando have a fabulous view”
 of 5 bubbles austint327, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles AlliecatOOB, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept any room with a 500 number especially 501.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneE604, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5