We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana

Crta. Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana 9999 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
34 people are viewing this hotel
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/03/21
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/03/21
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8072)
Panoramas (3)
Pool & Beach (1992)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#88 of 149 hotels in Punta Cana
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
8,768Reviews1,610Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,968
  • 2,441
  • 1,303
  • 549
  • 507
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chrisrodriguez380 wrote a review 1 Mar
9 contributions4 helpful votes
First of all, I spent a few nights at the end of February. The staff made our time at the resort much better since they were genuine and caring. But it must be notated that management are overworking them especially in the buffett line area where one employee is in charge of serving 4-8 different trays of food to patrons. Some reviews won't tell you that and make it seem like the employees are the problem but they are not. The resorts food was pretty repetitive which sucked. They have limited entertainment and every time I played my handheld speaker with great vacation/beach music the management would overreact. If anything I did the hotel a favour by having almost 100 people one night having probably the best time of their lives by playing the music. I stayed at building 20 next to the beach and my maid was great. Staff are great people with big hearts. BIG SHOUTOUT to the late night snack bar guys by the beach. The whole crew there was amazing!!!! also very big shout out to the lobby bar staff Ysabel which was amazing as well as her female coworkers which made the DR independence day great. The hotel can definitely get some upgrades on food,entertainment, and hospitality overall. If I were to go back it would be because the staff were great but management makes the hotel look horrible. Like no music!! cmonnn! don't make this a one time stay resort where people don't want to come back. The hotel staff enforces COVID guidelines very properly. Also if anyone in these reviews complain about anything on COVID, they should be ashamed because they took every risk taking a packed plane to the hotel. This resort followed COVID guidelines as best as they could.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
MahabNYC wrote a review Feb 2021
Bronx, New York39 contributions66 helpful votes
Long story short: spend your hard-earned money on any other brand. Bahia Principe doesn’t even try. Bahia Principe brand is truly the worst of them all. Sadly, after visiting Bahia Principe resorts four times in DR and Cancun, this would be our last trip. The resort is HUGE. It was about 20 minutes or more drive from the main road to the check-in area. We get off the bus and spent about 20-30 minutes to get the temperature taken, someone to accept our luggage and give us a luggage ticket. The first sign of bad hospitality: no offer of a welcome drink or some water. Thank god we bought a bottle of water at the airport! After spending 7 nights, it was because of the language barrier – if you speak Spanish, you will get better service than everyone else. Spent another 45 minutes (yes, I was keeping track) until someone acknowledged our presence and started the check-in process which took close to 2 hours – no kidding. I am 100% serious and being truthful. My room was in building number 8, a far distance from both the lobby area where the buffet breakfast and dinner is, also far from the beach – need to wait for trolly rides for back and forth. It’s a novelty that becomes an annoyance after a day. The resort, including rooms, is showing wear and tear and lighting is a huge problem everywhere including your room, especially in your bathroom. Food is terrible. Same food not even rotated. Think of typical two start all-inclusive buffest and then bring it down by about 100% in quality and choices. Drinks are local brands, water down, and lines are huge…took me about 1 hour or more, in the hot sun, lining up on my vacation, to get a drink – we got drinks 2 or 3 times each day from the pool bar because I got tired of standing and waiting instead of spending time with my family. All while, large groups of Spanish speakers were getting drinks delivered on trays every 20 minutes or so – literally before they even get to finish their previous drinks. This has nothing to do with tipping because I took $200 in $1 bills and another $200 in $5 and was looking for any and every opportunity to tip – sadly, I came back with at least half of the money that I took for tipping. Similar service at the buffet – both the lobby and beach restaurant for lunch/snacks. About 99% of the time tea/coffee, water is served when we are almost done eating. After the second day, we started to bring a bottle of water with us, because we know we won't get any liquid. Once again, somehow some tables do get the service, while others just sit and wait and eventually just give up. The front desk and management have the biggest problems – well there is no management. No one seems to care. The lock of our room door kept powering off and took them 3 days to fix it, and we spent many hours going back and forth – keep in mind it’s a LONG walk to the lobby from building eight. When I asked to see a manager, I was told “I am the supervisor” and when I asked why you guys are wasting my vacation like this, “sir, I have work to do” and simply walked away. For the rest of the trip, like clockwork, either my card or my wife’s room key stopped working at least once a day. After about five times, we stopped bothering because by that time we decided to stay in the room as much as possible until it's time to go home. My son ate mostly from the gift shop. It should be embarrassing for this place to call itself a family resort, I am sure they can careless. The reservation required restaurants are even more disappointing - starting off with if you can find them. For Covid, they all are from the beach restaurant - don't waste time look at the map and trying to find it - all the reservation required restaurants are in Las Olas. Don't bother...similar quality food and service as the buffet restaurants. The timeshare people add more to the injury. They are a bunch of shameless pieces of waste, they scream and shout at you “are you ready for your welcome gift” every damn time you walk by. Timeshare station is right in front of the buffet restaurant at the lobby, and oh boy, do they get a kick out of it. Covid testing is another completely chaotic process. For a 30 second process, we spent a whole afternoon - from 3 PM until around 5 PM to get it done – despite having waited for at least 1 hour in line the second day of our week making the appointment. Overall, I feel like I was robbed of my money. I wish I could get my money back. What a waste of time and money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
2 Helpful votes
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate your detailed review and please let us inform you that we deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, guest experiences are the key ingredient to assist us with elevating our services and standards. However, we would like to clarify these circumstances that you have mentioned above does not reflect the effort we make to provide an excellent service and helps our customer feel comfortable in our facilities. We would like to cater you once again and be able to change any negative perception. Kind regards, Adriana Peguero Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Anageli S wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
El servicio de limpieza es horrible 3 días, nos dejaron un solo jabón, no te reponen nada al cuarto una sola vez fueron a limpiar porque yo lo solicite, un solo Día, si quieres bien trato de es de dar propina para todo son de color viajante van primero aunque paguemos lo mismo, estoy muy desencantada y decepcionada, nunca vuelvo a ese hotel. Que cosa más fea que en mi país me sienta así! Cuantos me queje de la limpieza me Dijeron que ya no era hora de limpiar eran las 5 de la tarde respondí pero el pero El Cuarto Estuvo vacío el Día completo, porque no lo limpiaron, enviaron a alguien sólo para limpiar el Ñaño con las mismas toallas usadas lo limpio y no repuso lo que necesitábamos porque sólo lo mandaron a limpiar el baño! The cleaning service is horrible for 3 days, they left us only one soap, they did not replace anything in the room only once they went to clean because I requested it, only one Day, if you want well, I try to give a tip for everything they are of the color traveler they go first even if we pay the same, I am very disenchanted and disappointed, I never go back to that hotel. What an ugly thing that in my country I feel like this! How many I complain about the cleanliness They said it was no longer time to clean it was 5 in the afternoon I answered but the but the room was empty the Full day, because they didn't clean it, they sent someone just to clean the Ñaño with the same towels used to clean him and he did not replace what we needed because they only sent him to clean the bathroom!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 3 days ago
Estimado Huésped, Apreciamos que haya compartido con nosotros y con todos los usuarios de este portal su comentario acerca de su reciente experiencia en nuestro Hotel. Lamentamos, asimismo saber que no hemos sido capaces de satisfacer sus expectativas en lo que respecta a la calidad de la limpieza y su comentario nos causa inquietud ya que no es nuestro diario proceder; tenga la seguridad que hemos derivado su comentario al departamento oportuno para su debida gestión. Saludo, Adriana Peguero Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
KevinPenthouse wrote a review Feb 2021
Norwalk, Connecticut142 contributions65 helpful votes
Had a wonderful experience luved all the staff - the rooms the food the adult only atmosphere and dinners highly recommended by myself that has stayed at multiple Punta Cana hotels this was in the Top Tier . .and you get more than you pay for easily the best bang for the buck resort n Punta Cana
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Room Tip: lower floor has private wading pools which are great but after one or two dips ya run to the...
See more room tips
Response from Online Reputation Coordinator Bav, Otro at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Responded 3 days ago
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed such an amazing stay with brilliant treatment from our staff and comfortable facilities at our Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana. We are already looking forward to welcoming you once again next year! Kindest Regards, Adriana Peguero Online Reputation Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Read more
Spencer wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions6 helpful votes
Very nice renovations. I stayed at this resort previously in 2015 and they’ve completely renovated since. The food was good at most restaurants..booking food reservations was easy using the iPads/Resort App. Beautiful beach. Hotel was at 1/2 capacity due to Covid so it was very laid back/relaxed. Room service was quick. Great staff. Would return again for a trip with friends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
3 Helpful votes
US$133 - US$609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
gran bahia principe punta cana hotel punta cana, punta cana gran bahia principe
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Nearby attractions include Arena Gorda Beach (0.6 km), Splash Water Park (0.9 km), and Riu Palace Macao Casino (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kukua Beach Club & Restaurant, Restaurant Maiko, and Restaurant Orquidea.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.