We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Cabeza De Toro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$156
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
US$201
US$153
View Deal
SAVE US$48
Expedia.comUS$201
eDreamsUS$156
Prestigia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9629)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (12)

About

#61 of 146 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you
Read more
Room & Suite (1,278)1,278
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
8,301Reviews1,210Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,535
  • 2,262
  • 883
  • 335
  • 286
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RobynandDean wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I enjoyed our trip. The only thing i did not like was the sales people on the property. At the beach as well. The room was roomy and had a nice deck. We spent most our time at the beach. The pools were nice as well. Very warm, but cooling when needed. All the staff was wonderful. Grounds were beautiful and kept clean. We had a great time. The food was good, very different from what we are accustomed to in ways. But that is to be expected and part of why we chose to go to Punta Cana. Part of the experience. The location was fine with us. On the edge of the resorts. Vacation is what you make of it a lot of the time! I was just going for relaxation and that I got. We did do 3 excursions, they were fine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Robyn & Dean Thank you for making Catalonia Royal Bavaro a part of your trip. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious suites, pools, the tasty culinary offer, grounds as well as the amazing service provided by our staff. On the other hand, we are sorry if the presence of vendors disturbed you. Please, be aware that beaches in the Dominican Republic are public and we provide security guards in the area in order to protect your privacy. However, we are currently discussing this situation with the local authorities. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your recent trip, and I eagerly anticipate your next stay with us very soon. Warm regards, Social Media Catalonia Punta Cana
Read more
Koy T wrote a review Dec 2020
Richmond Hill, Canada62 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Visited Nov 28 - Dec 5, and had a great time! The flight down was packed from YYZ - the airline as well as airport personnel performed temperature checks to make sure we were were not Covid positive and we had to wear masks the whole time at both airports and in flight. Other than that it was a regular flight from YYZ to PUJ. At the Resort: Upon arrival noticed that masks had to be worn at all indoor spaces. The Buffet handed out gloves so we would not handle plates or serving spoons bare handed. I thought that this was great - added a comfort level. The food and drinks were great - I had nothing to complain about. I'm a vegetarian and found lots of options. The beach and pool loungers were cleaned and sanitized with placards stating that they had been sanitized. The pools and beaches very clean. Over all i felt very comfortable and safe - the resort was appx 30-35% occupancy. Would have been nicer to see more people. This was my 1st visit to the Royal side - I've visited the Bavaro Beach side twice before. From what I can say the resorts really been improved from my previous 2 visits. My only complaint (no the fault of the resort) were some insensitive guests partying it up at 2.30 in the morning oblivious that most are trying to sleep then.... any way the security took care of them. Would I visit again - most definitely!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. It has been an honor to have you as our distinguished guest and be part of your vacation. Our main goal is to provide the best guest experience and we are glad to know that we were able to exceed you expectations. We appreciate your comments and that you have shared them on Tripadvisor. We look forward for your future visit in order to create another wonderful holiday for you. Cordially, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
LyMtravelers wrote a review Feb 2021
Fort Worth, Texas3 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife scheduled a romantic San Valentines get away and also the perfect excuse to run away from the blistering cold that was going to affect us in North Texas. We got there and were surprised by the well decorated facilities, friendly staff, spacious rooms, nightly entertainment that this place offered, but above all, the price. Honestly, for the presentation and comfort of their rooms and facilities, this place easily can charge about $400 to $500 more for three nights and get better quality of guests because when I say this place was affordable, we paid $547.00 for three nights, that is less than $200 for two person per night, all inclusive. The only negative issue about paying so affordable prices for a nice place like this is that you don't get the best quality of guess next to you, some, way loud. I rather pay another $500 for three nights for the same place and filter the guess. My Personal opinion. Overall, not a great value for your money but OUTSTANDING value for your money. Transportation from and to the airport is $30 each way. Can't beat it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We hope you can return soon and enjoy Bávaro with us one more time. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Allikat745 wrote a review Feb 2021
Jupiter, FL19 contributions12 helpful votes
Let me begin by saying that we booked this resort on the fact that it was 5 stars. We travel extensively and it is our experience that we are most satisfied when we pay just a little bit more for a 5 star resort and for upgraded amenities with a "privileged" or "diamond club" options. We arrived to the resort and were immediately put off by the unfriendliness of the front desk agent, it was not welcoming at all. No explanation of the current operating schedule (what restaurants or bars were open/closed, activities, pools, etc.). When we asked for dinner reservations, he informed us that some of the restaurants would be over on the other property that we had to walk to. We were very hungry from traveling and asked where we could get something to eat. He said nothing was open except for the pizzeria. We were taken to our room (duplex suite with private pool), the person dropped off our suitcase and said okay and waited for a tip. We were not shown how to operate the automatic blinds with the remote, there was no "privileged" options that were supposed to come with the booking, no map of the resort, no information whatsoever so we decided to go to the pizzeria. We first ordered drinks, my husband asked what type of beers they had to which their response was Presidente (DR beer). He asked for any others and they replied "only presidente". We were both very suprised to hear that they did not have ANY other beer and the server said they have Corona or Coors light but we need to pay for those. So much for an "all inclusive". Our pizza came, it was inedible. Absolutely disgusting. We walked down to the beach bar and asked for more drinks, horrible. There was sushi there, I asked for a few pieces, disgusting. Again, all of the staff continued to be very unfriendly. Realizing this was not starting out well, we decided to head back to our room for a nap and start fresh. The bed supports were broken so the mattress was sagging in the middle. There were 2 flat pillows on the bed and a very thin sheet (no blanket). I called the front desk and asked for 2 more pillows (so much for the "pillow menu" lol) and a blanket. They arrived with 2 pillows that had to have been over 10 years old (the filling was in all lumps) and a blanket that was just as bad. They all had stains all over. The room itself was in bad condition. Wallpaper peeling off the walls, very worn "couch and chairs", all of the corners were gross and dirty, shower tiles were black in the cracks, etc. We decided that this was not the resort for us. We went to the front desk to explain our dissatisfaction. Instead of trying to make it right or asking why, they made us wait in the lobby for 20 minutes while they called their corporate office to find out who to handle it. When we told them that we wanted to leave, they ran our credit card for $345 for a one night stay. I explained to them that it was extremely unfair to make us pay for a full night when we were there for 2 hours. I had not problem paying a cancellation fee if needed. She explained that she cannot lose money on someone who does not like the resort. I told her that my money would be better spent somewhere else that was a true 5 star resort and who wanted our business. Realizing that the $345 was more than we should have been charged (we paid $1122 including taxes for 4 nights), I told her that we were not signing the credit card receipt. I asked her for proof that we checked out and she said that he will provide it once I sign the credit card receipt. We decided that there was not going to be a resolution and we would have to take it up with our credit card company. We asked for a taxi. A taxi came and then the manager, Minerva, followed us and told us that we could not leave until we signed the receipt. The taxi refused to take us anywhere. We unloaded our luggage and proceeded to walk the 1/2 mile to the entrance to the resort. We were able to find someone to take us to our next resort. I have never had such a horrible experience with a resort. We have been to Jamaica, Mexico (numerous times), all over europe, Costa Rica, Aruba, Curacao, Virgin Islands, etc....more places than we can count and this was the worst resort and customer service that we have ever been to. I absolutely hate leaving bad reviews, I prefer to support and acknowledge businesses and people for exceptional service and therefore will usually only post positive reviews from me, however, this was an experience that I could not allow to go unnoticed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
edwardr2912021 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The resort was beautiful, staff were nice, the food was good. The beach had too much seaweed but staff member try to clean the seaweed but it too much. The pools were big and nice. Would recommend and stay here again if I could.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Edward, Thank you for the amazing review regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It is wonderful to hear that you liked our food offer and excellent customer service. Regarding the beach, we regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you visit us. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia royal bavaro hotel punta cana, catalonia royal bavaro punta cana, royal catalonia bavaro
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Which popular attractions are close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Punta Cana (5.7 km), Coco Bongo Punta Cana (5.1 km), and Don Lucas Cigars (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lorenzillo's Punta Cana, Noah Restaurant & Lounge, and Pearl Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Catalonia Royal Bavaro offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.