We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Occidental Caribe

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Caribe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Caribe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,167: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Punta Cana Feb 7-15, 2013. There was a group of 24 of us all friends and family. We arrived to the resort around 12 am after a long day of delays and lost luggage, so we werent in the greatest mood when we got there and we were exhausted, staff was not very friendly at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Customer’s feedback is very important to us. We have reviewed your post regarding your recent trip to our hotel and we are deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, which resulted in you not having an entirely pleasing holiday, although we work... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Beach -- Outstanding! We walked in both directions and the beach at BPC is much nicer than at any other hotel. Powder white sand, though if you look close, there is quite a bit of red/pink in it. Really pretty. This is what we go for, so we were in no way disappointed here. There were always some waves, some... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank got2vaca
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. We are very so sad to read that we couldn´t fill your expectations fully regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests. We take all guest feedback very seriously because,... More 

Punta cana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Finishing up our annual 10 stay to this resort and like other trips have had an incredible time here. The unique location of the resort, friendly and helpful staff, variety of restaurants, and meal choices, and value for your money keep us coming back and back year after year. If you want a smaller resort right on the beach, then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank B Y
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud... More 

Iowa City, Iowa, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had great hopes for this place because we had read some really bad reviews before we booked this resort, but thought that we would give it the benifit of the doubt. Well ... we are joining the group that got took and didn't recieve the service and acccomodations that we should have. Our 1st night there ..... our air... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bev G
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Bev, Thank you to share your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. We are sad that we couldn´t fill your expectation about our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service to give our best service to our guests. In your case, all the mentioned issues could absolutely be fixed in time, as we have a... More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I generally can find something good to say about anything, but this was the worst vacation of my life. The hotel was not clean, the rooms often not working properly, bad acoustics (could hear every footstep and voice in the hall at any hour). Most of the staff were rude or did not seem to care. There was a lot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Sam, First of all thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve... More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Day 1 Good check in time but only because we have purchased the Premium Level, others wait in long line as workers make little effort to speed things along. We arrive at the room with our luggage not far behind and the safe doesn't work so we sit around waiting for maintenance man. Finally go for supper at the buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norm780
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. As you are staying at the hotel, but your review does not give us any information on your room number or last name, we would appreciate if you contact our efficient Guest Service in order to help you with any discomfort that you may have. Please note that... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I was concerned about All the bad reviews on the this resort, I couldn't believe it, This is a wonderful Resort. My room # was 3142, clean and the maid was amazing, the food was great, This the first time when i was on a holiday that i never got sick, I never had any problems with any service, In... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy R
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests. We feel glad to read that you... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is a beautiful resort with an amazing beach. The problem is the staff do not appear to care about their patrons. This is not a 2* resort and is not cheap. We expected much better! When we arrived we attempted to check in and were told by the front desk clerk "Elivis Lopez" that he had no reservation in... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank rob2456
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve... More 

Wahnapitae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I just returned from a vacation at the Barcelo Punta Cana (Jan 30th - Feb 6th, 2013). I will start off by saying that this resort is a little on the older side but there were always staff working to improve its esthetics on a daily basis. We stayed in building #2, which was overwhelmingly loud for some reason. I... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Angele A
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Angele, First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community. We would like to thank you for highlighting our strengths and weaknesses. Please be sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order... More 

North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We recently returned from our trip to the Barcelo Punta Cana. We stayed there for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The beach is very nice, clean and well taken care of. Their pools were also nice. There were jacuzzis there, but not heated and didn't look very clean...needlesss to say we didn't use them. We stayed in room... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Trudy W
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review

Dear Trudy, Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our... More 

7,834 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7559)
Viewed
Dining (473)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1063)
Viewed
View from Room (359)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1795)
Viewed
Room/Suite (672)
Viewed
Bathroom (160)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (24)
Viewed
6:29
Videos (12)
Viewed
Other (2862)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Adult Pool (9)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Deluxe (35)
Viewed
Jacuzzis (4)
Viewed
Quiet Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Suite (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
30.6 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#41 of 110 in Punta Cana
825 reviews
11.1 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
1.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#58 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Barcelo Occidental Punta Cana
4.9 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.7 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao - Arena Gorda, s/n, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: $212 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo
Hotel Style:
#35 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Caribe staff and other travellers.
353 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (353)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Caribe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have it all.”
 of 5 bubbles 160omayrag, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The oceanfront, west side of the building has a great view and was quiet.”
  • The view from 2401
 of 5 bubbles Playa_Picante, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here - the room ventilation draws from the garbage / sewage area and you will have this smell in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles ResonableTraveller, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from building 3 4th floor by kitchen- very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Angentrish, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont book here”
  • Mini Bar
  • Roof in room
  • View from room
  • Sheets
  • Sheets
  • Sheet
  • 2306
  • Sheet
 of 5 bubbles StockholmFamily, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay