We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9,995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 8,995: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I visited the Gran Bahia Principe in Jamaica between July 11 and 18. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend this resort. Here are some of my observations, I hope they can be helpful to you as you plan your next trip. We flew with Air Canada Vacations from Montreal (changed planes in Toronto) to... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank prsa23
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for posting your positive comments on trip advisor and for recommending us. Our guest opinion is of great importance to us and we are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations. We are pleased to know that we could have provided you with a delightful stay and that most of all you... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a week and it is a lovely facility. The room was very comfortable, especially when you need to escape the sun during its zenith. The staff was wonderful, especially Marvin in the Orchid buffet restaurant. He was so friendly and welcoming, remembering our family every morning, making sure we had everything we needed and starting our... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Ann N
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to know that our you and your partner had enjoyed our facilities such as the pool, room, food at both the Orchid & Janpanese resturants and the service of our wonderful staff especially Marvin. We do appreciate your feedback and take not of yours concerns so that we can inform the relevant department heads... More 

Manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can't believe that a country who thrives on tourism would allow vultures aka the Bahia Principe privilege club to set up shop and take advantage of guests. Beware of them! They are set up all over the hotel trying to lure guests who are here to relax. Every corner, sure you can say No thanks I'm not interested but... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Diocha
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Diocha, On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club we want to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have endured during your vacation and your interaction with our Promotions Team. The Privilege Club is always open and willing to improve its... More 

toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at GBP from July 6-13. Front desk staff was helpful check-in is was fast and easy. Our room was 18321 right at the end of the building close to the beach and the pool. Room very big and spacious. the view on the balcony was amazing. Bathroom was all so spacious with a stand up shower and a... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Chrisg95
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Chris, We would like to acknowledge we have received your comments shared on TripAdvisor. We appreciate to know you enjoyed the beauty of the property, room, pool, beach, food and the service of our wonderful staff. Thank you for spending your vacation with us and we do hope to see you in the near future. Yours Sincerley, Cassandra Gentles... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Going to the a grand Bahia was my first time being in Jamaica and I must say my expectations were not only met but they were surpassed. They have the most friendliest and patient staff. There were so many people from all over that come to stay at the hotel, and to be honest I was more annoyed and disappointed... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Bekah L
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to acknowledge that we have received your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you and your best friend enjoyed your holidays at our Resort. On behalf of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we thank you again for your remarks and we... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Travelled with First Choice to this fantastic hotel. Check in was quick and smooth being golden club we had a private club to check in from. Our cases we're taken up to our room for us which we didn't have long to wait for. Also as Golden club the safe in the room is free but you have to put... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank timspencer
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to know that our guest had a fantastic holiday on our property. Thank you for your feedback; it is of great importance that we know our guest opinion. In regards to your mention of drugs sale on the beach. Drug use is strictly prohibited on the property. Although, unfortunately we know sometimes this... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a well deserved 2 week holiday to Jamaica and didnt want to come home!!!! Everything was truly fantastic. Such a relaxing trip. Would thoroughly recommend. We are one of these Privilege Club members and its been the best thing we have done. Despite what people say it is NOT a timeshare and your options are... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HammoSDKL
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. We are happy to know that you had a relaxing vacation and that we have met all your expectations. On behalf of our Management and staff we would like to say thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica the best resort... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here June 16-20 with my 17 year old son. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view in the main building. The resort itself is huge and beautiful, and most of the staff (especially the security) were very nice. I didn't go to the sales pitch when I got the 'you won'-a-gram, because I knew what it was and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Emclarty
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, There is nothing more important for us, than to meet our guest’s expectations. That is why we thank you very much for kindly sharing your review. We would like to express our gratitude for the highlighted aspects you have really enjoyed, while taking note of all your recommendations that we ensure will be appropriately communicated to our Management,... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After a 90min delay at Gatwick, 9 hr flight and then another hr delay at Montego Bay Airport because someone took a case that looked notning like theirs, we finally arrived at GBP Jamaica on 26th July . We were instantly impressed with the quickness of check in. The hotel is clean comfortable and the food was great. The jerk... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank doy682000
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your detailed review and your time to post your comments on Trip Advisor letting us know about our performance during your stay. Thank you for you comments. We also noted your observation which will be taken into consideration. It was truly our pleasure to have hosted you and we are looking forward to host you... More 

Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Check in went well Opened the room door (14305) and the smell hit me mildew!!!!! Visually the room appeared clean, the smell was coming from the curtains they are very old and ( maybe they have been rained on a few times or installed in early 2000's but never clean!!!!!****Tip to the hotel paint the walls,steam clean to upholstery in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Haleema H
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear User of Trip Advisor, We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback about your stay at our Resort. It is always concerning when guests are not completely satisfied with some of our service, however we really appreciate this feedback that represents an opportunity to improve our services, products and human... More 

10,946 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10695)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2296)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2426)
Viewed
View from Room (645)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (40)
Viewed
Dining (817)
Viewed
Room/Suite (926)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (168)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (28)
Viewed
Other (3291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite ocean view (2)
Viewed
Lobby (1)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
84.7 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
54.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.6 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,505 reviews
4.9 km away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
2.4 km away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 8 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 850 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Price Range: $245 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica staff and other travellers.
1,122 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (1122)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“accessibility, beautiful views, best food, excellent staff”
 of 5 bubbles missferris, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You could try gold club Ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles 827PaulH, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the outdoor shopping if you prefer quiet during the night”
 of 5 bubbles pmeljess, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor in buildings A, B, C”
 of 5 bubbles CynthiaL380, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for Golden Club as all of those rooms are seaview”
  • Seaview room on the 6th Floor
 of 5 bubbles michaelmU4887TP, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay