We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canario Boutique Hotel

Hotels.comUS$80*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$89*
US$80*
US$89*
US$80*
US$89*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Canario Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Canario Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a wonferful place to get in the mood for your adventure. Tiny by comparison but all the old wood in the lobby, and the sitting room will amaze. Rooms are small and comfy, plain. Bath gets the job done. You can leave food in the fridge and good coffee is out in the am. Service is friendly. Couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 372bob
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a wonderful time at our property and were able to experience the best the island has to offer. We have taken notice to your suggestions to make necessary adjustments to ensure a better service in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was charged for charges on this hotel and I never visited this hotel. I had call this hotel and advised to them that I never came to this hotel. They stated that I booked 3 reservations in the same week and then canceled. Why would I book 3 reservations for the same week?? I advised that to the person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyson W
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding your reservations. You bought a non-refundable room type through a third party booking company. The hotel charged your room as it received a cancellation from you. We followed our Cancellation and non-refundable policies as stated in the reservations. We may reinstate your reservation for a future date less the...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

It is very difficult to find free parking. If you can't find free parking you have to pay $20 per day to stay in a a parking garage a few blocks away. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. The rooms don't have microwaves, refrigerators, or blow dryers. The room does come with the hardest...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David C
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're not a high end hotel, we're a small boutique hotel with simple rooms and amenities. We are known for our great location in the heart of Condado and our friendly staff. We're very sorry that your stay with us wasn't how you expected it. We’ll work hard to fix...

Flushing, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We needed to find a cheap hotel to stay after my mother got sick towards the end of our Southern Caribbean Cruise and needed to be admitted at Auxilio Mutuo in Puerto Rico for 5 days. The staffs are nice, friendly and helpful especially Fernando, Ida and Christian. Mr. Froilan Torres was the first person we met and found him...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and at our island. Our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Worst stay ever. Very small room, non-working tv, all in all uninviting. No breakfast service, cheap toiletries. It is not what it looks from the outside. I left after the first night (out of 5 night-stay). You are better off in an Airbnb.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yamil1973
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We will take what you wrote to better our service in the near future. Our hotel is centrally located in Ashford ave. close to the action and just a block away from the beach. Our property offers all the simple basic amenities but not the high cost...

Chicago
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

When our flight back home was cancelled due to weather, we had to extend our trip by 2 nights and found this inexpensive hotel in a centrally located area (Condado=one of our favorites). However, based on the reviews we saw we thought we were going to be ok. Little did we know the nightmare would start at check-in. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Genuine620
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience. The city's main water pipe broke down and could not supply water in the area, luckily we do have 4 huge back up water cisterns in cases such as this, although we ran out of water during the night we did replenish the cisterns so our guests could use the...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This place was exceptional cute. Front desk service was okay. You could use a beach towel they had but if you didnt bring it back there was a $25.00 charge. We left one in the room and the cleaning staff took it. We explained and did not get charged a bit of a hassel. The rooms were small but clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful time at our property and we hope to see you again soon. Take care.

Saratoga Springs, Utah
Reviewed 6 March 2017

It is what it is. Small botique hotel right next to major upscale chain hotels like the Marriott but for 1/3'rhe cost or,less. However, if you try to book directly with the hotel they will only give you the rack rate which is double any booking internet sites. This is an old old hotel so it is what it is....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charliecamel2363
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are conveniently located in the center of Condado between Hotel casinos, restaurants and bars. We are also a block away from the beach and provide beach towels upon request. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This is a small hotel with a great location. I would recommend if you're solo or with one person. It has all the basics plus a great location. Will recommend it for people who want to get the most out of location and don't plan on spending the day in their hotel room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricsters
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to know you had a wonderful stay at Canario Boutique Hotel. You were in the middle of all the action in Condado, close enough to walk to various bars, restaurants and Casinos, as well as a block away from the beach. We also offer rooms with two beds and rooms with...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This place is located in condado area which has a lot of activity all around. Restaurants, beach, casinos,and even a CVS that carries everything from medicine to liquor. Great price and great staff. They even helped us throw a surprise birthday party for a family member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P402GLmanuelr
Fernando S, Guest Relations Manager at Canario Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our property, our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcomed and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Take care.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 46 in San Juan
315 reviews
0.6 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
334 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 46 in San Juan
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
620 reviews
1.0 km away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Casa Del Caribe Inn
Casa Del Caribe Inn
#19 of 29 in San Juan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Canario Boutique Hotel

Address: 1317 Cond Ashford Plz, San Juan 00911-1102, Puerto Rico (Formerly Canario Inn)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $87 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canario Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Canario Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario Hotel San Juan
El Canario Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canario Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Palm Desert, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Canario Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you want to haul luggage try for a first floor room.”
charliecamel2363, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The first floor is best, in my opinion, because it allows for quick access to the kitchen and courtyard.”
M4632NOanthonyp, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel's website provides pictures of the rooms.”
johnfO1796QB, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any room is nice, quieter away from the street. No elevator.”
ModdyinVermont, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, clean and easily accessible.”
L5509SEgustavog, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$80
Hotwire.comUS$80
Booking.comUS$89
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates