We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Terraza De San Juan

262 Calle Del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421 Puerto Rico
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/04/22
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (695)
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (440)


#6 of 58 hotels in San Juan
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs.
Read more
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
851Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 612
  • 155
  • 41
  • 22
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
YAJUR ARORA wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York45 contributions51 helpful votes
Don’t be fooled by the good reviews here like I was. It’s a dead hotel, with no amenities or services. Other than it’s location there is nothing going for it. There is no functional restaurant or bar. No provision for tea or coffee. Really small rooms and very basic bathrooms. The hotel is completely charmless. Their rooftop was deserted and sad. They don’t even bother turning on the lights. For everything from drinking water to beverages, you’d be told to go to the supermarket. Part time staff comes and goes, and no one cares about the guest experience. Zero hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Deborah Camejo, Revenue Management at La Terraza De San Juan
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Yajurarora: We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations, I am glad you enjoyed our prime location since is close to many restaurants, Bars, shops and a beautiful ocean view, we have coffee 24/7 in our lobby and there is a vending machine in our rooftop with lots of drinks. Our staff member is indeed our greatest value added, they look for anything our guests require. Maybe when you arrived to the front desk they were doing some other task and I apologize for the inconvenience this may cause. I hope you can come back to our beautiful island as we will start opening our bars and restaurants. Best Regards, Deborah
Read more
nightndawn wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York241 contributions23 helpful votes
For a change I decided to stay it out a bit out of the way, and in a quiet area. La Terraza was one of the places that came up in the research. The street in all cobble-stone, and the hotel in in the middle of the street. Had to wait a bit as the person at the front desk had stepped out. My room was large and quaint and on the first floor (ground floor for nonAmericans) in the back. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was so-so. You have to wait for a minute or so for the hotwater to start coming. The rooms open into a common area with a sofa, a stationary workout bike, and a shelf with books left by visitors from the past. The roof has a small soaking pool, and a japanese style beer, softdrinks and sake vending machine which takes CC and Apple Pay :) From the roof you can see into the port, get a beer and sit down for a drink. In the morning, you can get coffee from the front desk where there is a old fashioned coffee maker. I would say it was delightful to get an espresso as well as Cafe au-lait. There is also a bar to the side of the main entrance, which I never say to be in use. Entry after hours is through the side gate with a secret code combination lock. The only slight hassle was insufficient outlets for charging. But, I carry a small power strip and used the side lamp outlet to charge my devices. I would stay there if I were staying in Old San Juan.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza De San Juan
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, We are glad that you took every detail of our beautiful enchanted Hotel to describe it in this remarkable review, you made it clear that you discovered our hidden gem. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Deborah.
Read more
adriperezf wrote a review Oct 2021
13 contributions1 helpful vote
Location, location, location. It is within walking distance of all the nightlife of Calle San Sebastian and the world famous bar La Factoria, as well as top rated restaurants like El Jibarito. It is also very close to the colonial forts. Hotel staff were very nice and they greet you with a complimentary drink. The colonial style of the hotel makes it charming and welcoming. My only complaint is that I could not control the AC from my room. You had to call the front desk so that they could come and change the AC for you with the remote control that they keep at all times. Other than that, I absolutely loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza De San Juan
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you loved our enchanted Hotel and our location. Human resource is our most valuable asset and I am happy that our staff was able to impact your stay positively. Hope to see you again with us. Kindly, Deborah.
Read more
Eyrops wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia27 contributions11 helpful votes
From start to finish, a terrible experience. Upon arrival, we were ignored for 10 minutes while the receptionist made coffee for someone. When we finally were given our key, it was to a unit that was only accessible by walking through the hotel’s luggage storage. The unit’s bedroom had no windows. It had a sitting chair that was so worn that it hurt to sit on it— your butt went straight to the frame. Worse, the bed mattress was collapsed from overuse— there was a deep indentation in the shape of a human body. The sheets and quilt were thin and worn, the kind you would expect in a youth hostel, not a hotel costing $200+ per night. When I asked for a change, they did accommodate. The new unit was better, but it was still very bad. Water steadily dripped from the ceiling in the bathroom, and one side of the bedsheets had little dots that looked like dried blood (bug bites?). The main door had shutters, meaning that noise traveled in constantly from the hallway. All around, this might be the worst hotel I’ve stayed at during the last 10 years— and I travel every few weeks when there isn’t a pandemic. Strongly recommend you book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Mariyoan Guzman, Revenue Management at La Terraza De San Juan
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear guest, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I personally remember checking you in while covering our Front Desks agent break. As soon as I saw you come in through the door I asked you if you were checking in to let you know that I was going to be with you next after finishing with the current clients I was attending. They asked me for coffee which we offer at check in and as soon as I finished with their check in and coffee, I was diligently providing you with a free early check in and walked you to your room. I am sorry that you felt ignored but my intention was to be polite and recognized your presence since I saw you coming into the Hotel. The bedroom assigned is exactly what you booked and has a more than 5 windows. The bed area does not have a window but its open door concept makes the room very luminous. When you mentioned your disconformity with the room we did not hesitate to change you to another unit. Our bed sheets are high quality and we are more than happy to change them if you are not satisfied with them. Again, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you did enjoy our beautiful rooftop views and enchanting location in the heart of Old San Juan. Kindly, Mari
Read more
Chattdude wrote a review Feb 2021
Chattanooga, Tennessee7 contributions
This place has class and style. Traditional floor tile and furnishings is like a step back in time. The small rooftop pool is perfect for a mid day cool off. As well grab an expresso at the front desk and start your morning on the roof top. And smoke a cigar in the late evening on the rooftop. Yes. We so enjoyed the roof top overlooking the city. We visited during COVID and all protocols were followed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Can’t wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
US$108 - US$351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
CaribbeanPuerto RicoSan Juan
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Terraza De San Juan
Which popular attractions are close to La Terraza De San Juan?
Nearby attractions include Old San Juan (0.2 km), Castillo de San Cristobal (0.3 km), and The Poet's Passage (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Terraza De San Juan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Terraza De San Juan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Terraza De San Juan?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to La Terraza De San Juan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar, Sofia's Old San Juan, and Chocobar Cortés.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Terraza De San Juan?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Terraza De San Juan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to La Terraza De San Juan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old San Juan (0.2 km), Castillo San Felipe del Morro (1.0 km), and San Juan National Historic Site (3.6 km).
Is La Terraza De San Juan accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.