We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Terraza de San Juan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Terraza de San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 716: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Location, Location, Location... this tiny hotel is on a great spot in Old San Juan... close enough to the places you want to be, like El Morro, Castillo de San Felipe, La Factoria, Mala Vida, Cubanito and Lupulo, but "far" enough to get a good night sleep. Another treat of this little gem is its terrace on the top floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhitHouston
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I have stayed here in the past and loved it but I was very disappointed with this trip and will not be returning. Our room was located on the 1st floor next to their bar. The first night we were there the music and noise from the bar ended around 9 pm. I thought that this was a respectable time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cmh103
LaTerrazaHotel, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan, responded to this review

Our deepest apologies for the experience you had at our Hotel. We do have the Gym bar and the Terrace bar open from Friday until Sunday. However, considering our guests comfort we close the bar upstairs at 11pm and the bar downstairs at 12 am, in cases like this front desk will indicate the clients to lower their voices if...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I was totally shocked on entering my room and seeing that there was no window. I mean I just stood there thinking it was a joke but it was the sad reality. My understanding was that for hygiene reasons and ventilation all hotel rooms should have windows. I asked the staff why I didn't have a room with a window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 91555rls
LaTerrazaHotel, Manager at La Terraza de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear 91555rls I am really taken aback by your feedback. It is to my knowledge that all of our rooms are thoroughly described in all of our booking sites. Therefore I am surprised to read that you were "shocked" upon entering the room that you reserved, since you yourself reserved this room without an exterior window. As you know our...

Florida Keys, Florida
Reviewed 25 October 2016

My wife and I booked this hotel for these main reasons: great price, location and close to cruise port.. We stayed here before and after our cruise from San Juan. Rooms: The first night we stayed in the basic room which is called " superior room" or something like that. It was the cheapest one. It was ok and nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GabrielSanab
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My better half and I we were hoping to just make a switch from our regular lives (work, kid,dogs etc), we live in Condado are so, I picked la Terraza, booked a upgraded room by phone with a balcony (really just doors that open to the outside, you can barely even stand. I really wanted to love this place, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Franchesca M
LaTerrazaHotel, Manager at La Terraza de San Juan, responded to this review

Dear Franchesca M. I am disappointed and somewhat surprised to hear we did not fulfil some of your expectations, specifically those relating to our customer service. As you may know from other reviews, the quality of our service is both our pride and a stronghold at La Terraza. I apologize for any behaviour that you might deem unprofessional on the...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We wanted to like our experience at La Terraza but there were many factors working against it. The first was that when we called the hotel they told us they had a set up agreement with a nearby parking garage for overnight parking. After 45 minutes of navigating old San Juan's maze of one way, under construction and closed cobble...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jojosgirl23
LaTerrazaHotel, General Manager at La Terraza de San Juan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and rest assure that we will take into consideration your recommendations. Every review we receive are checked and studied to make the necessary improvements. Our deepest apologies if you felt you were missed informed or mistreated about the parking situation, we do offer La Cochera parking because it is close to the hotel and...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We spent three days in this hotel. It is well located and the hotel staff is very nice. The room was good in size, and so was the bathroom. The only drawback is that we had an interior room in the ground floor and our window was practically useless as it was facing a narrow and dirty courtyard. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen_Fogg
Long Island, NY
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at La Terraza--the hotel is quaint and clean and with plenty of that old charm expected for the heart of San Juan. La Terraza is located centrally in OSJ and in walking distance to restaurants, shops and the forts. The king deluxe room I had on the ground floor was spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaitlynn M
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel in historic building! The hotel was beautifully restored while keeping its original charm. The suite we stayed in was spacious and elegant with three large doors that opened onto a private terrace. Stunning views of Calle de Sol! The rooftop terrace and pool has great views of all of downtown Viejo San Juan and is a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
Reviewed 19 September 2016

we had an overnight stay at this hotel. the receptionists are very informative and we are very happy with our stay. the place is in the center of the city of San Juan.its trolley is free so you can view the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy B

1,060 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (560)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (193)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (452)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Suite Bay View (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Suite Street View (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite (94)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (22)
Viewed
Garden Suite (52)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,646 reviews
4.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
176 reviews
3.2 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $217 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Terraza de San Juan staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Chicago, Illinois, United States
New York City, New York
11 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from La Terraza de San Juan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only toured the hotel”
dayned2014, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Better to be away from the elevator. It hums when moving, which might be annoying to some.”
  • Loved the ambiance of the room!
mom2aussies, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are unique, make your expectations known!”
943marvism, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Noise travels down from top. Bring some earplugs if they have a late night party on the roof.”
  • Suite view...looking towards bedroom.
C6632ACdaniela, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can get one of the apartment rooms, they seem bigger and more comfortable.”
islandboy4ever, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5