We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Bookit.comUS$275*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$578*
US$275*
Great Deal
US$430*
US$279*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,531: English reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Very professional did everything possible for me. Always a beautiful smile willing to please thanks again . I have to say only positive things to say about Vicky for her customer fiesta she does her job with immense professionnalism and discretion great job looking forward to going back . Tks to Brianda Ruby & Jamal for a great week of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne S
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate your detailed review for other readers to get the idea. We hope you manage a return visit one day soon and hope to see you then. Hope all is well with you! - Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2015

First I would like to comment that I have never written a review before, but felt it is critical to let people know what to expect. I will start with the positive---the staff of the hotel were excellent. They were enthusiastic, and friendly, from the front desk, to the restaurant servers to the bar keeps and the house keeping staff....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SEL1249
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate your detailed review for other readers to get the idea. We hope you manage a return visit one day soon and hope to see you then. Hope all is well with you! - Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Rooms: The rooms are dirty coupled with a strong musty smell provides for a very unhealthy environment. Showers were horrible and slippery when there was water. Air conditioning didn't work when working it was so loud you cannot sleep. In addition the A/C vents are caked with mold and some other unidentified substance. The Beds are small, old and very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mike h
marsdencreative, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

I appreciate your info and time spent to write the review. I have submitted it to the management team. The same day you reviewed several positive reviews also came in. It's unfortunate that you had a different experience during your stay. I'll get back to you soon, - Martha

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

All of the staff from the check in staff to the wait staff provided great service! However the entertainment staff provided great entertainment and was very personable!! The activities were fun! The entertainment staff Roobzzz, Tevin, Jeanmal, Devon, Briamda and Nosmarie made my stay memorable and fun! Roobzz is the life of the party! Even when they aren't conducting activities,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MisterGhee
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate your detailed review for other readers to get the idea. We hope you manage a return visit one day soon and hope to see you then. Hope all is well with you! - Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We were treated very well and enjoyed all of the staff! Was worried because of 1 negative review on here... completely unfounded, our stay truly exceptional! Casino was fun, spa was great, beach, all included restaurants, drinks were all top shelf (not well like we expected). WILL BE BACK!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJMARTINI
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate your detailed review for other readers to get the idea. We hope you manage a return visit one day soon and hope to see you then. Hope all is well with you! - Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2015

While we had an island view room (#408)with a great view of the street and driveway it did not matter as we only were in our room to sleep, nap and shower. The room was clean and cool. We did hear a lot of street noise at times but were able to deal with it. The view from the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Doug_D
LiveMaho, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in St. Maarten. We certainly appreciate your detailed review for other readers to get the idea. We hope you manage a return visit one day soon and hope to see you then. Hope all is well with you! - Martha Guest Engagement Coordinator

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 14 November 2015

St. Maarten is beautiful, no doubt! Hotel service wasn't the greatest, 1 pool server for the entire pool, and the bar is usually 2-3 deep of people waiting to order drinks. Not enough chairs around the pool, need to get down early to save chairs, otherwise you are out of luck. Food was very good, there are really only 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seanne M
marsdencreative, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Seanne, Thanks for your input. I'll pass along to management your suggestions for the need of additional pool bar staff, etc. Of course getting those cold drinks in hand ASAP in the sunshine of St. Maarten while in vacation mode is a necessity! Glad to hear "food was very good" and "A good time was had." If you are looking...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Just returned from a great holiday at our new favourite Island, St, Maarten. Sonesta Great Bay was a perfect location, walking distance to Phillipsburgh with a wonderful ocean view. Accommodations were good and food choices and quality were excellent. Staff at this resort were all very friendly and helpful. A family atmosphere, being a smaller sized resort, was very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
marsdencreative, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Ron, very pleased to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us here at Great Bay Beach Resort! I'll for sure pass along your positive feedback to our management and staff. There are other surrounding islands and you may pass through SXM again, if so you may enjoy checking out our other 2 resorts in Maho, St. Martin to switch...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2015

3rd time at the Sonesta Great Bay in St. Maarten. Always treated with a friendly, gracious and excellent service. Special "tip of the hat" to Innocent. He makes our stay extra special every time....thanks again. We will always come to St. Maarten, but Innocent is why we come to the Sonesta.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eddie C
marsdencreative, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Eddie, So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay yet again. I'll be sure to notify Innocent and his Management about your special "tip of the hat!" lol. - Martha

Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Just got back from one of my best vacations ever. Travelled with 9 other women and had a blast. Without a doubt, the employees at this resort are the politest, friendliest and all are very willing to help make your vacation memorable. This resort is in a perfect location, close enough to walk to Philipsburg. The food in the buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P0key1
marsdencreative, Guest Engagement Coordinator at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

HI there... I believe I met you ladies from Canada at the managers Cocktail Party ! You sure do know how to have fun and I had fun dancing and singing along with ya'll. Thanks so much for writing this glowing review and we hope you can all come back for another visit! I'll notify Alexander and Rudy of this...

3,386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2862)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (423)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (654)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (276)
Viewed
View from Room (294)
Viewed
Dining (183)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (972)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,748 reviews
7.9 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: $390 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
545 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (545)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view is the way to go.”
Nunnan, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for the ocean view is unbeatable”
peter2018483, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a ocean view on the apartment side of the resort”
kennethbC5765YV, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the balcony is the best, especially if it rains you can still enjoy the view”
sna0412, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid island view for a better sleep”
Bill195005, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Bookit.com
US$275* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$430
Expedia.comUS$279
travelup.comUS$578
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates