We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,437: English reviews
Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2015

When you travel to the Islands the Food and the Staff can make your vacation or break it! Let me say that the Food was Amazing and the Staff Serving like Jonathan and Charlene made you feel Special! The chefs are doing it Right! In the Omelet Station Penka was always smiling and making our breakfast daily taste awesome! We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kathleen49
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen49, Thank you for sharing your time with us. We're pleased to see you enjoyed our resort, the food, staff, Pizza, and views. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 31 May 2015

On the other side of the bay from where the cruise ships dock, this is a great location. About a 100 yard walk to the boardwalk of the Dutch capital of Philipspburg. Meticulously clean in the rooms, poolside, restaurants, and beach. Though there are a few cranky staff members, the vast majority are happy and helpful, especially Nancy around the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Larry D
LiveMaho, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino and Spa. Also thank you for this great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Hope you do get the chance to visit us again! Kind Regards, Martha

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My daughter and I spent a lovely week at the Sonesta Great Bay Resort and really enjoyed it. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful! The meals were great, especially in the a la carte restaurants. We loved being able to dine at night, under the stars, and right beside the water. The location of the resort is great for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TravelAgentW
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravelAgentW, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're happy to see that you and your daughter had a lovely week with us and that you enjoyed your room. the views, adults-only aspect and staff. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2015

This is definitely the absolute BEST all inclusive resort I have ever stayed at. From the moment we drove up to the resort we felt like we were on vacation. We were helped with our bags by Jonathan, who has an amazing sense of humour. Check in was fast and friendly.Thank you to all the lovely ladies (Agatha, Shantal and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spir B
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Spir B, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so pleased to see you had an amazing time with us and that we are the best all-inclusive resort in your book. Thank you for mentioning our easy check in, clean rooms, entertainment and staff. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed over New Years. Most of the staff were AMAZING! Our room was not. The ceiling leaked on you while you used the toilet. We payed for beach view and we were blocked by the pool. The beach was fantastic! The island was amazing! We'd go back again, but with a different provider. Sunwing was the provider and half the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B357
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015

We stayed in Sonesta for 3 days as a treat while we were on our Caribbean travels in the 2 Bedroom Butler Suite. The staff were amazing, everyone was so friendly, the service was outstanding, nothing was too much for them. Massive shout out to Richard and Marcia, our butlers, who went above and beyond at all times. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jessica G
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jessica G, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're pleased to see you had a great 3 days with us and that our Butlers treated your amazingly. We hope to see you back again soon with a Bob Marley cocktail in hand. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

The hotel could use a little updating but it's in a great location and the food is great... Especially the Italian menu that is served a couple nights a week! Bartenders are attentive and Akeem and Nigel know how to keep the party going and make sure their guests have fun! However, the women who work in the restaurant are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieEndres
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 May 2015

I just returned from a week vacation at Sonesta Great Bay from May 21-May 28. First of all I can’t even begin to describe how amazing the staff at this resort is. I have been to many resorts and I have to say they have one of the best teams of staff I have ever encountered. We also went to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Stephanie D
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie D, We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us. We're glad you had a nice week long stay with us and we are already missing you too, so we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Sonesta Great Bay Resort is in bad need of a makeover. One person at checkin - took forever. Room was outdated. Bathroom tile and ceiling had mold. Our balcony over looked a retention pond that smelled like a sewer. Food service was poor. Food selection never changed and always cold. On the first day of arrival our room door would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ann C
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ann C, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better time with us and assure you that we have gone over your comments with our Management Team. We do hope to see you back in the future so we can restore your confidence in us. Best regards, Sonesta Great...

Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We just got back from staying here for 9 days for our honeymoon and we had a blast. The location is right by the ocean, the pools are clean, and the staff was very friendly. I was a little nervous about some of the bad reviews but went in with an open mind. We had a very helpful, friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kimberly F
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly F, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad you decided to stay with us to celebrate your honeymoon and that you made such great memories here. We hope to see you and your husband again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

3,317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2793)
Viewed
View from Room (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (411)
Viewed
Dining (178)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (645)
Viewed
Room/Suite (271)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (949)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,736 reviews
1.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: $418 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
520 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (520)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a rental car so you can explore SXM, even though you could have a great time without ever leaving the Sonesta Great Bay Resort!”
 of 5 bubbles D2415GFmiked, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach view rooms are much better than street view.”
 of 5 bubbles TheTravellingPirate, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay above 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles gangdarla, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the bay view room. It's worth the extra bucks.”
 of 5 bubbles E467RLbobs, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is the only way to go”
 of 5 bubbles jimdQ5263QY, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5