We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sea Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sea Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sea Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This place was ok, for the price. That's the good part. The Chinese restaurant is the worst I've ever been to and the owners are downright surly. This part of the island is dangerous after dark, so plan on staying inside. Day time is ok, but it's a dingy area. The boardwalk in front is deserted at night and most...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank miscenes
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to see your opinion of Phillipsburg. The Sea Palace is one of in the largest cities in St. Maarten and it is rather metropolitan (by island standards). That means parking will be difficult. Most visitors staying in Phillipsburg rent cars for a couple of day trips because there is little parking. The cruise ships generally depart...

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from St. Maarten Sea Palace. The back of the hotel is right on the beach in Philipsburg. Why are you in the Caribbean?? I believe you are there for the weather, the water, the view, plus rest and relaxation. So overlook the room being below average. They have not been updated in years! They...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Andy12AB
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your tips for the island and your stay at Sea Palace. We are very sorry that you weren’t a fan of the beds, but you were completely correct in your statement that we are renovating the resort extensively. By sharing your feedback it’s a great way for us to get to know from our valued guests...

Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As someone already said; not a Palace, but nice anyway.. After a room change we stayed in a 4th floor corner one bedroom apartment, which was large and clean. A wide balcony over Front Street, and a narrow balcony over the side alley. The location is perfect, the backside of the hotel right on the beach with reserved beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph E
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay at Sea Palace! You are correct that we are renovating – our brand new sliding glass doors and windows were one of the things we are most excited about so we are thrilled to hear that you noticed and liked them! We hope to have you back in...

New York
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week at St. Maarten Sea Palace. The hotel is right on busy Front Street in Philipsburg. As long as you're not expecting luxury accomodations, you will be alright. As others have said, the place is badly in need of renovation and you can clearly see that nothing has been done to it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda1164
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing all your feedback with us! We truly value the feedback and the time that you had to take away from your day to share your experience! As far as the renovations go, you are correct. Our resort was lacking some of the TLC it deserved and in 2013 we brought on a new management company and...

Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Sea Palace wasn't a luxury accomodation but it was very comfortable and perfect for our needs! The penthouse condo on the 7th floor easily accomodated all 6 of us. We had great views and plenty of space. The place was clean and while a bit dated, more than enough for us. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cindy M
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience! We are delighted to hear that it was a spacious and comfortable stay with us! We are in the process of renovating the entire resort so we hope that you have a return stay with us in the future when we promise you won’t feel that it is at...

Citrus Springs, Florida
Reviewed 14 October 2013

please people do not go to sea palace just got back from 2 weeks of hell. we have been going st marrtin for 16 years abslutely the worst . room was never realy clean stove had to be replaced kepy getting shocked. noise from construction all day into night time .tv never worked properly.staff never very helpfull. no place safe...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank john w
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the Sea Palace. We are currently under renovations that will make this the best of all resorts. We would like to extend an offer to return to the Sea Palace in the future. If you would be so kind as to send your reservation information to kellert@defenderresorts.com we would be more...

Wall Township, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I agree with most of the positive reviews of this place.. We stayed there for a week early Oct We stayed here in early Oct for a week and had a nice time. We previously stayed at the sonesta which is close but it was closed this time so we picked the Sea palace as we had walked by it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gheim11
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are grateful that you chose Sea Palace for your vacation and we hope to have you back in the future! We are renovating the entire resort so we would definitely like you to come see the brand new Sea Palace!

New Jersey
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my 4th time at the Sea Palace. We love St. Marteen and enjoy our time at the Sea Palace. I can not say enough nice things about the staff. The place is yes dated. However it has always been clean and any issue I have ever had was resolved. People often comment about the safety. I have never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjtalj
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on 4 different occasions! We appreciate you return business to our resort! We are completely renovating the resort so we hop you can make a 5th trip down and see the extensive improvements we are making! Thank you for sharing your island tips and shout outs as well! Sea Palace, local businesses and Sint...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Dated? Yes. Clean and friendly? Yes. Incredible location? Yes. Great views? Yes. Would we stay there again? Yes. Any problems? No. Well, maybe the bed and sleep sofa could be a bit more comfortable. Buses and taxis were availble within a block's walk, plenty of shopping and places to eat within walking distance, especially Lizzy's--gotta try her ribs.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank talhavefun
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review! Our location is one of our most prized things (only behind our guests!) so we are glad you enjoyed it. We will share your comments on the bed and sleeper sofa and make sure we get those addressed. Thank you for letting us know as that is the best way for us to gauge...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed on the 5th floor and had a corner unit. The balcony and view are incredible! The room was clean and had more than I needed. The building is old, but I really didn't care that it was a little outdated. The view is what I was looking for, and I don't think I could find anything better. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlg92987
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! You are correct that we are in the middle of renovating and are working diligently to make sure that anything that could be dated is updated to become top of the line and current.

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.6 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
719 reviews
0.8 km away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
216 reviews
4.3 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#10 of 12 in Philipsburg
97 reviews
9.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,700 reviews
0.7 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: $164 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sea Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Sea Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better choice of food on location Outside area needs to be more neat and cleaner”
 of 5 bubbles christV7827EC, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“701 is a two-story penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles nevhoke, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best views of Great Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles janetm913, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“beachside is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles buffybotns, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“ocean view are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles 590cherylp, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay