We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chancellor Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chancellor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Chancellor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I have stayed here before and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and have the iron bedsteads that are locally made to bring visitors the island atmosphere. The location is just down the hill from the Hilton in Port of Spain. I was there in February 2015 for the carnival period where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samfromham
La Grange, Kentucky
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank llcotton
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Did you know that the hotel has thirteen varieties of palm trees in that average. The seedlings of three Royal palms imported from India for the Botanical Gardens were precariously placed around the property which the builders had to modify the architecture to accommodate.stages. Just thought i would share this information with you. We are currently replanting with buttercup...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank viajera54321
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review.

Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stay for 4 nights during the Carnival festivial in this wonderfully located hotel. The staff were friendly and we had easy access to the Carnival festivities We had a lovely bedrooms. Our room was always clean.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sh_ayala_13
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi How have you been . We missed you this Carnival 2014 ! Thank you for staying with us and be safe

port-of spain
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Wow! Double wow, this is unbelievable but not sure who is responsible. This has to be taken as a signal of trickery and you can imagine what next . Let me get to the point, the picture of the hotel is false, that is the official residence of the Archbishop of Port-of -Spain located around the savannah and one of...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 22Truthseeker
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for sending this review. This picture that you have seen is not one that we have placed online

Trinidad
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Pro: If u looking for the simplest of places, somewhere just to rest you head while you take in the city of port of spain, its here. if you have access to transport, here's a great location. Clean, simple room. Decor minimal. theres a closet, with a iron and ironing board,and hangers Balconey view of the northern range somewhat enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shinra_Tensei
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comment which i have reviewed with my operations manager. I have had some issues with my pool , as you may have realised but it was unfortunate that it happened during your stay. I do want to say however that our rooms were remodelled from apartments where some of our great artists once resided. I agree...

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewed 9 November 2012

i stayed at The Chancellor Hotel for two months last year Dec 2011- Jan 2012. i enjoyed the ambiance, and would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you on a budget stay. There menu was quite intriguing with both local and International dishes. Staff members made me feel like home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dayan S
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Sammy Thank you for your response. Let us know how best we can be of service to you in the future. Thanks Lisa

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Checked in, late at night, one person on @ reception desk, Donna, very nice. Two of us on a business trip. Kitchen closed but she made us a sandwich. Went to my room, tile floor, w 20" tv, two "queen" metal framed beds, old but good mattresses. BR awful, had to wait 10 minutes foor some hot water, half the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mrmarino
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I spoke with the organisation that accommodated your stay concerning your issues as you were given a package deal. The rooms offered were our double deluxe rooms which can be intimidatinf for one person and also a hot continental breakfast was included. I must apologise if you were not aware of our breakfast offering, which fish is not included....

london
Reviewed 2 March 2012

we stayed at this hotel during carnival, when rooms are at a premium, and hotels charge accordingly. but one would at least like to feel that one was getting some kind of value for the money! at least this rate included parking, internet etc - i see from another review that these are probably charged separately at other times. yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rosbif_anu
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Madam, I am aware that this booking was made through a local referral for the Carnival period. It is unfortunate that we were unaware of noise disturbances during your stay. Your comments however were duly noted.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
3.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
838 reviews
0.9 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
1,911 reviews
2.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
586 reviews
0.2 km away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: Saint Ann's Avenue 5a | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Price Range: $177 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel Port Of Spain
The Chancellor Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chancellor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Chancellor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wifi can be a little spotty at times”
islandsuga, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is absolutely the best environment for a quiet vacation, ideal for nature seekers”
Jorden92, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the poolside area can be a bit noisy. Rooms on the upper floor has high pitch ceilings which gives the room a spacious feeling.”
selinabarron2012, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 311, it's right next to the pool, bar, restaurant, car park, great balcony view of the pool and courtyard.”
MarlonEspinoza, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"”
sh_ayala_13, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5