We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chaconia Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Chaconia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chaconia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Me and my husband had our wedding at Chaconia Hotel and we were disappointed with the experience, service and handling of preparations by Chaconia Hotel. We often found ourselves renegotiating matters already settled and agreed upon. It is clear that there is a lack of communication and general knowledge shared among managerial staff which was evident by the mixed information...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Kalifa147389
Trinidad
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Well booking i did over the phone 2 weeks in advance without a credit card,then on the day my husband and i arrived to celebrate our anniversary. we spent 1 night the room was comfortable, cable television, iron, small fridge, those 2 things came in handy, we just wanted the peace and quiet and we got that, we could not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank annalicia b
Trinidad
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Its a nice hotel not fancy neither is it distasteful the all inclusive breakfast was the same choices for 2 days same for dinner and lunch which taste good though but I think there should be more choices. The staff was helpful especially the chef/manager and the waitress in the dining room. The pool needs cleaning it was dirty ...all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thunderbaytrini
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband and I spent 6 days at the Chaconia Hotel from August 20 – 26, 2011. This was my second trip to the Chaconia. Our trip was primarily business related for the 6 days we were there. Once the business portion was completed, we spent 4 additional days at Coconut Cove Resort in Manzanilla. I’ve reviewed that resort separately....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank trinigirlmd
Trinidad
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I booked a stay for my fiancé's birthday and I had my skepticism due to the location but on my arrival the ambiance and the hospitality made me change my mind totally...The room was beautiful well kept the room service was great and it made the occasion memorable...No regrets and hope to be there again soon.....The staff did all they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AngelEyes23
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2011

i shoudn't have been staying at this hotel but had a arguement with my boyfriend who lives in trinidad ,so just walked in to get a room ,when i say i walked in i was argueing with my boyfriend at the time,the hotel staff must have thought i was mad!!!anyway just come back from barbados when i ended up staying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reagen
port of spain
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I booked my brothers and their families into the Chaconia hotel from the 3-11Oct (from germany...four adults and six children). I work in the service industry and am very critical where cleanliness and customer service is concerned. The staff that I met on all occasions was extremely professional and friendly and showed me the rooms for my inspection which included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irinamariaelise
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Chaconia Hotel for your family holiday and it was indeed a pleasure being of service to you and your family. Clearly your time spent here with us provided sufficient time and opportunity to assess and realize the level of service that we offer and I am indeed pleased that the impact was a positive one....

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is a complete rip off. The unfriendliness and incompetence of the staff, the quality of the room interior, the location and the quality of food are not justifying the overpriced rates. Avoid at all cost and go for the Hilton instead (part of our wedding group used it and although you pay a bit more it provides a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waldflo
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Chaconia Hotel, however, we are sadden to hear that your stay with us was an unpleasant one. It is always our intention to offer the best possible service to our guests. It seems odd that you would suggest that we are over priced when the rates and prices we offer are way below what obtains...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The room was extremely filthy, coated in dust and the windows were dirt covered. There were bits of cement on the bed covers, and the room smelled musty, as if it hadn't been aired out on weeks. It was so bad we had to leave immediately for a different hotel. The hotel staff was very rude, and at one point...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kmuffins7
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

The management of the hotel prides it's self on offering the best available comfort in terms of product and services to its guest and clearly we did not do this in your case, and for this, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused. However, I would like to assure you this is not what we ascribe to, because...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at the Chaconia for 11 days, arriving a few days before Carnival. We chose it because we could not find a better one in Port of Spain offering two beds: some hotels still had vacancies for rooms with just one bed, but we don't like to fight over the sheets at night... The Chaconia is about 6km north...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walter1945
catTrinidad, General Manager at Chaconia Hotel, responded to this review

It seemed obvious that we did not impact positively on your stay at Chaconia Hotel. Some of the events which took place during your stay are unfortunate, however, it must be noted that these are remote from what are our established standards, which are obviously highlighted in other reviews. I would like to apologize for the shortcoming and we will...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maraval
2.4 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
266 reviews
5.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
1,742 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
68 reviews
4.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
502 reviews
2.3 km away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Chaconia Hotel

Address: Saddle Road 106 | Port of Spain, Maraval, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Maraval
Price Range: $116 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaconia Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chaconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaconia Hotel Maraval
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chaconia Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chaconia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing the pool that way you have something to look at generally there are no views.”
 of 5 bubbles sparks2015, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“just ask for what you want and you will have it”
 of 5 bubbles WendyE184, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There are no elevators or bellmen so if you cannot walk upstairs make sure you request a room on a low floor.”
 of 5 bubbles jtbmom, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Bring your own linens and air fresheners.”
 of 5 bubbles 755siang, 15 Jan 2014 | Read review
“They usually give you the kind of room you require once you request it.”
 of 5 bubbles AshleyW722, 27 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay