We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$139*
US$104*
Great Deal
US$119*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sunset Gardens Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Tipton, Missouri
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

I travel to the Virgin Island 4 times a year for business and I always stay here. Sunset Gardens is close to the Airport and is a perfect location to get anywhere on the Island or to get to the ferries for other Islands. Deb is the perfect host making sure I get the best room for my needs. Being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SisKarma
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind words and for taking a few minutes out of your busy life to write us a review. Hope all is well and hope that you are having a Wonderful Holiday Season. Can't wait for your next trip.

Reviewed 9 March 2015

Stay away. They are scammers. Arrived at noon and was told to sit by the pool for 3 hours until a room is ready although there was no other guests on site. No food or bar on premise. I asked for a glass a water. I was denied a glass of water. I asked where to go to get food...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laura F
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

I do apologize that your encounter with Sunset Gardens was not a pleasant one. Please note that Check In time is 3pm and you were sent this information through your booking agent. While Check Out time is 11:30 and rooms need to be cleaned prior to checking in, we apologize for this inconvenience, but necessary to ensure your room gets...

Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Can't believe we paid $135.00 for such a low-quality room. The staff was nice though. Decent view of bay. AC didn't work and maintenance arrived immediately to fix it. Unexpectedly low quality. Internet does not work unless you sit on the balconies, it does not work inside the rooms. AC is in the bedroom and not the entire unit. Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RW P
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I had a great stay at sunset gardens. Service there was spot on. Housekeeping was very friendly and informational. This had been my second time here at St.Thomas and not my last. I have found the one and only place that I will stay at. Thank you sunset gardens. And thank you to deb and her wonderful staff. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike1869rose
Palmdale, California
Reviewed 24 February 2015

With all the other hotels booked out this was a last resort. The best thing about this place was the view of the harbor. Apart from that it's hard to be positive about much else. This was a business trip and not a vacation. I had three days of cold showers, apparently the water is heated by solar which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thumperparis
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

We apologize for the cold showers and have finally found someone that is knowledgeable about Solar Systems. Now we have loads of hot water, regardless of the Sun. We do not have daily maid service, we do however do a towel exchange and remove the garbage. Maybe in the upcoming year we will raise the prices in order to provide...

Michigan
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

We had a Confirmed reservation through Travelocity for one night at the Best Western Carib Beach which Best Western had no knowledge of when we arrived here after a cruise. Travelocity confirmed that we had reservations(paid), but hotel had no rooms. After an hour on the phone with Travelocity they came across a cancellation at Sunset Gardens and we took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caboricky
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a rough time with getting a room, but were happy to accommodate you here at Sunset Gardens. Our TV's are all Flat Screens, and all have more than 300 Satellite Channels. Satellite sometimes is affected by weather conditions. The AC yes is in the bedroom, and we have a control due to...

Lewes, DE
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We read all of the reviews and decided to take a chance on Sunset Gardens, and you get what you pay for. The room was an apartment and was supposed to have a living room with a fold out couch. No living room and the couch was a rattan loveseat. For the most part it was clean, make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LiveinUSVI
Deb_S_vi, Manager at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It took us a while to find a decent enough plumber that was familiar with Solar Hot Water Heating and are pleased that the hot water situation has been worked out. No more waiting for hot water depending only on the sun. Now we have so much hot water that has been a complaint. LOL...

Rosarito, Mexico
Reviewed 8 February 2015

I was sorry to see the negative reviews, as we have had a great experience on several occasions staying at Sunset Gardens. It is not fancy, but our rooms have always been clean, and we really appreciate having cooking facilities and a barbeque by the pool - saves money and is more convenient with children to cook dinner for ourselves....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dcilliers
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Had to grab a last minute room due to the ferry schedule. This was available and very reasonable. The manager was great and the sheets were fresh and clean but I felt that management/owners have not invested in the place for a long time. Lukewarm showers both evening and morning and a home made device that requires the room keys...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott H
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed here for a night. It is pretty cheap, which is why we picked it. The room was clean, the bed was adequate, and the shower worked... so that was good and just about all we needed for the night. However, it is quite far from restaurants and attractions. If you're going to stay in St Thomas for a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gearjunkie

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
2.0 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
623 reviews
1.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
676 reviews
1.5 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Midtown Guest House
Midtown Guest House
#12 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
23 reviews
2.5 km away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
236 reviews
2.5 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering fabulous views of the Harbor you can only get from being on Crown Mountain, this guesthouse offers free off street parking, a shared community pool with deck and grill, as well as free WiFi. Each of the simply furnished suites at Sunset Gardens Guesthouse include a fully equipped kitchenettes with kitchenware, a stove with oven, small fridge. Rooms also feature a Flat-Screen satellite TV. Some rooms offer Sofa/Bed and Private Balcony, and others offer a shared balcony. Coin-operated laundry facilities are available 24 hours a day. The nearest supermarket is 1.2 km away while Downtown Charlotte Amalie where you can shop or enjoy the walking tour is 3.2 km from the property. Pistarkle Theater is 8 km away, Mangrove Lagoon is just 12 km away, while Hassel Island is 5 km from the property. Cyril E. King Airport is a 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 11 - 4 Contant | Crown Mountain, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Price Range: $169 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Gardens Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Gardens Hotel St. Thomas
Sunset Gardens Guesthouse St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Gardens Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot recommend anyone stay here.”
norma23116, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views to die for!”
  • View from our balcony
den4rius, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Home away from. The rooms have everything you'll need. An a view to die for.”
Mechelle_gibbs, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother; this was a bad choice and we don't recommend this hotel. Very noisy; paper thin walls.”
travnerdnutz, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Know what you are getting before you book and don't forget about the 20% tax that gets added in St. Thomas, added $200 to our bill.”
LiveinUSVI, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
PricelineUS$119
TripAdvisorUS$104
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates