We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Marriott HotelsUS$299*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,169: English reviews
Start your review of Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was definitely not like all of my other marriot experiences. I found it very difficult to get service. Everything from a loss prevention person arguing with me about where an excursion was to an employee saying you cant get you some water. 1:45 min wait for lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokediver34
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Thank you to all the Marriott staff for an amazing stay! The beaches were pristine, food was outstanding, staff was helpful and kind!! Totally recommend the food at coco's grill and Havana blue!!! A massage at the spa was a great way to end the stay as we had access to a private pool past checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay was from January 4th to January 8th. I always try to give that kind of feedback to establishments first before publishing reviews on-line. This time, I have been terribly disappointed by the response I got from the hotel management about my complains, they clearly do not care about their guests, and I think people deserve to know what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
Jacksonville
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Where to begin? Why not give you towel cards when you check in so you don't have to stand in a 15 person line again? Our balcony was 4 inches wide. Hair dryer bracket mounted on the bathroom wall but no hair dryer. Went down to the front desk at 540 pm; At 1040PM the room phone wakes us-they have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruthanns1014
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ruthanns1014, Your review, and feedback gives us a lot to take a look at as we continue to work on areas of our resort, and the service we provide. We apologize that our resort did not live up to the usual Marriott standards you always expect when staying at a Marriott property, and you review helps us to pinpoint...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Iguanas run rampant and they are very cool to watch. This hotel has an amazing pool and pool bar area overlooking the ocean. The rooms are clean and very nice. The food is good though a little pricey. The concierge service offers lots of amazing day tours and there are very cute little bars and shops on the hotel property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rita W, Thanks for your reave review of our fantastic resort, offering gorgeous views, and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed our amazing infinity pool, and bar area, and that you let us know how helpful our Concierge Desk was in helping you navigate St. Thomas. We are glad...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really hate to write bad reviews, but this was not what I expected based on the pictures on the website and being a Marriott. My wife and I were supposed to stay here for 3 nights as the last part of our honeymoon. We arrived to the hotel well past check-in time and were told our room wasn't ready....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6304VEdavidf
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Z6304VEdavidf, We never like to hear that a guest left our resort disappointed after their stay with, and apologize that our resort did not live up to your expectations, and that it made for a disappointing end to your honeymoon. We appreciate that you highlighted the service of Eddie, at our Front Desk who tried to rectify many of...

Florence, Alabama
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room 1806 - Harbor and city view - breathtaking day or night. Outside on the deck next to the RumBar was an incredible place to people watch, drink and have light snacks - and if you were lucky, to sit next to a fire pit, which was really neat, even at the end of May.. Everyone was super friendly, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cweave02000
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear cweave02000, We are so happy to hear you had a fabulous long weekend respite. Thank you for recognizing that out staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We look forward to having you stay with us sometime again in the future.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel felt more like a 3-star hotel and did not meet what I thought were Marriott quality standards...it was a bit dated, service at the restaurants was not great and one afternoon when I was at the pool (I was there doing some work) there were beer cans and drink containers scattered all around the hot tub area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cclaver1
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear cclaver1, We apologize that our Marriott property did not meet all of your expectations you have come to expect when staying at one of our properties. Your feedback, and comments are important to us, as we go forward to make improvements, and enhancements to our resort. Thank you for your comments, and we hope one day, to welcome you...

Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just got back from a 8 day stay at this resort, it's very pretty and we always saw them working on it and maintaining it. Our room was one of the beachfront Morningstar rooms, it was fine a little outdated and the bathroom floor looked dirty because the grout was so stained. This wasn't enough to make our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jann32
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jann32, Thank you for taking the time to review your eight day stay with us, and to let us know you were pleased overall with your accommodations, and all that our resort had to offer, but also appreciate that you took the time to offer some feedback after your stay. We do apologize that we were not able to...

Tulsa,OK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited here for the day from the ship and beach was perfect with a slight breeze. The company renting jet skis gave us a specified time and when we went they had already let someone else go ahead so we had to wait which was frustrating because we'd been waiting 4 hours for our allotted time. Other than that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OKFunintheSun
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear OKFunintheSun, We are glad we could welcome you to the resort for the afternoon! We apologize for any inconvenience you wait for the jet skis might have caused you, but are glad for the most part, you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope one day, to welcome you back.

2,898 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2535)
Viewed
Room/Suite (219)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (603)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (522)
Viewed
View from Room (221)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (842)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,402 reviews
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
676 reviews
2.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $331 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
259 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (259)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect good service”
smokediver34, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“be sure to get an ocean view-the city/country side is to much to look at”
ruthanns1014, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Would advise a higher floor for the better view, unless you are at Morningstar, then the first floor is walking right out to the beach,”
cweave02000, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The bayview rooms are more expensive”
cclaver1, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 1712 has a great Harbor view. The band in the lobby could be heard in the room but it did not bother us.”
SASMIGuy, 17 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Marriott Hotels
US$299* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$335
Booking.comUS$299
Hotwire.comUS$299
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates