We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,887 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,833: English reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Nice place, great views. You will go broke if you eat at the hotel every day. 100 bucks for breakfast is the cost for 4 at the buffet. Dinners are all very good, expect to spend 50 per person. The activities and pools are first class, the infinity pool with the bar has an incredible view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review highlighting the views. We agree; they are great! Also appreciated is your feedback about dining. We’re glad you liked your dinners. And yes, in the Caribbean the cost of food is a bit higher due to most food being imported. However, we do offer a wide range of dining options with differing cost levels. For...

Lutherville, Maryland
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Frenchman's Reef. We were upgraded to a Royal Suite in the Ocean Tower that was really cool - with a loft bedroom up a set a spiral stairs, with a living area and 2 full baths and 2 tv's, very nicely renovated. The view from our room was among the most spectacular I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethanyBeach1
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

You are most welcome! I enjoyed reading about your experience here at Frenchman’s Reef from check-in to your lounge preference. All comments are very helpful and I am pleased to hear you rate the service as excellent. We will definitely let the iguanas know you will return again. Keep a look out here on TripAdvisor for specials. Thank you.

Vega Alta, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed for a two day business trip and it was perfect. It has great meeting facilities, a great gym and excellent food & beverage outlets. It is so big in regards to rooms choices that it has many buildings in property. But at the same time is a great relaxing property with one of the best locations in all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramon C
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for highlighting the reasons businesses choose the Frenchman’s Reef for business meetings and events. In addition to the excellent meeting facilities, numerous restaurants, pools and gym, we also offer a business center for guest convenience. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know that your stay was a success!

Collierville, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is now our "go to " place. We first stayed there last year and had a great time. Went back this year and had an even better time. To be honest, we didnt leave the pool for the 5 days we were there, except to go to the upper bar for happy hour. Lots of great restaurants within a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt H
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

The third time’s a charm! We are looking forward to welcoming you back and will let Robert know he was kindly acknowledged.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

my girlfriend and I stayed here in august for our anniversary. We are young couple in our late 20's. This hotel was perfect. They had many onsite options to choose from for dining.. although we rented a car and drove intown to explore restaraunts both in town and locally. The premises was very neautiful. 2nice pools with hot ub options.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M C
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star as an excellent home base to explore all St. Thomas has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back. Look for specials this summer here on our TripAdvisor page!

Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff is helpful, nice, and accommodating. The view from the resort is out of this world. There are several beaches surrounding the hotel with easy access. The resort has an adventure center where you can plan activities like a snorkel trip on a huge catamaran, night kayaking with glass bottoms and LED lights attached to the bottom of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke A
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I know how you feel! We love our beautiful island and are sad when guests leave! The great news is we will always be here waiting for your return. I am thrilled you enjoyed that property, views, adventures and island beaches. Call ahead so you will be welcomed as a returning guest!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have traveled a good amount and at the age of 59 will have to rate this as my WORST TRIP EVER based on courtesy, friendliness or ease of getting around. The staff at Marriott Frenchman's Reef pretty much could care less about our experience here. They are cold, rude, not helpful and basically could give a rat's butt about...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Terry F
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear you did not feel the warm welcome we strive to show all our guests. Your satisfaction and comments are important and help us determine where we need to focus our improvement efforts. We have made significant strides in service over the last year to the extent that I can assure you, your experience is...

Yonkers, New York
Reviewed 24 June 2014

more staff is needed the staff that is there does a wonderful job but more help is needed! this is a big deal because not enough staff leads to bad service which overshadows the few staff members who are overworked & doing a good job of which one can count as 7!!!! Julia,Rennette,Yolanda,Myrtle,Patricia,Emma & jacquiline I can only hope that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thankfull2014
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your acknowledgement of the staff members you recognized as outstanding! Our leadership team will be sure to point them out individually. Your review and suggestions are appreciated.

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Um... there really isn't any words to describe the service here at the Marriott Reef. There's bad, then there is this. We are literally still here at the hotel considering whether to change hotels or just rough it here with the totally incompetent staff. Everyone is nice, but its so bad that even the local taxi drivers tell you to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sheree M
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your thoughts, which give us a chance to respond to your experience and turn it around for the better. Please feel free to reach out to me through the hotel if there is anything I can assist with.

Iowa
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel overall was nice. It was clean and had generally polite staff. The view from our room of the harbor was amazing, particularly at night. Te pools and beach were nicely taken care of and not overly crowded. The managers reception was fun with free drinks and snacks. There were several restaurants on the property, all of which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unimsw
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your candor and are pleased that you were able to rate your stay at four stars. I look forward to discussing your review with our team, your satisfaction with the service to your discomfort with the strange noise in your room. All feedback is welcome and becomes part of our improvement and staff celebration strategy. We hope you...

2,696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2333)
Viewed
Room/Suite (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (563)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (479)
Viewed
View from Room (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (765)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
514 reviews
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,135 reviews
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,323 reviews
6.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $403 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
198 questions
Ask a question
Roanoke, Virginia

See all questions (198)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never pick a room off the main campus!”
 of 5 bubbles lynetteAlexis, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at Morningstar are bungaloes with maybe 6 apartments in a bungalo. Kind of private and quiet. Private beach also.”
 of 5 bubbles deerope, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Simply do not stay here. The hotel half of the property is much better.”
 of 5 bubbles nickw606, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from elevators”
 of 5 bubbles Coquiviris, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We booked island view but asked for an upgrade when we arrived, if available, and we got a room with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles tisag_13, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay