We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Windward Passage Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 626: English reviews
Sherwood, Oregon
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We needed a hotel for the night between flight and ferry. Great location about 2 blocks to the ferry, not far from the airport. Also, within walking distance to main town, shops and restaurants. Hotel was clean, we had a huge room, good air conditioning. Onsite bar and restaurant were good. Not a resort but good for a day. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevmar2016
Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night to end a great 2 week trip to the BVI's since our plane left out of St Thomas. After taking a shower in the bathroom with no functioning fan (becomes critical later) we headed out to find a place for dinner. It was a Sunday night, but literally every restaurant in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bobmarlea
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

You can tell this was once a grand hotel, the bold columns out front, the sweeping staircases, the large open spaces and terraces. This is how hotels were in the Caribbean before the cookie cutter all inclusive chains. Things that matter work, WIFI, air-conditioning and elevators. Staff are OK, and they warm up when you are. The handsome charming bartender...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Condesa R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all... this is the first time in 42 years for traveling that I have taken the time to give a review, but I hope no one else endures this craphole that we experienced.This is the dirtiest most unsafe place we've ever stayed on top of the worst customer service. The rooms are way overpriced. I wasn't expecting the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzanne B
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our management staff. Regards Guest Relations

Spring, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Safe and close to the ferry. Options to walk around if you are adventurous. The bar doesn't open until 5PM so don't expect an early drink here if you have a later ferry. Nothing spectacular but it gets the job done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our management team. Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When our plane was delayed we were forced to stay on St. Thomas rather then continue our journey home to Tortola. We were pleased to find a clean affordable room very close to the ferry terminal. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearline W
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our management staff. Regards, Guest Relations

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was great, but the accommodations weren't the best. It was clean, but quite outdated. It served it's purpose b/c we wanted a safe place to stay overnight before catching the ferry in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene N
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our staff. Regards, Guest Relations

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The room was decent and clean, we were going to be out and about most of the time anyways. Front desk staff was very friendly. There is a shuttle to Magen's Bay. We made the mistake of having breakfast in the hotel restaurant - worst service ever. We had to get our own menus, 20 mins passed as the waitresses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RCN218
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We continue to work on our customer service issues which we take very seriously. Thank you again for your feedback! Guest Relations

U.S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Our local housing authority stays here a lot and we really enjoy the location and do meetings once in a while. Just fix the breakfast staff, but the food is okay. The repair guy who adjusted our air conditioner remote was wonderful (user error) and the housekeepers are truly busy. Kind of annoying to come down to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vihousingmgr
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We continue to work on our customers service issues which we take very seriously. Thank you again for your feedback! Guest Relations

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel is the worst I have been too...and that's a shame since I've traveled to Africa, Europe and other Caribbean islands. On entering the room, my kids said "why does it stink in here". We could not breath. It was 8pm and the room was sticky and musty with a wet moldy odor. The linens, towels and even toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 623worldtraveller
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are truly sorry for any inconveniences you endured during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our Management team and dealt with appropriately. Regards, Guest Relations

456 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3.2 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
329 reviews
3.9 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
596 reviews
0.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,561 reviews
6.9 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $230 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware of the front desk staff”
 of 5 bubbles KarenGalRI, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not worth the price. My room had bugs in it”
 of 5 bubbles glorianicholej, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get water front or get used to lots of noise”
 of 5 bubbles mayalavender, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A 'good room' would probably be in another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Bebrbabe, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't pay extra for the "view"... The restaurant at the ferry docks is pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles NativeTexans, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay