We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor: This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

Windward Passage Hotel

713 reviews
Save
Traveller (289)
Room & Suite (121)
Pool & Beach (38)
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good24%
  • Average30%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible18%
9 Aug 2017
“6 week stay - ok, bar staff friendly, breakfast not great and slow”
21 Jul 2017
“A bit nervous”
Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (713)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
75
165
200
118
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
75
165
200
118
121
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
221 - 225 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Stayed there numerous times over the past several years as my business takes me to all 3 islands. Short walk to "downtown" Charlotte Amalie and the government buildings, across the street from the seaplane and Tortola Ferry terminals, 10 minute taxi from the airport, 10...More

1  Thank Jetlagger2015
Response from Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage HotelResponded 21 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Management Staff. Thank you for your business we look forward to your next stay! Guest Relations

Reviewed 19 May 2015

Windward passage is a long time mainstay on the Charlotte Amalie waterfront but I was quite disappointed on a recent stay. The room showed signs of upgrade - the bathroom vanity and door seemed new, but the tub was clean but unsightly. Grout was gray,...More

1  Thank BushTea
Response from Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage HotelResponded 21 May 2015

Thank you for your time in submitting your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment staff. You will be happy to hear new carpet will be installed very soon. Please next you stay with us ask for a microwave to be placed in...More

Reviewed 14 May 2015

Great location downtown Charlotte Amalie, almost across from the Ferry Terminal. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Great bar, open courtyard in middle with swimming pool on second floor. Food service is lacking, count on waiting a fairly lengthy time after you place your order....More

Thank charshoes7
Response from Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage HotelResponded 14 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations

Reviewed 11 May 2015

We got in late to St. Thomas and used this hotel as a stopover. Frankly put, this place is a dump. I think the Best Western by the hotel would have been better. This place is like a poorly run Motel 6. Certainly overpriced for...More

2  Thank Agoura0
Response from Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage HotelResponded 12 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comment gave been forward to out Managment Staff. Regards Guest Relations

Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

We chose to stay at this hotel because we were only on St. Thomas for one night and flying out early the next morning. We figured that it didn't need a fancy hotel, just a clean place to spend the night. Wow! It was so...More

1  Thank Loveislander
Response from Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage HotelResponded 12 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to our Managment Staff. Regards Guest Relations

View more reviews
PreviousNext
14344454647136
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (289)
Room & Suite (121)
Pool & Beach (38)
Dining (32)
Amenities (38)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hockeyeh
25 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Reaganp89 | Reviewed this property |
Reservations at windwardpassage . com is where they are telling people to cancel their rooms. If no response try messageing on Facebook. May take a little bit for refunds due to no internet at the hotel since it will be... More
1
Vote
Missy050715
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from LauraVER88 | Reviewed this property |
I would only stay here for a night, period. It's close to the airport and ferry. I definitely wouldn't take small children here for a vacation.
2
Votes
Sarah W
17 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lilybeth S | Reviewed this property |
$6
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234567
Room Tips
"Prime vacation location, dining and shopping!!!"
Read review
"Don't stay here... trust me, there are better values on the island."
Read review
"ASK what type of room your getting because they wont tell you, back of hotel is scary"
Read review
"try for a seafront room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing