We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windward Passage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Spent two nights here one before our trip to Roadtown BVI and the other on our way back. The location is perfect for walking across the street to the catch the ferry. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The courtyard is very nice, with a nice pool and a bar. It's within walking distance of downtown and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubagrrl
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and look forward to your next visit. Regards Pam

Connecticut
Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

I picked this spot because of the harbor view. Seeing ships in the distance means many stores are open. Comings & goings of various ferries, the landings of the seaplanes and my favorite-waking up to the morning sun-the best feeling of all. So imagine my surprise to only receive the backside view of the hotel. (Grr..) You know though, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey00
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and being our guest. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Pam

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

hotel right in the city and can walk to all the shops. suite good size with water view that was fantastic. only, issue it is on a busy street and noise of cars are bothersome. if heavy sleeper not an issue, but if light sleeper then stay on other side with out the view. see my separate review of restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjntraveler
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit Regards Pam

Road Town, Tortola
Reviewed 3 February 2015

this hotel has nice rooms very close to the ferry to the BVI and great for staying before you fly or ferry the next day. Room service is a bit slow but the portions are filling and there is a great chinese next door for those who want to stay on budjet as this hotel was only $121.00 for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John T
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit! Regards Pam

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 31 January 2015

I recently went to Tortola to charter sail boats with 24 friends. We all decided to go into St Thomas a day early prior to us departing for our sailing adventure. We reserved a block of rooms for our group. The rooms were fine no problems, clean, quite, and a great location to catch the ferry in the morning, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DCrall2013
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your suggestion has been given to our managment team. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit Regards Pam

Fredericia, Denmark
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We stayed here twice in January. First time we had a room on the fourth floor and next time on the third floor - I would recommend to pay for habourview and ask for a room on one of the top floors, it's worth it! The staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was fine too :) The hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MajaS264
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Guttenberg, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The weather was Good, the hotel was clean but so old, the breakfast was not very good,I miss the fresh fruits, nothing was close, just the green house restaurant, that was my salvation, but outside of this the view from my room was beautiful, the beach was excellent, but every beach you need to take a taxi, if you go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisca F
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with All the department heads which I can assure you they take very seriously. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 24 January 2015

After reading previous reviews I was a bit hesitant about staying here. Although, working in the hotel industry I know people tend to over exaggerate. The curb appeal is inviting along with the courtyard in the middle. I believe this hotel is still undergoing renovations, therefore each room isn't up to its full potential yet.. Unfortunately my family and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Seal Beach, California
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Okay let me start by saying this hotel has gotten a major bad wrap in the reviews. My husband and I booked this place literally a week before flying to St. Thomas, so we were happy just to find a place near town with a bed. I was a little hesitant to book this place because of the reviews, but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MariahGman
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Maine
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We spent a week at Windward Passage, using it as a home base for excursions throughout the islands. The staff, with the exception of the bar, were surly and unpleasant, always giving us dirty looks. We had already heard that the island was racist, but did not expect that sort of treatment at the hotel. We waited 45 minutes at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bethfull
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been passed along to All department Heads and I can assure you they do take them very seriously. My apologies for your inconveniences and hope that one day you will give us another chance. Regards, Pam

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3.9 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
613 reviews
3.2 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
345 reviews
0.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $218 - $772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Falmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Granada Hills ,California
Charleston, South Carolina
3 months ago
Falmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor was quiet and over looks the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles vont2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles MamieKelley, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware of the front desk staff”
 of 5 bubbles KarenGalRI, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not worth the price. My room had bugs in it”
 of 5 bubbles glorianicholej, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get water front or get used to lots of noise”
 of 5 bubbles mayalavender, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5