We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windward Passage Hotel

Booking.comUS$138*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$345*
US$138*
US$345*
US$138*
US$345*
US$138*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Booked this hotel very hesitantly for a anniversary trip. Stayed for about a week & I must say my expectations were lower after reading a bunch of reviews but it succeeded my expectations. Only came in contact with 2 rude employee upon Checkin. Was not that rude to me but extremely rude to the guy checking in before me. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deon O
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit! Regards Pam

darrington
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We were hesitant to book at this hotel because of the recent reviews. This was our first trip to the islands. Although the hotel is showing its age, it is really a sight, especially at night. We did encounter some of the concerns that other travelers had but as we only stayed one night the amenities weren't important to us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bria m
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Bria for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Pam

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 5 January 2015

If you want to show your kids what it looked like in the 80's,this is the place for you. After the 40 minute wait to check in -- held up at least 5 times for calls to the front desk regarding room maintenance, I finally got to the room. Carpet looks like its been here since the 80s and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MidwestSailor83
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. All comments, both favorable and unfavorable provide us with valuable feedback. I will share your candid remarks with our various department heads so that we may work toward improvements in those areas. Thank you for staying with us and hope one day you will give us another chance. Regards Pam

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Rooms are decent however the bedding could use updating. If wanting to spend time in Redhook or St. John's or the other islands be prepared to spend good taxi money. Hotel staff doesn't nice job of getting you taxis or arranging for them. The court yard and pool are very nice and highly underutilized. If planning on doing beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Kurt, Thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit! Regards Pam

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 2 January 2015

This is not a three-star hotel - not even close. It's barely a one-star, and that is being generous. The rooms are not clean, the bathroom reeks of urine because it's never been cleaned properly, and everything in the hotel is poorly maintained. We asked for the bathroom to be re-cleaned, but this simply resulted in the "maid" performing some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maite2015
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. My apologies for your room not being cleaned properly. Our housekeeping department is aware of your comments which they take very seriously. We are in the process of reviewing our partial ocean view rooms. Thank you for staying with us and hope one day you will give us another chance....

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 January 2015

The hotel is 4 stories in on the water front one block from the fast water ferries to St. John, Tortella BVI and other islands. It is an easy 1/2 mile walk to the main down town area. It has a restaurant that had a good breakfast. There were other restaurants in French town 1/2 mile to the west and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred Q
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Fred, Thank you for your feedback and the 3 other reviews very helpful for other guests. We look forward to your next visit! Pam

New York
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I stayed at the Windward that turns out to be Holiday Inn. The staff was not that friendly and the bathroom water was brown. I had to go to my in-laws to take a shower. No one came to see the water. o

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine F
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We apologize for the unfriendly staff and the problem with the water. Your comments were shared with the various department heads which they take very seriously. Thank you for staying with us and hope one day you will give us another chance. Regards Pam

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 December 2014

This hotel is situated in the most perfect position, just across the road from the ferry dock to the BVI and other islands. The hotel is a clean, reliable and professional hotel which offers a decent restaurant and a high standard in their rooms. The Management will do everything in their power to please and make sure everything is working!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IslandloverMelbourne
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and repeat business! Regards Pam

Reviewed 27 December 2014

Like many of the other reviewers, we were in St. Thomas en route to Tortola via the Ferry. Because the hotel is across the street from the Terminal, this meant just one taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, and then a short walk in the morning to the Ferry. The architecture of the hotel is very interesting -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thank you for your feed back and staying with us. We look forward to your next stay! Regards Pam

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Rundown room, no closet doors and half of a shower curtain bur the best part was the roaches on the room, on the night table, on the bathroom sink, and God nows where. I was on bussines so, i wasvout of the room most of the day. Good location, but please management put some love on your property.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roberto R
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Roberto, Thank you for your feedback your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance department. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit! Pam

459 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3.5 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
630 reviews
3.0 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
355 reviews
1.2 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.7 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $187 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Falmouth, Massachusetts
5 months ago
20 days ago
Granada Hills ,California
Charleston, South Carolina
5 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the ocean view”
751stevenm, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Get an interior room”
788stephenm788, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you request a bay view room. The views are worth the extra cost.”
justpop56, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet and over looks the ocean.”
vont2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is what you want.”
MamieKelley, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$138* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$138
TravelocityUS$138
Bookit.comUS$345
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates