We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Quebec
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was my first trip to the islands, didn't know where to stay, and counted on the experiences of others on Trip Advisor. The reviews of The Green Iguana looked like what we needed, so yes when we arrived John and Gwen were there and they gave us a practical introduction to the island and made extra arrangements at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacques N
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We must say you guys were GREAT Guests! It was fun to hang out with you when our schedules allowed. Thank you so much for introducing us to bbq'd ribs that didn't take all day to cook! They were delicious! (We think the Boss like them too!) We know you will return as soon as you can. Stay warm up...

Kent, Washington
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The morning of December 12, 2012 began terribly wrong, after being left behind with what was supposed to be an Epic cruise, we were, sad,stressed and feeling hopeless with barley any money and no way to get back home to SEA, we were brought to the airport only to find airline tickets were outrageous, we began to feel worse, no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zebragirl28
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Jason and Nikki.... we are happy we could help you turn a bad experience into a good one! We understood your unique situation. You cannot always get a last minute flight out of St. Thomas. We thank YOU from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words and for the awesome Christmas Tree ornament! (That will probably go into...

Auburn, Alabama
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We recently spent one night in Charlotte Amalie before heading out on a sailing trip. When researching places to stay The Green Iguana stood head and shoulders above every place else based on the reviews I read. The place did not disappoint. This is a great little hotel located conveniently to the downton area and all of the shopping and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jkphoto212
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding us! We have awesome reviews because we have awesome Guests who make our job as resident managers very easy! Charlotte Amalie is a great location! Easy access to the airport, ferries, sea planes and beaches, plus the shopping and restaurants! It is our pleasure offer information and suggestions to be sure you get the...

Fletcher, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Our flight was over sold and we didn't get on the plane. I started searching for a room and was referred to The Green Iquana. I called and didn't get an anwser so I left a message and kept looking for another room. With in no time Gwen called me back and left me a message with ALL the details...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D F
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We love the times we can take stranded Island Visitors and give them safe and comfortable accommodations! We know what it's like to be stranded in a strange town and how nice it is to have a great room available to us at the last minute! Late check-outs are not always possible, however we can always keep your...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I was sailing in the Virgin Islands the first part of Dec, 2012, and needed a room in St Thomas for just one night. Trip Advisor recommended the Green Iguana Hotel, currently managed by John and Gwen Pittman. Gwen was very responsive and informative, and since I was arriving close to midnight, she arranged to have a taxi driver they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capnscotty
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Cap't Scotty! Congratulations on completing the next faze of your sailing school! That means you will be visiting more often? It was a pleasure to chat with you as well! We are happy the taxi driver was able to provide you with your ground transportation and also to make late night dinner suggestions for you! Thank you for your...

BVI
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Beautiful room, beautiful view. Very clean and comfortable. Reception is very welcoming and helpful. My husband and I have spent quite some time on St Thomas before and stayed at different hotels and self catering accommodations but I found that The Green Iguana Hotel is now my favorite and we will definitely stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panzysc
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear your boat is back in the water and you are again enjoying the seas! We enjoy that to be able to provide reliable accommodations for Guests from surrounding islands for any reason for a visit to St. Thomas! We are looking forward to serving you on your next visit!

Freeport, Ohio
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Green Iguana at the start of our honeymoon. John and Gwen were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. Even though our stay was short, they went above and beyond for us. It seemed more like staying with friends than at a hotel. Very hospitable! The rooms were clean, secure, and provided all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannone K
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations once again on your wedding! Thank you for your kind review! We know that traveling can be stressful, we do everything we can to create a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere to rest, no matter if you are coming to the Virgin Islands or leaving! We wish you a lifetime of happiness and adventure! We hope to see you again for...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Beautiful. Beautiful rooms, grounds, views, and managers. The hospitality was amazing, they thought of everything to give you a comfortable stay. They are very helpful with ideas and directions as well as advice. The room was spacious and very clean. The deck was large with a panoramic view of the oceans and city. We adored our stay, and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy M
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

You are absolutely correct that all the rooms have a great view! During the day you can watch the boats, ferrys and sea planes in the harbor, the sunsets are simply amazing!, different colors every night, and the beautiful lights of the Town, and the occational cruise ship passing by in the night out on the Caribbean Sea! Thanksgiving is...

Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We only stayed one night on our way over to St John but really enjoyed our brief visit. Not a luxurious resort but a very clean and comfortable small inn with great hospitality. Easy walk to town (not as easy coming back as it is up the '99 steps'!) and we would certainly stay there again when we are back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex12362
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

No matter if you are going to St. John, St. Croix or the BVI, we pride ourselves with comfort and cleanliness for our Guests. The Historic 99 Steps is a "must do" at least once! Going down to Town is the easy part, coming back up, just take your time and check out the beautiful flowers all along the stairs!...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at The Green Iguana for 1 night on both ends of our visit to the islands. John and Gwen were the perfect hosts. The location is very convenient to downtown. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. We stayed in rooms H1, H2 and H3 .. nice balcony in H1 and H2 .. H3 good for family. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank va_visits
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us! Many of our Guests enjoy the comfort of The Green Iguana Hotel before and after their sailing adventure! We are happy to have had 3 Guest Rooms available for your family! One Night Stays and children are welcome at The Green Iguana Hotel!

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
509 reviews
3.6 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
318 reviews
0.6 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
674 reviews
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $224 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a balcony. But other rooms have wonderful views too.”
  • View from balcony of Room H2.
 of 5 bubbles stephenmL6220GF, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the beds were great! Don't know what kind of mattress, but had a great sleep!”
  • sun rise from our balcony
  • from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles francescaf356, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call Gwen direct- she'll get you set with a custom fit room!!”
  • The lovely walk to our room..
 of 5 bubbles carrieb767, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call and talk to Gwen and she will make things perfect for you!”
 of 5 bubbles dondada365, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay