We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 832: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We only stayed here 1 night due to our flight being delayed. I was wowed when we first arrived. The place was very nice and the staff was super friendly. Our room was very clean and had an awesome view! Plus the manager was extremely gracious and welcoming. I will defiantly check out this place on our next visit to... More 

Helpful?
Thank KristinBeth
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Decent location to get to other stuff, nice pool and beach and the staff is helpful but not very hospitable. Rooms were okay. This was our first stay in St. Thomas so I am unsure how it compares but it was okay for the price. Food and drink was pricey but we did not spend a lot of time on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

If it wasn't for our day trips away this would have been a disaster. There are three "restaurants". Same breakfast every day. Fruit could be more ripe. Canned corned beef hash. I was looking for fresh local fruits and local foods. Nothing. Buffet daily which rotates every other day. And it sucks. Lunch - forget about it. Only one time... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank EyewearMAS

Travellers are raving about these East End hotels

1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited St. Thomas between November 2-6, 2016 and LOVED my stay! The folks who worked there are so friendly and helpful. Any concerns that I had was addressed with the staff. Most importantly, lets not forget the beautiful view I had from my room--ocean view baby! Food and A/C along with the amenities that followed were all PERFECT.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent Thanksgiving at this resort and was very happy. We didn't eat here but from talking to others who paid for it to be an all inclusive resort, the food was very good. We did not pay for the all inclusive. You can walk to the beach and pool but the shuttle makes it a lot easier. My main complaint... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank garyr86
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was great. Room was nice. AC worked beautifully. The pool sucked (was greenish). The beach was average (nothing like St John or BVI). Staff was friendly and accommodating. No room service. So all in all not bad. Nevertheless, next time I'm staying somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank juangrafti
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband & I spent 7 days here to celebrate our anniversary. To say the least, most of the reviews I read prior to leaving were correct If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, this is not. Check in was fine, room was very nice. They advertise 5 restaurants. The whole time we were there only two were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank tmoyer2
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Small beach. Open to the public but you can't spend money there at the bar or restaurant (need to be a hotel guest). No floating raft as advertised. Beach was rocky and pipe at end of beach into ocean.

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna G
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Donna G, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our beach and we ill share your feedback with our leadership team. Yes, all beaches, on St. Thomas must be accessible to the public per St. Thomas... More 

Bennet, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived one day late due to flight delays. Sugar Bay Resort would not work with us to extend our departure by one day (paid for 5 nights only stayed 4). The reservation desk said we needed to contact our travel agent, which we did, and they informed us Sugar Bay Resort turned down the request to change the date... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tlwilson55
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tlwilson55, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear of the difficulties experiences with your reservation due to a delayed flight and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to our policies. This will be reviewed by our executive leadership team and... More 

Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the room through a vacation exchange, and I was advised that I'd have to pay extra for the meals/drinks that are not included in my accommodations. I was agreeable to that, so I called the resort (3 times) asking what I owed them for the food. The reservation desk was always busy, so I left messages, which were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gabirella
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gabriella,   Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your booking experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you cancelled your reservation  and we apologize for the difficulty experienced with the finalization of the reservation.  The communication pieces that we send out are designed to update our upcoming guests as to what the next steps... More 

1,382 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (997)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (175)
Viewed
View from Room (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (404)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Beach Pool (23)
Viewed
Garden Plus Room (29)
Viewed
Interior Pool (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Oceanview Suite (40)
Viewed
Premium Oceanview Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
3.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
6.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
858 reviews
0.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
568 reviews
5.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1350, St. Thomas (Formerly Dreams Sugar Bay)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Price Range: $302 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
213 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (213)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best view from Floor 7. Elevators are available if you do not want to challenge all the steps.”
 of 5 bubbles tmoyer2, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“partial water view rooms (3rd floor) have wonderful vistas”
 of 5 bubbles Y5517SUroberts, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view has a longer walk to the beach than bay view. Both are great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 715meganb, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had an awesome ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles yourchoicetravel1, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not Building A - see map in my photos. probably would be quieter in the buildings overlooking the garden.”
  • Roosters outside of our balcony
  • View of pool area, ocean and adjacent resort - Point Pleasant
  • View from our door into our room, very lush
  • View from the balcony, beautiful
  • Never really had a hot shower, not much water pressure, but clean tile!
  • Our balcony
 of 5 bubbles TheHubbardsOhio, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay