We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 895: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My family and I visited St. Thomas for the inauguration of the 32nd Legislature and stayed at the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa. The resort is absolutely gorgeous! The staff was very friendly, professional and accommodating. The room was immaculate and our sea/beach view was stunning. We went to the Shima restaurant at the resort for dinner. While we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arvian
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Arvian, Thank you for taking the time to post and share this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding the resort and we are delighted to hear that you had a great time. We also value your feedback regarding out food and beverage outlets and have shared your experience in SHIMA with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just stayed at your resort over the New Year's in the room # 314 ( from 30th - 6th) I'd like to address several complaints ! 1. At 7 AM every morning they start mowing the lawn very loud !!! people come there to rest and relax !!! it's very unacceptable!!! 2. You have very poor service during breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marina z
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear marina Z, Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review to Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us for your recent getaway. While an apology will not alter the outcome of what you experienced, we offer one with sincerity. We have shared your feedback regarding,...

Caldwell, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, don't get me wrong, the resort was nice and my wife and I had a good vacation there. It is not a five star or even a four star resort, but I would give it a three and 1/2. There is much room for improvement, and with a little effort, the resort could attain a four star rating. My...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Robert2014
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Robert2014, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best stay possible with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments regarding...

Waukee, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful place to stay. 2 bars, 4 restaurants. 3 pools and lovely beach. All inclusive. Wonderful and friendly staff. Easy to get a taxi. Close to ferry dock to get to St. Johns. Quiet. Nice rooms. Beautiful views. Great for families, couples, friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristel H
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kristel H, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Yes our resort is very convenience to getting...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived early and were allowed to check in which was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobby was pretty. Room was clean and view was great. The pool and beach were beautiful and private. Wine was terrible! Food was ok, very expensive for breakfast $28 per person for buffet. The only complaint is the Roosters! They are every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tracey L, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the roosters, and appreciate your feedback regarding them as our resort strives to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments are valuable to...

Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice time; can't beat the view, but skin still not clear (now January) of sand flea bite scars from stay in October. Seems they had nested in room......Bring spray. Nightlife lacking compared to other all-inclusives. No complaints re service. Do Coki Beach...YAY. Don't bother with St. Johns Room was spacious. Buffets similar - lacking breakfast/lunch variation. Dated somewhat in atmosphere/activities....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leggyladylawyer
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear leggyladylawyer, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our food & beverage outlets as well as nightlift, as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your...

Kings Park, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a glorious week in St. Thomas' Sugar Bay Resort & Spa. We booked an oceanview room with two double beds but after 2 nights on a bad mattress, I inquired about a room change. Jennifer Wilson at the front desk informed me that a king room with a pull out sofa was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiada
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Desiada, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments are valuable to us and have been...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me preface by saying I travel a lot for business and stay in a lot of 4 star hotels in the US. We booked an all inclusive package for 4 nights for our family in Dec 2016 (myself, my wife and our kids, 3 & 5 years old). The room was a pretty standard 4 star hotel room. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jack H, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments are valuable to us and have...

South Portland, Maine, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to Sugar Bay for my husband and I. The grounds of the resort are amazing! We opted for the partial ocean view room as we like to have a view of the ocean and the pool area. The rooms have been renovated since our last visit which was very nice. The added Japanese restaurant with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer L, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments are valuable to us and have...

Newton,MA
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved it, and were surprised by how wonderful we were treated by staff, food was great, pools were clean and fun, beach was beautiful, we relaxed and felt so comfortable. Our room was newly renovated and clean, ocean view w/balcony, we loved it, comfy bed. No bugs in room, no bites at all. I almost didn't book based on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbigailJay
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AbigailJay, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our resort as we strive to improve with each and every guest stay. Your comments are valuable to us and have been...

1,441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1058)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (159)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (183)
Viewed
View from Room (102)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (418)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Beach Pool (23)
Viewed
Garden Plus Room (29)
Viewed
Interior Pool (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Oceanview Suite (40)
Viewed
Premium Oceanview Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
3.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
6.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
901 reviews
5.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,146 reviews
0.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1350, St. Thomas (Formerly Dreams Sugar Bay)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Price Range: $579 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
228 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (228)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 340 to 350, 240 to 250 rooms are right on the cliff over looking the water - like a post card”
 of 5 bubbles 481tamarap, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms have a view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 257leslih, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view of the ocean .”
 of 5 bubbles heatherwel, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the full ocean view..on the sixth or seventh floor It's more expensive, but well worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles gayehansen, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the GM Mr.Maidens he is the best person to receommend and talk to”
 of 5 bubbles 918ravia, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay