We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Westin St. John Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin St. John Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,596: English reviews
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Beautiful resort with great facilities just a 5 minute cab ride from downtown Cruz Bay. Easy base from which to explore the beaches on the island, or just relax at the beach or pool at the resort. Could use 1 or 2 more food options on site.

Helpful?
Thank Bestrobots
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The setting is beautiful and peaceful, the facilities are wonderfully maintained, and the great staff, especially the locals, make this place an oasis. The outdoor breakfasts right on the beach are a favorite!

Helpful?
Thank A D M
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Anyone who knows me knows that I always find the best in everything!!! Until now 😞. This was awful and a huge embarrassment to me as I had 2 other couples book our Thanksgiving weekend getaway because I recommended the Westin in St Johns. When we checked into our room it was like checking in to a motel 6 only... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank David M
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were lucky enough to be invited by our friends that are owners and had one of the best vacation of our life! We loved it so much we are now owners! The property is beautiful. Can't wait to see the finished villas when we return. We ate at all resort dining except Lemongrass. It has now been converted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This year we stayed in an efficiency (studio) and actually turned out to be just fine. This is our 3rd year in a row coming to this Westin and have never been disappointed. Our only issue this time was that the landscaping was not up to par . . . the grass was extremely high and almost out of control.... More 

Helpful?
Thank stovall1305
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

It was nice to hear you had a nice stay in your studio villa and once again we met your expectations for a great vacation. Thank you for your feedback regarding our landscaping. Our property is typically perfectly manicured but as you mentioned the continuous rain had prevented us from keeping it as immaculate as normal. We appreciate your review. More 

Oakland CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had no idea what to expect and I fell in love with the Westin and St. John. I ended up traveling alone, but that didn't stop me from having a fabulous time. I made sure to take the island tour on one of my first days and I signed up for an all day boat trip to Virgin Gorda... More 

Helpful?
Thank GinOaklandCA
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

I’m glad your first visit with us was a refreshing experience and you had a great time relaxing at the resort and exploring the destination. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. More 

Level Contributor
464 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are owners at other Starwood properties and this was our first visit to the Westin St. John Resort. The resort is undergoing some construction so there was a lot of traffic and noise. We were surprised that the grounds while lovely were not as well kept as other properties. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ADolores
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our resort for your Caribbean vacation. I regret we won’t be seeing you again but it sounds like you enjoyed your stay and time on the island. Thank you for sharing a review on Tripadvisor. More 

Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful, Dinner was wonderful, pool setting was calming, so much to do. All rooms are 1-3 bedrooms. most villas with washer dryers, I think they do have reg. hotel rooms. Such a beautiful place, things to do if you have children as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank queenofspades58
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

We were pleased to read your review of your amazing experience with us. I’m glad your stay was a refreshing experience. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the St. John's Westin resort for 4 days. We were told the resort is being converted to condos, and this may have attributed to the terrible service but I can't be sure. I will start by saying the pool facilities are nice and exercise room was also well done. The food was just... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

I’m sorry our villas didn’t meet your expectations for an enjoyable stay. We share your review with all our managers so we can improve the property as a whole. Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not only did our room smell bad with mold that had my allergies flared up but we could not get house keeping for 4 days. They did not come till almost 5 pm, when we were back in our room trying to nap. I nicely tried to call front desk to ask if they could come sooner (this is at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky E
Mike R, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the lack of leniency in the time requested to have housekeeping service. I have asked their manager take corrective action to ensure the quality of service expected from a Westin is delivered and property communicated. Thank you for your feedback. More 

1,523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (366)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (445)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Poolside room (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.2 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
422 reviews
0.9 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
415 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
593 reviews
6.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Price Range: $632 - $2,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin St. John Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and not at all crowded. Very relaxing and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles stovall1305, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the Coral Vista Villas because they were close to everything I needed. I was on the ground floor and was pleased with it.”
 of 5 bubbles GinOaklandCA, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If I stayed here again I would not want to be on the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles yanzkc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They do not honor requests for a particular type of room or one with a view!”
  • the worst
  • the villa pool was dirty & only had 2 ft of water in it
  • torn stitching & ugly stain on side of mattress
  • lots of furniture had stains & rips
  • deep hammock-like dents on both sides of mattress
 of 5 bubbles ElleN350, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hillside for views”
 of 5 bubbles 150robyns, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay