Tyne Beach Terrace

Tyne Beach Terrace

Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (7)
View of Tyne Beach from the ocean side.
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 special resort in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tyne Beach Terrace Apartments & Houses is a small and very private gated community located in the Bahamas, 20 condo's with 2 of our 9 new beach houses available from March 2018 all set on our beautiful beach with sea views. Our houses all feature direct beach access, private infinity pools, high end contemporary furniture including pool loungers. Bose sound and Sony 50" flat screens come as standard along with fully fitted kitchens. Towels and bed linen are included with a luxury arrival pack of amenities to get you started. Car rental is recommended/available at the property and the area is popular for fishing, diving and golfing. The nearest airport is Grand Bahama International Airport, 8 km from the property. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Freeport! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. Take lovely walks on this very private beach, it's a family paradise. We have beach, beach and more beach! We speak your language!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Snorkelling
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Mid-range
7Reviews3Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cathy L wrote a review Mar 2018
Grantham, NH
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tyne Beach Terrace is not for everyone, but if you like secluded and quiet, this is definitely the place in Freeport. The condos are privately owned, but several of the owners rent their out. The third floor has the best view, and the folks who rent up there are Wally or Robin. Be aware that Robin's unit 305, does not have a railing on the stairway leading up to the bedrooms. It can't be up to code and is very dangerous. The ground floor units have two bathrooms and two bedrooms, and 104 and 105 are managed by Cheri while the owners are back home. Cheri is very efficient and she is definitely the person to deal with. Peter's units are 205, 207 and 106, but be careful renting from him. He overbooks, because he doesn't keep track of the rentals on the various sites he uses. Our first year with him, we were supposed to be in 205, but ended up in 106. Guests frequently have to move to accommodate his mix-ups. We recommended Peter to friends of our who just came here for 5 weeks. They had to move 6 times!!! If you do rent from Peter, get it IN WRITING that you won't have to move part way through your trip. Tyne Beach has a very nice pool and little laundry, which comes in handy for a long stay. The workman on site, Soinet, is a really nice man. Take the time to get to know him. This is a gated community, but always lock your doors as sometimes, unsavory characters roam the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Be careful when renting from Peter. He tends to overbook. Condos on the 3rd floor have the best...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RBBKBB, Owner at Tyne Beach Terrace
Responded 14 Jun 2019
Thank for your review , maybe it would be more useful to review the unit you stayed in? Very rarely do guests get moved from unit to unit , we have a booking system that updates all the listing sites in real time and we never have any over-bookings. However when guests do not pay the balance when it is due 60 days prior to arrival then we have to take other bookings . This happened with you and you then decided to come at last minute , This left us in a difficult position as we did it want to let you down even though you had created the issue ! You are correct 305 does not have a handrail on the stairs , this is nothing to do with code - it’s an open plan high end modern unit and it’s the design. If you had confirmed on time then you would have had a basic two bed without stairs . 305 is actually a private unit and we allowed you to stay in due to the situation . It is rented occasionally and is 2k a week so even though you moved once in your stay you were upgraded both times , to this and 106 which is a premium 2 bed . Sometimes a thanks helps as well ? Guests do not have to move often , this is simply untrue, we know , we do the bookings ! We allocate units a week or so before and guests arrive and you can not book a specific unit just a unit type . Thanks for taking the time to review Tyne Beach from your very blinkered point of view I would recommend guests read many of the 100’s of reviews that say how wonderful our level of service is and what a super host peter is . A last note , review the units not the people , we have had many guests complain about Cheri on site but review sites are not the place to write that . Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
njt1993 wrote a review Sept 2019
Sheffield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of 4 from the UK, husband, wife, daughter 22 and son almost 17. We stayed in the penthouse apartment which was beautiful, very contemporary! There is a small downstairs bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen, dining area and a large lounge. Outside is a large balcony with a table and chairs and also a sofa. From the dining area open stairs lead up to 2 bedrooms and a bathroom, plus another balcony. It’s very comfortable, plenty of room, exactly what we wanted!
The apartments are set on the beautiful beach which stretches for miles and we virtually had it to ourselves. There is also a lovely pool which again, we virtually had to ourselves except for the odd occasions when some of the other guests or residents came for a dip (not forgetting Darla the cutest little Shih Tzu dog, she’s lovely!)
The apartments are gated and at the end of a lane, we would definitely recommend a car as there isn’t really anything in walking distance which also means its blissfully quiet. At the side of the pool is a bbq which we used a couple of times. There’s a good supermarket, Solomon’s, about 3 miles away, quite big and has everything you need. Peter is on site and will answer any questions and has lots of good tips too.
We met lots of nice people, both at the apartments and all over the island too and as I write this the island has just been hit by Hurricane Dorian. We all send our best wishes that everyone is ok and we have been thinking about them all, lovely friendly people who made our week there a fabulous one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken Navitsky wrote a review Apr 2018
Rochester, Minnesota
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our spot was on the second floor overlooking the bluest water you could ever imagine. The people at the resort were top notch , fun, and great Company. The beach is secluded and quiet, and there are plenty of nice places to eat just a short car ride away.. This is a no brainer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paola M wrote a review Oct 2019
Rome, Italy
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The first apartment was dirty, the second was better, but on the terrace there are a bench with a mushrooms.
The beach is fantastic, but if you want to do an aperitif close to the swimminpool, I advice to change your idea...the swimming pool was dirty and full of mosquitos, as per bbq area.
Unfortunately, we were envolved with the hurricane Dorian, so starting our orribible exeperience with the Manager (Peter).
We traveld with my boy (6 year) and we learned about the hurricane in a supermarket, so we asked more info to Peter, and at first time he minimazed the news....so we checked online and we realized the Dorian would hit Grand Bahama with category 5 in a couple of days.
So we decide to leave the island, and when realized that Peters Asked to pay the full amount, we beging the negoziation and we decided to pay one day plus...but the worst surprise was related to the deposit (225 euro).
We leave the Grand Bahama on 29 August, and unitl now we didn't received back our money.
I undestand the issue related to the Hurricane, but Peter seems take a joke, becouse he replayed to my email in bad way, he declared that he did the payment but when I asked a proof, he tried to take a time and he sent me a pic without value.
So I asked to pay through a bank transfers...but nothing...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RBBKBB, Owner at Tyne Beach Terrace
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Thanks for your review glad you liked the beach . We don’t have the time or the energy to reply to the absolute rubbish you have posted , safe to say , you have been refunded through booking.com as we were unable due to the banking system and credit card system being down . We didn’t refund the charge through the system but unfortunately our merchant is still down . Obviously there is nothing we can do about hurricanes , you booked in storm season and we let everyone know that . Future guests , just read the 100’s of amazing reviews about peter and you will understand how difficult Paola was ...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathalie P wrote a review Aug 2019
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a memorable week at this venue. We loved the location, particularly the beach you see from your terrace, not at all busy and so clean. We liked cooking and enjoyed the nice pool. We liked the local staff. Be prepared to need a car though. The owner can help you. There is a convenient store one mile away and restaurants in the other direction. We chose to use the services of a local cab driver, Hayward Forbes and it was perfect for us. I absolutely recommend you this spot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Booster68 wrote a review Aug 2018
Zurich, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect place to recharge the batteries, perfekt strand...fantastic ocean..we loved it from the first moment, I'm sure we will be back, perfekt host...thanks Peter...lovely people there...may God bless you all...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
njt1993 asked a question May 2019
Sheffield, United Kingdom205 contributions195 helpful votes
Are there any sun loungers for the beach?
Answer from Robin & Kate
London, United Kingdom16 contributions19 helpful votes
No .... loungers round the pool & chairs for the beach
juegreen asked a question May 2018
Portsmouth, United Kingdom108 contributions34 helpful votes
Hi .is the penthouse owned by the other owners.i dont want the hassle of peters.
Answer from Cathy L
Grantham, NH95 contributions101 helpful votes
If you're talking about Tyne Beach Terrace on Grand Bahama Island, there is no penthouse. There are 21 privately owed apartments. Peter owns 4, 3 of which he rents. The other one is "under construction." Several people who live there, rent out their condos. A woman named Cheri manages the best options.
Cathy L wrote a tip Mar 2018
Grantham, NH95 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful when renting from Peter. He tends to overbook. Condos on the 3rd floor have the best view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Freeport area.
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasGrand Bahama IslandFreeport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TYNE BEACH TERRACE: See 6 Reviews and 36 Photos (Freeport, Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tyne Beach Terrace
Which popular attractions are close to Tyne Beach Terrace?
Nearby attractions include Taino Beach (7.5 km), Count Basie Square (5.3 km), and Port Lucaya Marketplace (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tyne Beach Terrace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Tyne Beach Terrace?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tyne Beach Terrace?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tyne Beach Terrace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish GastroBar, Daddy Brown’s Conch Stand, and Cappucino's Fine Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tyne Beach Terrace?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Tyne Beach Terrace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Freeport HotelsFreeport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FreeportHotels near Tyne Beach Terrace
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire